We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality! Even though there was no room in the Inn!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hospitality! Even though there was no room in the Inn!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My two young daughters and I were passing throught town and were unaware that it was Sturgis bike week. I thought we would have no problem getting a hotel in rural Wall South Dakota, but I was wrong. Not only was the whole town booked, but the whole state seemed to be booked. I went into the frontier cabin store and to check availability and the night manager was amazing! When she found out we couldn't book a room anywhere in town she called surrounding hotels in the next couple towns. She said she wouldn't let us sleep on the road and refused to let us leave, because there was a big storm coming. She had us sleep in her personal appartment above the store! Not only was she kind, she was the most professional manager I have ever met! I thought she was the owner, because she represented frontier cabins so well. Wow, give her a promotion!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcangel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    125
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
252
234
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

There is not a lot to choose from in Wall. While this is not a 5-start place, it is very nice and the family enjoyed our night stay. The cabin is very cute. The campground is very nice - play area for the kids, a Jacuzzi, and an outdoor pavilion. Wi-fi was hit or miss, thankfully the television has a medium assortment of channels for the kids. Room was very clean. There are flies and the room had a fly strip. Given their location, I don't think there is much more they can do. The morning breakfast was okay - mostly donuts, waffles and cereal - with little fruit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpd_NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
253 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Darling little cabin, warm, inviting and overflowing with character! Very large for one person. Great central location for Badlands NP, Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial, Black Hills etc. Office is also a retail store. Breakfast served on jewelry display tables...very different! Minimal breakfast provided, nothing hot unless you eat biscuits and gravy, which I do not. No fresh fruit :( Only issue was it is close to the street and an exit of Interstate 90, so there was some car noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stopped in Wall w/o a reservation (mid week Sept.) Drove by the hotels and scanned the Trip Advisor reviews. That led us to Frontier Cabins. They were cute and very clean. Bed was comfortable and room was spacious for the 2 of us. I liked the atmosphere. Different/better than the typical chain hotel/motels in Wall. Breakfast isn't great, but you can get coffee, juice, bagels...biscuits and gravy too, of course. Breakfast IS included.

Room Tip: Request a cabin facing the field. (we liked to call it the prairie.) It was peaceful sitting in our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleNanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
151 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

These little cabins are just darling! Also, they are very comfortable and clean. A breakfast is included in the price. The location is excellent for either driving through or visiting the Badlands, Rushmore, Black Hills, etc. Without a doubt the best in Wall!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherokee, Iowa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here 3 nights while visiting the badlands. The cabins have a north woods decor and are great looking and clean as a whistle. No need to worry about the neighbors with a cabin either. I can't think of a better comercial property we have ever stayed at. We travel to the Badlands and the Black Hills often and we will definitely stay here again. They are not open year round so check their website or give them a call before booking off season. I really couldn't find anything to make a negative comment on.

Room Tip: The cabins on the east side face the highway and the west side face a field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wundirboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is one of the BEST places to stay!! Very-very clean, very nicely decorated and everyone was very friendly. We relaxed while we ate dinner on the country cabin front porch. Even though it was close to the road we didn't hear any noise and slept well. We would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBS6169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
22.0 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Property: Frontier Cabins Motel
Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing