We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort food, friendly service in a tourist town”

Red Rock Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Wall
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
326 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Comfort food, friendly service in a tourist town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The main attraction of Wall SD is, of course, Wall Drug. But when we arrived in May the cafe at Wall Drug was closed. So we wandered back a couple of streets from the tourist strip and found the Red Rock instead. It's pleasant inside: log construction, paintings. Service was very attentive and courteous. Food is comfort style: I had country fried steak, my wife had walleye. Portions were generous, and the salad and soup bar was fine. Prices reasonable. So for a tourist trap town like Wall, this locals-style cafe offers a good alternative.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rehoboth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    170
    141
    53
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

A local working at the park recommended it so we thought we would give it a try. The walleye was the special and it was wonderful. It was huge and cooked on the grill. The waitress was very helpful and friendly. Service was fast. I didn't give it a higher rating because the veggies were too salty for me.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoofreak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Welcome relief!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

On the road again! Wonderful Staff. Good food, great menu, clean and most of all relaxing. Great beer selection. Try the Walleye special it's excellent.

Helpful?
Thank 87vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss Menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

All through dinner, I kept thinking of what Gordon Ramsey might say. I ordered a fried steak with gravy, which can be awesome. This wasn't. The gravy was thick and pasty, and the meat was a little too chewy. The toast had a rancid-butter taste to it, and the (prepackaged) fries were underdone. Salad bar was unremarkable but fresh. My husband liked the broasted chicken, however, and the wait staff was attentive and friendly. All in all, solidly average (if a little on the pricey side, but hey -tourist town).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EpicDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Took Trip Advisors advice and gave them a try. Had the walley dinner special with soup and salad bar. Very good portions, mighty tasty, served with a smile. Salad bar is nothing fancy but a nice touch. Good choice of beer and wine. Worth the price in my opinion. Very clean. This time of year most of Wall is shut down so we were very pleasantly surprised.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Red Rock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing