We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place to stay in Wall!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Very convenient to the Badlands. I must admit I was surprised how nice these cabins were. I wasn't expecting much, being in the middle of nowhere. I was pleasantly surprised. We rented two cabins for our family and one for my folks. The staff was so nice, the rooms were spotless and very big. They each had a nice porch by the front door with chairs for relaxing. There was a hot tub area but we didn't use that due to lack of time. It looked nice and staff were out there first thing in the morning cleaning it and adding water. The breakfast is in the gift shop and very well stocked. I highly recommend this quaint, clean & off the beaten path place to stay. Kudos to the Frontier staff!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank ramseybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while exploring the Badlands. We had a cabin with 2 queen beds and a full kitchen which faced the fields rather than the road. Despite being right off the highway exchange, there really wasn't a lot of noise at night. Courteous staff on the phone when I had made the reservations and friendly check in staff, very clean and tidy cabin with plenty of towels and amenities. Available coin-operated laundry behind the store/check in area was readily available for us. Decent breakfast (biscuits and gravy, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, muffins). Just a few miles from the entrance to Badlands National Park one way and just a few miles from Wall the other. A/C worked well to cool us in the 107 degree heat, although the AC unit is right across from the bathroom door, so be sure to close that door so the cool air spreads around the cabin! Playground area for the kids--we didn't use the hottub or sauna, so I can't speak to that. Comfortable bed and pillows, 2 TVs, and a sleeper sofa, sufficient plates/cups/cookware. Very, very affordable with the AAA rate--and would have been so even without it!

Room Tip: It's nice to have the field/prairie to look out on from the porch; I'd recommend this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctonabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We were traveling across the country and were lucky enough to stumble across the Frontier Cabins on an Internet search for lodging in Wall, SD. We were hopeful that they were as nice in person as they seemed online. Upon arrival we found that they were everything we could have hoped for and more! The cabins are nicely appointed. All of the furniture and decor have a lovely rustic cabin feel, with the luxury of a nice hotel (including free wifi!). They thought of everything! I would certainly stay here again if I found myself out this way!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasualTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

What an adorable place! I do have to say, though, that when you drive up to it, it looks like a sales lot for small outbuildings! lol. It is literally off I-90 & on the scenic drive into the Badlands. It was nice that we got off at exit 131 & took 240 around thru the Badlands & then after you exit the park, the cabins are just up the road. We stayed there 2 nights as I mistakenly thought they would be closer to Mt. Rushmore & Custer State Park. They were over an hour away, but as my husband didn't mind driving back & forth, we did stay both nights. Rapid City is indeed, the closest city & only a few miles from Mt. R, but we had an incredible time anyway. The cabin we were in had 2 queens in a back room & a full pullout & kitchen in the front of the cabin. There was a window a/c unit which took some time to cool down the place, but if you kept the bathroom door shut, it distributed more evenly (the a/c unit faced the bathroom!). I only gave this place 4 stars due to the poor shower head & poor breakfast. The breakfast was held in the large "store" where you also check in. They have stuffed a few tables into a store where you sit & have a sad selection of breakfast items. We stayed many places this trip (& elsewhere) & I think for the price, they could've provided some eggs of some type for some protein. We were disappointed. As a matter of fact, the second morning, we chose to go to Wall for their infamous fresh doughnuts. We would stay there again, as a nice topping place on our trip, if convenient, but otherwise would stay in Rapid City or Custer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

By Providence, no doubt, we saw an ad about the Frontier Cabins. We were so elated & impressed over everything: the rooms were of high quality, the linens were likewise, the kitchenette, the TV's, and other amenities were perfect! Loved the sunset. We'll definitely stay here again. Thank you!

Room Tip: Look for a room that is on the edge of country living where you can see sunsets and sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyborr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We could've driven 1 hour more to our destination, Keystone, but wanted to hang out at Wall one evening instead of pushing so hard. We are SO glad we stayed at the Frontier Cabins. We had time to drive through the Badlands before nightfall. The cabins aren't out in the woods, if that's what you are hoping for, but there are several places like that. The staff in the office are very helpful and nice. We had cabin 33 which faces east and is right by the road, but we didn't hear any noise. The cabins are SO nice! I want one :) Whoever decorated these deserves a gold star. Very clean, very comfortable and charming. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanehring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Roomy, well equipped cabin with a friendly staff. Park right beside your cabin. We stayed in 9 different hotels on our recent vacation and this was the most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldOwlFFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
146 reviews
22 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range: £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing