We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and convenience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frontier Cabins Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Caneyville, KY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value and convenience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Roomy, well equipped cabin with a friendly staff. Park right beside your cabin. We stayed in 9 different hotels on our recent vacation and this was the most enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldOwlFFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    120
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
245
227
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

What can I say that other reviews have not already described. Frontier Cabins Motel is too cute! Quiet setting, but.close to everything.  Each cabin is separated by it's own parking spot and planted tree. There is a picnic table, adirondak chairs on the covered porch and a charcoal grill. The cabin furniture and decor is top of the line - Terry Redlin bedding, Unique Cabin Furniture from Colorado and Cabela's furnishings. Convenient to I-90 and scenic bypass to Badlands. Spectacular kids play gym, hot tub, sauna, gas grill and seating in outdoor lounge area. Keep in mind, the inside of each single room cabin is the equivalent of a motel room, but the feel is totally different. With AARP discount (also have AAA discount), we paid $107. inc. tax.  Breakfast consisted of the usual continental fare, plus hard boiled eggs and biscuits with sausage gravy. Wall Drug, Harley Davidson and other retail stores are minutes away in town.  If it wasn't 107 degrees, I might want to stay in one their colorful teepees complete with cots, log tables and screened fire pit ($50./night). The owner went all out with this place and the staff is very friendly and courteous. There is also a large gift shop.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset, wi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

The other reviewers have said it all - unique, comfrotable, and great service. We had Cabin # 39, which faces the road ( East) but had no issues with noise. ( had the A/C on all the time due to high heat). Really enjoyed the Adirondack chairs on our patio both morning and evening. It's nice to stay somewhere that's not the typical motel room.
The breakfast was simple, but all we needed or wanted ( and they had hard-boiled eggs for "low-carbers"- a nice touch.)

I left a sweater in the room, and called 2 days later. They went searching & found it, and are mailing it back to me. Great service & nice people.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niner1Somerset_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I found this place in the back of the South Dakota Vacation Guide when I was looking for places on our trip. Originally we were going to just stay 2 nights in Rapid City and just drive out to the Badlands. I'm so glad I found this.

The cabins were clean, adorably decorated, and very quiet and peaceful. We arrived here after stopping at Wall Drug to eat. While there, our neighbor back home who was watching our house, called to tell us that our house was flooded. So, we decided to check in and start the work of figuring out what to do while were several states away.

The check-in was quick and the young lady was very pleasant. When I explained what had happened, they were so compassionate asking us to let them know if there was anything they could do. Well, when we got in touch with water mitigation people, they needed to send me an email with a form to send back to them before they could start. The only problem was....we were on vacation and purposefully didn't bring a computer and we don't own fancy cell phones, just the basic kind you can call on. The young lady at the front desk allowed me to use her i-Pad (or some such device). Again, she and the owner, who turned out to be her mother, were just so kind to us. Especially when we found out on top of this, one of our dogs was not doing well - hadn't been standing for days. We knew then we would have to quit our vacation and go home. So, we decided to thoroughly enjoy our last night in SD.

Our cabin faced the meadow side (highly recommended). There were meadowlark's in the field just singing away. The thunderstorms were all around us but none over our area. We sat on our front porch and just watched the lightning all around. Then we decided to sit in the hot tub. It was a perfect temperature and we had it all to ourselves. The front desk provides you special towels for the hot tub and they are very large! After sitting in the hot tub, I decided to sweat it out a bit and sit in the infared sauna they have. I usually sit in a sauna at the gym but haven't stayed at a place with one. It was cool because there was also a radio in there so I sat and just relaxed to the music. The area where all of this is set up feels just like you're on your back patio.

The location was quiet and peaceful. It was just what we needed for some hurting souls.

If we ever come back this way, there is no hesitation, we would stay here!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the meadow side are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Singingdove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

The description may say "rustic," but these cabins were really nice. Literally walked in the door of the cabin and said "wow!" Super clean, super service, super well furnished... We had absolutely nothing to complain about. We had one of the larger cabins that had kitchen facilities, and you really could stay there a week and feed yourself. Two big comfy beds in one room and a foldout sofa if needed in the living room. Wonderful bathroom, recently built it seemed... Really nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

The cabins were just what we were looking for...unique, clean and close to town. We had Cabin #15, which had a lovely view with chairs on our little porch. Breakfast was just right for road trippers, and there were places to cook out as well. Service was friendly!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katehunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Fantastic for families who want to get away from the chain hotels in the city. The cabins are adorable! Extremely clean, & nostalgic for those who camped in actual log cabins. The decor is wonderfully woodsy, comfortable beds, great service, playground for the kids, jacuzzi, sauna, & BBQ grill. They provide a simple continental breakfast & a free bag of ice per day. Located a couple miles from the entrance of the Badlands. Only drawback...no pool to cool down in after a long, hot day in the Badlands.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazywhitewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#15 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
22.0 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Property: Frontier Cabins Motel
Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing