We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Only stopped for the night, but the cabins were very clean, quiet. In late out early, I wish we had more time to check it out, I am sure it probably deserves 5 stars, but we only slept here so I am not sure.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wisconsin_bob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    130
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
261
238
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Wow.

We stayed one night at the Frontier Cabins on June 30th, 2012. On a wild swing through 6 states, we arrived from Custer, SD on night three not really knowing what to expect. I'm glad we didn't because that made it so much better.

Yes, this property is right off Interstate 90 with a short turn right just before the WALL , SD water tower.

The checkin ..... area..... is a large shop, which houses geegaws for sale, and an ample supply of fireworks to boot. It is also the breakfast spot, with bagels, muffins, toast, yogurt, coffee etc.

The cabins themselves are marvelous. Each separated by a picnic table and grill, and facing a large open field which parallels the Interstate. Don't worry, there isn't enough noise or traffic for it to be a problem at all.

Half of the cabins also face the sunset, of which ours was lovely following a really big storm that night.

Interiors pay attention to all details. All done in wood, with sitting area couch, desk, queen bed in our case, large enough TV, refridgerator (small), microwave, nice shower area, and remote control for the air conditioner.

Extra blanket and pillows are provided as well, along with iron and board, hairdryer, and toiletries. Towels are embroidered with animal theme and are plush.

Staff was super. Catherine allowed us to move to front side when we found out we faced the water tower. It really would not have been a problem, we just wanted to face the sunset and she obliged.

Room was also very quiet even with a family of four one side, and a couple on the other. Never heard a peep.

Exceptionally close to the back entrance to Badlands National Park, and of course one minute from anything you would want to see in Wall itself.

A great experience for the price. Highly recommend if you are heading to Badlands or Wall.

By the way, they also offer Teepees with cots for much less! Rough it!

Room Tip: Ask for the sunset side if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeanPods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Very cute, very clean, I imagine it would be great for kids. Different than I expected, basically cabin-esque motel rooms on pavement, but this is a great place. They really make the rooms look really cute, the cabins have great soundproofing (we were worried the playground would be noisy but we didn't hear anything at all. Very extensive breakfast and very close to the badlands!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Embys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This is my second year in a row staying here, and the cabins are still modern but cozy. People up at the front desk are nice, and staying here is like having a little house right near the Badlands. I do wish they would beef up their breakfast, but it's free anyway, so if you don't want what they have, just pop over to Wall Drug for something.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marvingardens22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We were on our way back to Chicago from Yellowstone and found this great place for a night on the road. Great value: cheaper than lesser rooms in rapid city and very cozy cabins with log bed and rustic decor. The cabin was very clean with plenty of pillows and towels. It also had a ceiling fan and remote controlled air/heat (we really liked that). Wall mounted flat screen tv as well.

They also had a standard continental breakfast which was nothing special but it gave us fuel to get on the road. One nice thing they do is allow every cabin a bag of ice. It doesn't seem like much but it's a nice touch for people on road trips with coolers.

Definitely will stay here again the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spartyspringparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Day two of our western trip we were lucky enough to land this awesome place to spend the night. Unfortunately its only one night. These little cabins are located right off the highway on the outskirts of Wall SD. 6 blocks from the famous Wall Drug Store. And only minutes from the entrance to Badlands National Park which is awesome. Our cabin was a double queen. Decked out in western decor. Very clean and well kept. Beds very comfortable. Flat screen tv, ac, mic, fridge, all ya need! If youre an outdoorsman you will love this place and even if you arent its still a great place to stay and a great price! Theres a hot tub and outdoor kitchen area that we wont get to use. Lil front porch is cool. Gift shop is pretty big with plenty of fireworks and souvenirs. Breakfast included. Whats more? The only bad thing...an its kinda picky is the water is kinda filmy. Feels funny when you take a shower but its no big deal really. I'll say if Im ever back in town Im definately lookin this place up!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidron733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

Comfortable, clean, friendly staff, and close to Badlands. Enjoyed our two nights there and would stay there again.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GillilanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Property: Frontier Cabins Motel
Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing