We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin on the Prairies”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Fantastic for families who want to get away from the chain hotels in the city. The cabins are adorable! Extremely clean, & nostalgic for those who camped in actual log cabins. The decor is wonderfully woodsy, comfortable beds, great service, playground for the kids, jacuzzi, sauna, & BBQ grill. They provide a simple continental breakfast & a free bag of ice per day. Located a couple miles from the entrance of the Badlands. Only drawback...no pool to cool down in after a long, hot day in the Badlands.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazywhitewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

For the price of a cheap motel you get a beautifully decorated cabin, anything but cheap. Friendly staff, great ambiance, so glad we made this choice!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 17suzan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Very spacious cabins, richly decorated, super clean, good breakfast, right off of the highway. Very nice people at the counter. . The only complaint we had is that the beds weren't that comfortable. Part of that is the mattress covers they use, the other being the stiff mattress. Other than that, we would recommend this place to anyone in a heartbeat and would return again in the future if we so happen to travel this road again. We really loved decorum. Very clean premises..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Middlemancrisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at this location. We have vacationed in the Black Hills many different times and stayed in may different overpriced hotels. This was one of the best experiences we have ever had. The rooms were extremely clean and well furnished. We enjoyed sitting out on our patio and watching the sun set in the evening. The free continental breakfast was very much appreciated. We would highly recommend this location for couples or families.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Very cute little cabins! Our family of 5 was all able to stay in one cabin. It was easy to find and it was a quick drive to the Badlands. The owners were very friendly and accommodating and provided a good breakfast in the morning. They also knew where to find a lot of animals in the Badlands.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duppal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed here one night. It was perfect for visiting the Badlands - very close. The "cabins" are really free-standing motel rooms, but VERY nice, very clean and appear new. Nicely decorated. There is a breakfast included which was fine - typical hotel breakfast fare. There's a playground and hot-tub. Our room had a nice porch. Will definitely stay there again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: We were on the back row which was nice since the porch backed-up to a field and it was relaxing to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Booked on line in advance for two nights. When we first saw it upon arrival, have to admit we were a little nervous since it is by the interstate. But we loved it and would return again! The hosts bend over backwards to make sure you have whatever you need and immediately take care of any issues that may arise. The cabins are spacious, clean and really helped us relax after being on the road for several days. The location is perfect for visiting the Badlands park. Their free breakfast is great! Not just the usual donuts and coffee, this included items like biscuits and gravy, a real hit with my husband! When traveling its nice to be able to eat in once in a while which you can do here by cooking in the cabin or on their common area grill.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank HarleysMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
144 reviews
22 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range: £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing