We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frontier Cabins Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$115
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
466
135
22
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
135
22
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgift shophot tubfree bag of icelog cabinfront porchfire pitgas grillindividual cabinsmeadow viewplace to stayrustic decorplay areabadlands national parkwall drugroad noiseblack hillsyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is the greatest log cabin we've ever stayed. From the wall decorations to the night light, every detail was beautiful. It is one of the cleanest places I've ever stayed. So close to the Badlands & Wall Drug- it's a "no brainer"! The price was right & the breakfast was a full meal- not just cold cereal. We will go back on our next pass through South Dakota.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vicg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The accommodations at the Frontier Cabins Motel were excellent: very clean, spacious, and comfortable. The place is very kitsch upon entering, but don't let that fool you. The cabins are sophisticated inside, nice log cabin decor and comfortable beds. Avoid breakfast at all cost. It's a worth a look see in the shop, but travel elsewhere for a bite and some morning coffee. Knowing that upfront will help you manage your morning expectations. Nearby Wall has some better alternatives, but the area in general is not a culinary gem.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Suzzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Others rate this place highly, and for most part I would agree--EXCEPT for 3 things: 1) road noise, especially in cabins next to the frontage road, is quite loud (opt for second row), 2) if you need internet, it is very unreliable (twice we have had problems and gotten NO internet service), 3) breakfast is very average, with the smallest styro-foam coffee cups ever (you eat breakfast at display tables in their store)!

Room Tip: If internet is essential, verify it as soon as you walk into your room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HankNDotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

What a nice place to stay when in the area. The cabins are absolutely beautiful inside. The buildings and grounds are well up kept. Very reasonably priced and close to lots of activities in the area. Lots of parking and a nice gift shop on site as well. Look forward to staying there in the future. We stayed in cabin 12 with a nice view of a grassy field alive with bird life.
Very comfortable bed and quiet so a good nights sleep was had.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here for a night during the memorial weekend and i was pleasantly surprised with their cabins. It was very neatly decorated and we found it very comfortable. It was quite and they have chairs and table for outside of cabin to hangout which i liked. The beds are huge and comfortable. The staffs were helpful. The complimentary breakfast was ok but nothing special about it. They had a guest laundry are which is a good thing.It is just at the beginning of the badlands loop and is a perfect place to stay if you are visiting badlands.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Prem83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews