We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay”
Review of Econo Lodge Wall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge Wall
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This place has seen better days. It's a bit dated and could use some brightening up, but it's inexpensive, clean, in a decent neighborhood and not far from I90. The front desk staff were very helpful and provided us with local knowledge about where to eat. They also changed our assigned room - at our request - from a 2nd floor room to one on the first floor because not having an elevator, we would have had to carry quite a few items upstairs. While that was a plus, being on the first floor put us under the people who were stomping around above us. I don't know if it was some kids jumping around in the room or merely transferred noise from people walking up and down the stairs. In either case the floor above needs some reinforcing/sound insulation to mitigate the noise. In any event it only happened around 10:00 p.m. for a period of about ten minutes and again at about 7:00 a.m. the next day for about the same amount of time. So, no harm done. So, if I was going back, I'd probably opt for the second floor next time. Breakfast was standard fare, good enough to get you going, but nothing great. All in all an ok place to stay for the money.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb D, General Manager at Econo Lodge Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Thanks for staying with us. We are in the process of upgrading and remodeling rooms but we wok hard to keep our rooms clean. Our front desk staff work hard to meet your needs and make changes when they can. Although it is nice to be on first floor, if you want a quieter room the second floor is better. Hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Wall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Room was dark and musty with little black bugs flying around. The front desk said that "this is the west and you get those bugs.". We skipped the free breakfast. Not much of choice of hotels in Wall, probably would not make a stop another time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb D, General Manager at Econo Lodge Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the issues you had with the bugs. When all your doors face the outside and there are lights, the bugs are drawn to the lights. We hope the rest of your trip is enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Not much choice in Wall. After looking at many reviews, we decided to stay here and knew it would not be the best. the beds were comfy, the shower head is mounted so low that if you are over 5 ft tall you'll have to bend over to get underneath. Breakfast area is so narrow and the choices are average. No easy to maneuver the space while getting food with every other guest.

Service good. people nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KellyAT72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb D, General Manager at Econo Lodge Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thanks you for staying with us. We are pleased that you found our beds comfy. We are aware of the problems in the breakfast area and are planning to add on to the building. If you stop by next summer you should have a lot more room to move around in during breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We spent the day at the Badlands and realized that the hour was late. After spending some time wandering the ridiculous spectacle that is Wall Drug, we decided to stay in town for the night. Frankly, there are not a lot of wonderful looking options in town, but the Econo Lodge looked adequate enough. And, at first glance, adequate it was.

The price was fair. The rooms were reasonably clean. The pool was fine (and nicely open fairly late). The breakfast was somewhat decent, though nothing special.

But when I awoke in the morning, I felt an awful pain. Now, I am not a young man and feel the occasional aches and pains. But the bed at the Econo Lodge? I'd rather have slept on a concrete slab.

So, if you need a cheap place to stay, then maybe this is the hotel for you. If you care about a good night of sleep, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: At the Best Western across the street.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ElectricMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb D, General Manager at Econo Lodge Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

We apologize for any discomfort you may have felt in the morning. We started to replace beds this season and plan to replace more. We work hard to keep our rooms clean and we hope everyone has the chance to enjoy our pool. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The price was good, the pool was good, the room on the other hand had a very strong urine odor. I would have asked for a new room but they were very busy and we were just basically sleeping there and leaving so we just slept and left. Everything was decent except the smell.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb D, General Manager at Econo Lodge Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am pleased that you were able to get your key and find your room. We do have staff that stay on site and would have been available if you had had any problems. We are also in the process of remodeling and updating our rooms. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Booking Econo Lodge is like gambling: in some places, they are great; but most of them are not up to what we paid for. And this Econo Lodge is definitely a much better one!
We arrived at Rapid City late due to flight delay; by time we reached the hotel, the front desk was totally dark and locked. We noticed that there were 2 notes pasted on the font door - one was addressed to me and the other to a different late arrival quest. They already checked in for us and placed the key cards in the drop box. We got our rooms with no problem at all.
The rooms are dated but well maintained and most importantly - clean! Morning breakfast is simple but sufficient. This is a great motel for visiting Badlands National Park, Minuteman Missile Historical Site, world famous Wall Drug, and many other local attractions. There are 24-hr gas station with convenient store in walking distance. All in all, a very convenient and clean motel with reasonable rate.

Room Tip: A great jump start place if you are visiting Badlands NP, Minuteman Missile Historic Site and Wall D...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mraquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb D, General Manager at Econo Lodge Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thanks for staying with us and I am glad that you put us in the catergory of being one of the good Econolodges. We are in the process of remodeling and updating. So, the next time you are in the area stop by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

First off: I love these 60's throwback re-purposed motels - if they are nice. This motel is FANTASTIC. If I had had a 62 Fairlane I would easily be traveling in a different era. The rooms were GREAT, the bedding excellent, the staff wonderful. I love this place with a heated outdoor pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingTnHillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb D, General Manager at Econo Lodge Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.1 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
282 reviews
22.2 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Wall

Address: 804 Glenn St, Wall, SD 57790-2025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Price Range: £57 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Wall 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wall Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing