We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My aunt, cousin and I made a last minute booking and were lucky enough to get accommodation in adjacent rooms on the ground floor overlooking the glorious gardens and amazing views. This section of Borrowdale has absolutely stunning scenery. We were very impressed with the immaculate presentation of our rooms and the public areas. We dined in the Hotel on the first night and found the food to be of high quality and flavoursome. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The only issue we had was with a faulty loo seat and the staff did their best to rectify the situation. We would highly recommend The Borrowdale Gates Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed another superb stay which we had postponed from April and were not disappointed. The staff and service were all you could wish for and the dining was an amazing experience and well deserves the four star rating. The location is perfect and we left feeling relaxed and hope to return next year Joy and Peter Allen

Room Tip: Believe all rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

30 years since we last stayed here. We won't be leaving it another 30 before we stay again.

The location of the hotel is fabulous with a number of easy & enjoyable walks nearby. So quiet & tranquil!

In truth we found the hotel a little old fashioned, but that wasn't a bad thing. The service was from a bye gone era, with all staff (the receptionist in particular) being very friendly & attentive.

Room very acceptable, clean, with all required facilities. Good bathroom, plenty of hot water.

No complaints about the evening meal, although not really what we were after. Fine dining rather than hearty meal to satisfy hungry walkers, but that was our problem, not the hotels. What was served was very good.

Breakfast well cooked with good choice.

Definitely a hotel to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ARibbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lovely hotel with views to die for. Perfect for exploring the Lake District, especially the wonderful Borrowdale. Hotel seems to cater well for everyone from the hardened fell walkers, families and the more sedate visitors. Close to Derwentwater, my favourite of the "lakes". We stayed in "Fairy Glen" - a huge, very pleasant room with double aspect windows looking out on to spectacular scenery. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the cooking was exemplary and the lounge and dining areas inviting. Service was a little rushed at times but never a real problem. Our stay was relaxing, peaceful and it was difficult to leave such a beautiful place,.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ecosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Without doubt my favorite Lake District hotel. It lives up to it's 4* status. The view through the panoramic window in the dining room is truely spectacular-Wainwright's prettiest square mile in England (see photo). The view is even better from the balcony of a deluxe room on the 1st floor.
Wine list is extensive with access to a reserve list kept at the Vintners of very special wines. Food is well cooked and well presented and better than many restaurants.
Very comfortable lounge for pre-dinner drinks or afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hem0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We chose this hotel because it has a nice big room for our family of 3. Most hotels would ask me book 2 rooms. This is ridiculous: how can you ask a young boy of 12 stay on his own?

Well, back to Borrowdale Gates: we were given a nice family room with a double bed connecting to a room with twin bed. We also had a nice terrace opening to greens. Birds chirp greeted us each morning.

Breakfast was delicious: fruits and cereals were buffet style and hot dishes were cooked to order. I have low lactose tolerance and they do not provide soy milk. (This is normal in most hotels in UK. Think it is time to change.)

Overall service was professional. Staff were friendly. We like it a lot.

One more comment: this hotel is very good if you plan on hiking around the area. It is near to the entrance of many public foot paths. However, if you are a city buff, it takes 15 minutes to drive to Keswick, in small winding roads.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadeleineKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here with my girlfriend and had a lovely stay. Clean, great food, relaxed but professional staff, great views. You feel as though you are somewhere Special. My girlfriend made a very good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john_bV9335FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-in-Borrowdale
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
996 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,148 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
10.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
1.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Gates Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Gates Hotel

Address: Grange-In-Borrowdale | Keswick, Grange-in-Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale > Grange-in-Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grange-in-Borrowdale
Price Range: £126 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Gates Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel is set amidst the breathtaking scenery of the Borrowdale Valley, the "loveliest square mile in Lakeland", according to Alfred Wainwright (MBE). Close to the shores of Derwent Water in two acres of woodland in Grange near Keswick, this is an ideal situation for walking, climbing, and touring the Lake District direct from the doorstep. There are many places of literary and historical interest within the local area. This beautiful family owned and run hotel has undergone a real transformation since 2008 with a full refurbishment completed in September 2012 to earn its current four star AA rating. With elegant contemporary rooms, a rosette award winning dining room, cosy bar and lounge, guests are assured of a warm welcome to enjoy stunning panoramic views during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Borrowdale Gates Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Gates Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing