We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frontier Cabins Motel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Wall
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
466
135
22
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
135
22
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgift shophot tubfree bag of icelog cabinfront porchfire pitgas grillindividual cabinsmeadow viewplace to stayrustic decorplay areabadlands national parkwall drugroad noiseblack hillsyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We always choose Frontier Cabins when we visit Wall. Unable to book in advance for our stay in June, we were pleased to get a cabin. Check-in was easy at the gift shop adjacent to the cabins. The attendant was pleasant. Our master queen cabin was great with windows on three sides, a microwave and refrigerator, and comfortable Western furniture including a comfortable sitting area. The cabins are super clean and comfortable. Each has a small balcony with chairs. Parking is adjacent to your cabin. A simple, but good, complimentary breakfast is served in the large gift shop on tables with glass tops covering displays of Native jewelry.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin on the West side for a sunset view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfsinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was a very pleasant surprise. Exactly what we needed on this trip home. Not your cookie cutter boring room. I would come back just to visit this little place. Really wish the grandkids were with us they would love it.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caliber12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here coming out of the Badlands via Rapid City. Units are prefab log-cabinesque standalones. Ours had a kitchenette and full bath, with relaxing livingroom furniture and twin queen beds, and best of all faced south towards the Badlands park. With the park closed for the night on Saturday, traffic on the nearby highway dropped to zero, making for very quiet and dark surroundings and a good sleep. Sunrise into the bedroom next morning was splendid.

With an hour of torrential rain and high winds, the roof above one bed leaked about four drops, but soon stopped. Hotel states "free wifi" but signal strength was near zero at our end, so forget wireless internet. Our unit had no assigned parking larger than Smart Car size. Desk clerk rudely requested that we park elsewhere, so had to park up by main checkin 50 yards away.

Room Tip: Unit 31 is very quiet at night, but has no assigned parking.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_Templeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We found this place on Tripadvisor and it seemed like a very nice place with a good price to stay for a night after a long day in the Badlands. The cabin was very nice, very clean and nicely appointed with furnishings and nick-nack log cabin decor. We overlooked a big field with two outdoor chairs and a great view of the sunset. We were early in the season so we got a great price for one night. The check-in went well and the girl who checked us in was friendly and helpful. We were even offered a free bag of ice. They also offer a free breakfast, juice, coffee, cereal, yogurt and a few breads and danish. Not great but, enough to get us going. You are probably better off going into Wall Drug Store and getting a .05 coffee and a fresh baked donut. The office is also a gift shop with 1/4 of it locally made "stuff" and the other 3/4 fireworks stacked to the ceiling. They have free wifi and an outside area to bar-b-q or sit in the hot tub. They also have several "Indian Tee-pees" that you can rent. It only has a bed in it but, if you want to tent camp cheap, it's pretty cool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have always kind of dreaded staying in Wall when we are passing through on a road trip, but Frontier Cabins changed our mind about that. The motel is not especially appealing from the outside (a line of cabins in a strip off the highway), but inside the cabins will make you feel like you're getting away from it all. They are spotless, cozy, and well appointed with log furniture and a Western theme. Refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, and a little porch outside where you can sit and watch the sunset (ask for a cabin on the west side for the best view). Although we didn't use them outside there is a common area with hot tub, grills, picnic tables, that were all well maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for cabin on the west side for a better view from the porch.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illflyaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews