We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Recently updated rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of America's Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Recently updated rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We were driving across 90 toward Mt Rushmore, just going as far as we could, and decided on Wall. We used trip advisor to see ratings and decided on ABVI. We stayed in room 204, inside the main building. The room was spacious, two queens and a futon, and we paid $120. The floors were wood, the beds were comfy and appeared new with 4 great pillows on each queen. The only con was the breakfast. I must have missed the 7-9 time since we arrived so late, but we came down at 930 and there was nothing. We scrounged some cold cereal and milk without complaint. Overall, this was the cleanest, best decorated room on our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moralesfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvijoe, Owner at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor! I am so glad you enjoyed our recently remodeled rooms. We have been trying to keep everything new in the room from the pillows to the beds to the new 46" TV. We do apologize about the breakfast time. We do run a cold breakfast earlier than 7am but our hot breakfast runs from 7-9. I am glad that you were able to get something cold. Again we enjoyed you staying with us and choosing us as your choice of lodging during your stay in Wall. May you have the safest journey and hope your travels brings you back to Wall to stay with us again. Our door is always open!

Best Wishes,

Joseph Leach - owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    90
    42
    28
    23
See reviews for
103
86
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Our room was very clean, which is our top priority. Beds were okay, although the pillows left much to be desired. The front office staff was very friendly and competent, although they could have been dressed more professionally. Rooms, at least ours, should be updated. A one night stay should be the maximum for anyone.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvijoe, Owner at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Our very top priority is cleanliness and service. We are working very diligently to remodel the whole hotel but it is in steps. We have many rooms finished but we are not yet complete. The summer months put a stop to remodeling as we need the rooms for our guests. We have replaced most of the pillows after seeing your dissatisfaction and have mentioned to our staff about their dress. I hope you will give us another opportunity to lodge you on your next visit to our area. Safe travels and hope to see you in the future!

Best Wishes,

Joseph Leach - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkirk, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel was at the end of an 11 hour driving day and we were worn out. Good checkin experience and although the room was a bit small and shop worn it was more than adequate. The bed was the best part and the room was very quiet even though we were near the Interstate. Don't know how breakfast was as it was not open until 7AM and we were gone by then. The price was about $10.00 more than I thought the room was worth, but they have a captive audience. Not many other choices under $100/nite in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WesternNYTravelFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvijoe, Owner at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for staying with us in Wall South Dakota and for the review here on Trip Advisor. We pride ourselves in cleanliness and service. I hope these both were met to your standards! We have changed our breakfast hours to be more accommodating with guest being able to eat cold breakfast at 6:30 and our hot breakfast starting at 7am till 9am. I hope this will help our early risers! I hope your journey is safe and that it will bring you back to Wall again!

Best Wishes,

Joseph Leach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Beds aren't the best. Price is high, Pool is NOT heated. Breakfast is terrible & most the fruit is gone by 7:10am with no more brought out 2 days in a row! Had to go down to the front desk 3 times in a couple minutes to get our room key activated for the correct room. Finally the woman gets it right & then she shows up in our room without so much as a knock saying " umm, oh, I thought you had checked out". No she didn't. I had just walked down there 3 times 15 minutes ago. She saw us walk away from the motel & didn't see us return the back way!!!!.......... Just sitting here typing this & AGAIN someone walks into our room. NO KNOCK WHAT SO EVER, just used his key & walked right in & my 11 year old Granddaughter was standing there changing!!!! I have not felt safe in here since the woman walked in last night. I couldn't sleep all night.
There are only very small plates in the breakfast area, snack size.
I will NEVER stay here again & I would advice you not too also. Unless you don't mind people coming uninvited into your room & terrible breakfasts,cold swimming pool & a dirty swimming pool. Most continental breakfasts are better than this place. What an overpriced, untrustworthy place!!!!

Room Tip: Go to the Sunshine Inn. Run from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mprther35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvijoe, Owner at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We apologize about your recent dissatisfaction with your stay with us. In regards to a "woman entering your room for no reason", we do have reasons for entering rooms. We pride ourselves on being very clean and also our service. With this being said you had checked back in a little later and she was doing nothing but trying to check rooms to make sure they are being prepared for our next set of guests. We have a new key system within a week old and yes we are still trying to learn the system so we don't make these mistakes. We do not advertise a heated pool so yes the water might be a tad bit chilly on cooler days. My staff recalls having a great time with your family out at the pool with "NO" problems or concerns about your stay at this time. We had many contacts with you and your family and my staff reported no concerns from you or your family. I wished you would have specified this during your stay with us because of your concern for your safety. Our property is very secure, and your safety is our top priority. I would love to hear from you what a great breakfast would be. During your stay you would have had options such as two kinds of fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, cold cereal, hot cereal, bagels, and toast, coffee, apple juice, orange juice, and last but not least hard boiled eggs. It is a busy room in the morning but everything is restocked accordingly. I am sorry that you think that we are untrustworthy by trying our best to make sure are rooms are the best they can be. I hope you have safe travels.

Best Wishes,

Joseph Leach - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed for one night on our way to the Black Hills. Just OK. Saw little bug in sink, towels were dingy. Not a lot of hotels to choose from. It seemed cleam enough. Not a lot of outlets to charge electronics. And no blow dryer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bairdo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvijoe, Owner at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry for the bug in the sink as our doors open from the outdoor you never can stop every fly or insect from coming in. I appreciate your comments on being clean as this is one of our top priorities. Safe Travels!

Best Wishes,

Joseph Leach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The staff was friendly and nice. The room was clean and recently updated, but....the floor was slanting. The side door did not lock or even close for that matter. The breakfast was meh. Would I stay there again? Probably since all we needed was a clean place to rest our heads for the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guerrabug45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

On a recent trip across the country one of our most pleasant surprises was American's Best Value Inn. We stumbled upon them online and stayed at them in 2 states. We found them very reasonably priced, clean and friendly. They are not fancy, but for the price they were a good find.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#16 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Wall
Motel 6 Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn

Property: America's Best Value Inn
Address: 201 South Boulevard, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Americas Best Value Inn in Wall, South Dakota and discover the "Window to the West" that opens to reveal prairie vistas and beautiful scenery that can be found in South Dakota. Our hotel is centrally located to lots of various activities in the surrounding area. We offer rooms that provide you with features such as free WIFI, cable TV, HBO, continental hot breakfast, electronic door locks, outdoor pool, in room fridge & microwave & coffee and much more! Our rooms are comfortable and clean and will provide you with a relaxing place to rest your head at the end of a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your America's Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing