We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins were so cute and cozy!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cabins were so cute and cozy!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived late so could not take advantage of the patio seating, barbecues, hot tub or fire pit but this place was just adorable. The cabins look new and are decorated beautifully- log cabin style. The beds were comfy and it was nice and quiet outside,

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clayslinger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    129
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
260
237
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We loved our little cabin. It was very clean & comfortable. The breakfast was good--yogurt, waffles, cereal, etc. We used the hot tub & we were the only people in it at the time. There are movies to rent if you want something to do at night. They were a bit overpriced for older movies but no big deal. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherminier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this cabin. it was extremely clean and the decor was really cute and woodsy. We had a west facing cabin and so enjoyed the sunset as we sat on the 2 seater bench outside our room. Our grandson accompanied us and he especially liked sitting around the campfire with other vacationers sharing 's'mores and stories. Very nice.
Breakfast was busy, the food was standard and a good start to the day.
I would definitely recommend this as a stopover on a road trip to the SD

Room Tip: Ask for a west facing cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heppalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, MN
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our cabin was well appointed and clean. The breakfast was busy but it was enough to get you going with hard boiled eggs, sweets/carbs, and yogurt to get you going. Our view outside of our door was so peaceful. We would/will stay here again if we are on our way through. Also, you can buy ice cream treats in the "lobby" for very inexpensive at night. The hot tub was broken, but we didn't intend to use it anyhow. That part of the property felt sort of camping/KOA - like. Overall, a very nice place to stay. Very close to the freeway, but we didn't hear any road noise. Ask for furthest away from the road-- we had cabin 28 and it was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnegrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The cabin was well made, roomy, and the beds were comfortable. The cabins was built from pine, that had been locally harvested. It was very close to the highway and easy to find, but far away from downtown Wall to be quiet in the morning and evenings.
We enjoyed the bag of ice that was given for each day of your stay as well as the huge ice maker. It was crowded in the store where they served breakfast so we just took it back to the cabin and ate on the porch table and chairs.
The owner and family were very courteous and helpful.
On the road directly leading to the Badlands or close to interstate for Rapid City.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin overlooking the meadow and away from the highway. There are also tee-pees that look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcvanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This motel consists of two rows of log cabins, all of recent vintage, with the inside edges of the logs cut to form solid wood paneling as the interior walls and with most of the furnishings made of logs. It would probably be a termite’s favorite lodging. Our cabin faced a field that had been harvested for hay; the other line faced the road to the Badlands. We had a porch with chairs on which we would have watched the sunset but for a thunderstorm. The place was clean and well furnished, with a flat screen TV, Wi-Fi, air conditioner, and small refrigerator. The complex has several large teepees in which kids can play, as well as a play structure with swings and slides. There are also statues of bison and other indigenous animals. Each cabin has a small charcoal grill available, and there is also a gas grill available to guests, along with a hot tub and sauna. Breakfast was served in the office, a large store selling merchandise including Native American jewelry, western themed items, and fireworks. While not the most extensive spread of food, it was certainly more than adequate. This motel was, frankly, far better than we expected. I can also see where it might be perfect for a family with kids. It’s well located; we walked from the motel to Wall Drug and back. Unless your kids MUST have a pool, this is a great break from cookie-cutter chain motels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredRNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It is too bad there is not moe to do right in Wall, because this little hotel is a destination! We stayed 3 nights to take an extended Badlands experience before heading on to the Black Hills. Hotels are a dime a dozen and we would be staying in a lot of them on this vacation, so thought this little cabin would be a nice change for us. It was the height of our hotel stays for sure! VERY comfortable beds, wonderful showers, nicely appointed with large frig and microwave, delightful "cabin fare" decorating, average though adequate breakfast in a clean and kitchy dining area with an outdoor option, incredibly helpful and courteous staff, free ice-all you want every day, with VERY easy access to Badlands and the town of Wall! The hotel is right off the highway, but you never hear the road noise...at least we didn't. Sunsets were gorgeous from our little patio complete with log chairs for porch sittin'. There is a picnic table and grill for BBQ if you don't want to eat out. Nice playground for the kids. The hot tub was not working while we were there which was upsetting. I highly recommend this place even if only for one night. For an adventure, you can even stay in a REAL teepee if you like!

Room Tip: If you stay on "field" side rather than on the "road" side, you get the sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.0 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Property: Frontier Cabins Motel
Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing