We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cute and clean! My own little cabin!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So cute and clean! My own little cabin!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We traveled to the Badlands National Park today and stayed at these cute cabins for one night. Very comfortable and clean with a nice country feel. Off I-90 but quiet and at the back door of the park. Wall Famous Drug Store a few minutes away that is touristy but a little bit of everything. The cabins have a basic continental breakfast enough to get you going for the day. No good restaurants nearby, so we went to the one and only supermarket for frozen dinners and drinks. Micro, frig, and coffee maker in room. Playground for the kids and your car is parked right outside your cabin.

Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kukana77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    127
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
253
235
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We loved this little place. Stayed here on advice of a friend and so glad we did. Our cabin was #18, facing the prairie. Each cabin has it's own parking spot right next to it. The cabin was immaculate --very very clean. Appeared to be new - not sure of age. Furniture was wood and beautiful. Price was great. $114/night for 2 double beds. Believe it was $139 for the same cabin with a kitchenette. There was a children's play area, a hot tub and grills as well as a cute little sitting area with chairs outside each cabin. Just a really nice clean place to stay for the money. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolivar, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins while traveling from the Badlands National Park to the Black Hills. By the way, the location is great for leaving or going to the Badlands. While we did not get there early enough to utilize any of the amenities, we REALLY liked the cabin. The cabins are complete with nice lodge decor and have a porch on the front of the cabin. Our cabin porch faced a field (away from the road). This placed our cabin slightly further from the road. Prior to booking, I saw reviews arguing which cabins were better, those with the porch facing the road or those facing the field. A majority indicated the field, but I think you would be fine either way. If you want a bit more of a peaceful feel while sitting on the porch, asking for a cabin that is west facing (away from the road) would serve you well. I never noticed any significant road noise so I would not think this would be an issue regardless which cabin you had. Take note that the cabins are close to one another. All the essentially separates them is a parking space for your vehicle.

The facility offers a playground for the kids, a hot tub for the adults and a teepee for those looking for more of a camping experience. They provide you with a free bag of ice during your stay which is nice and offer a continental breakfast. The only odd thing was that the dining area for the breakfast was inside a store where they sell tourist items and fireworks. Wierd. Overall, I will certainly stay at Frontier Cabins again when I am in Wall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TroyMo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Very nicely well done cabins. Clean. Decorated with outdoors theme. They seem very new. Kids will love them. They come with internet access and a basic continental breakfast. After reading other reviews, I made a point to request a cabin facing the "field," and that's what we got. It's not a huge deal, but it's nice to see the sunset looking over a hay field rather than looking at the road out front. (The cabins have chairs on their front porches). There is no question that I'd stay here again.

Cons? Our air conditioner was just too loud to have on while we slept (although I find that to be true for many air conditioners). Wall doesn't have much to offer for food. We ate at the Wall Drug cafeteria one night (mediocre) and Subway one night. If you're up for it, you can walk to them. Otherwise, it's a 1 minute drive. Maybe just have Dairy Queen, you're on vacation.

Room Tip: Following advise from other reviewers, we were happy that we requested a "field-view" room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Clean, spacious, fun themed cabins. Great overnight stop. Not a resort or activity site. But, if you are passing through town these cabins are reasonable priced and comfortable. The store is filled with fireworks. While this is cool, we would have appreciate more essentials to be available onsite. Nothing a quick trip off site can't fix. Would recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Without a doubt, this was the best motel that we stayed in during our two-week trip, and that includes six days in a four-star Westin hotel in Westminster, CO. I felt as if I were staying in a mountain cabin. My wife loved the decor and furnishings, and I loved its feeling of isolation, even though we were within sight of the Interstate and Wall, SD. Seriously - if you're ever on I-90 near Wall, SD, you must stay here.

Room Tip: All of the cabins are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, WI
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Like having your own cabin, no, wait, ACTUALLY having your own cabin. Nice cabin with a little more space than a hotel room, nicely decorated, close to other cabins, store/office and common amenities. Clean, comfortable and just nice.

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin. They have teepees you can sleep in. I didn't see inside to see if you sleep o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
22.0 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Property: Frontier Cabins Motel
Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing