We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay if you are traveling to South Dakota.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay if you are traveling to South Dakota.”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This was a last minute decision and one of the best decisions we made during this trip.
While traveling to the Badlands we decided to stay as close as possible to the park.
The Frontier Cabins are just off 90 which allows very easy access to the the Badlands and Wall Drug (you have to stop at Wall Drug!). The customer service was friendly and always available. What impressed me the most was the complex itself. You will have your own Frontier Cabin which I must say was perfect in every way. The complex appears very new, even though it is approx. 4 years old and its very nicely maintained and clean. It has very thing that you could possibly need while traveling. The complex has a very nice picnic and outdoor grilling area, play set, wireless internet, mini refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, pretty much everything that you would expect in a quality stay. It also has an on site gift shop and fireworks. If you are traveling to the Badlands or just traveling through the state I highly recommend the Frontier Cabins.

Room Tip: Book in advance. Also ask for a cabin facing the farm instead of the road. It will provide you a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1slimdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    128
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
258
237
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We just loved this cabin! It is very clean and the bed ultimately comfortable. This place is close to many attractions yet is very peaceful. We travelled with a trailer in which we were able to park it right outside our cabin worry-free. Sunday and her staff were incredibly helpful!We still talk about our 2-night stay here and can't wait to come back! This place is a diamond in the rough! --Maria & Robert

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evropea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I was driving by looking for a hotel after 30 hours on the road and little clean clothes left. These cabins were great. I had always romanticized the idea of having a log cabin get away and this filled it. The cabins were decorated all in cabin style but with modern amenities. I felt like I could have been deep in the woods or a mountain retreat. The cabins were all individual so there were no noisey neighbors. I had my own little patio to look up at the stars, complete with grill and picnic table. The owners were great and extremely friendly. There is laundry on site. The rates were VERY! reasonable. I would highly recommend staying here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Planktos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Traveling with my mom and my three kids (ages 9 and 7) we stayed here one night on our way out to the Black Hills. A friend had suggested that we drive the extra hour to Rapid City instead of staying in Wall but I'm so glad we decided not to as we really enjoyed our stay here -much better than a 3 star hotel chain which is all you'd find in Rapid City. Plus the cabins are located at the western end of the Badlands scenic loop so it's super convenient. The cabins are all newer, clean, and well appointed. The staff is very helpful and friendly and there's a very decent continental brunch in the morning. Also a gift shop with some cool stuff - we outfitted my boys with coonskin caps and pistols and they LOVED it. They also enjoyed the playground there and it was a great way for them to burn off some energy after being in the car so long. Do request a cabin with a prairie view or you'll be stuck looking at the highway. Only downside to staying here is the restaurant choices in Wall are pretty dismal.

Room Tip: request a prairie view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fmrtaitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights while visiting the Badlands. The cabin was much better than I expected, especially for the price. The cabins are cute outside and delightful inside and still quite new - only three years old, and really have only been used 18 months since they don't rent in the winters. The attention to detail in the cabins is excellent - lots of nice amenities, including a fully-stocked kitchen and daily maid service. We slept on the fold-out couch in the living room, and it was quite comfortable. There is a continental breakfast included in the price. I had been a little concerned that the cabin would be noisy, since it's close to the expressway, but it wasn't at all. It overlooks a pretty meadow so you feel like you're more remote than you really are, plus it's just a few minutes away from the National Park, so you can drive down to watch the sunset, which we did each night. We would definitely stay here again if we ever come this way.

Room Tip: Request a meadow view cabin for a pretty view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tennismom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armstrong, IA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is an excellent place to stay. Very clean and comfortable. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dallymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here on our big family road trip to the Black Hills. The bedding is high end, the showers scrupulously clean, the views of the prairie charming. If you are expecting a rustic, dowdy camper cabin, you will be amazed. The breakfast is surprisingly robust given the space they have for it. The ownership is friendly and they work hard to please. Our children enjoyed the playground and ran off some energy before we got on the road for the long trip home. I am recommending this to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.0 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Property: Frontier Cabins Motel
Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing