We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wall, SD”
Review of Super 8 Wall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Wall
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    110
    51
    14
    7
See reviews for
94
113
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The staff were all very friendly and did their jobs well. The rooms seemed newly remodeled, with lovely art work of the Badlands. There was a nice new television, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. It was very easy to find and it's location to the Badlands and Wall Drug is perfect. Unfortunately, there was no pool, but we knew that ahead of time. The breakfast was pretty average, cereal, toast, juice. The price was very reasonable for the time of year. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerWall_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Wall, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We at Super 8 in Wall are proud of our customer service and enthusiastic about giving our guests a Super experience with both the Badlands and Wall Drug. We are happy to hear that you like our updated interior designs for our rooms, including the televisions and the artwork featuring local scenery such as the beautiful Badlands National Park. We like that our hotel is in a convenient location for our guests to visit both the Badlands and Wall Drug. We are pleased that you found Super value with us and look forward to seeing you again. Pleasant Journeys, Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night just to enjoy the fun of Wall Drug on our way to the Black Hills. The front desk attendant was very pleasant. For medical reasons we had placed two requests, a first floor room and since this hotel used to have smoking rooms and I am allergic to smoke, a room that had never been a smoking room. We had done this request through the 800 number and then also followed up directly with the hotel to confirm they had received our request. When we called the hotel weeks before our stay, we were told they had our request, verbally guaranteed our request would be honored, plus went on to rave about the updates that had been done to the hotel. When we checked-in we had to pay in full, up front, even though we were paying with a credit card. In the past, this has always been a red flag to me, and I should have payed attention to that red flag. AFTER we paid, we were told we had a second floor room...not what we requested. I asked if the room had ever been a smoking room and I was told it had...again...not what we requested. I explained to the clerk that I had placed these requests for medical reasons, which when she checked our reservation, was confirmed. Finally, we got a first floor room. Upon entering the room the air conditioner was off and the heat was unbearable. I also thought I noticed a slight smoky smell. I went back to the front desk and asked about the air and commented on the smoky smell. I was told the air conditioner worked great and that if we turned it up all the way, it would cool the room in no time and that the air was probably just stale and once it circulated around, the smell should go away. We turned the air on as high as it would go and left to explore Wall Drug. We returned about 4 1/2 hours later and the room was getting better. I will also say the room, even though it was very dark and small, was very clean and even though the beds are too small for two people, they were comfortable. As the night progressed, the air never did cool our room to what is comfortable for us. I also noticed that after the first time we used the bathroom, the toilet would run, stop, and run some more. The next morning I woke up early after an uncomfortable night’s sleep. The room was too warm, plus, my allergy to smoke caused me to wake up congested, coughing, and with my eyes swollen. I went to use the bathroom and the toilet clogged. I went to the front desk, asked for maintenance and the front desk clerk (not the same one who checked us in) told me she would have to find a plunger. She showed up at my room a few minutes later handed me the plunger and asked if I wanted to do it or should she. I moved out of the way and told her to have at it. The toilet should not have plugged and it took forever for her to get it unplugged. As she left I pointed out that it runs a lot and she said that happens, it would be okay in a minute. I decided to get my kids up to go eat breakfast. Breakfast was slimy, prepackaged hard boiled eggs; bread to toast; a few other items,; and watered down frozen orange juice. We went back to the room and the toilet was still running. We tried to use it, but it was broken, it wouldn’t stop running and now it wouldn’t even flush. I went back to the front desk and was ignored. The clerk spoke to everyone there, helped everyone, visited with people eating breakfast, and then when it was my turn, she walked away. We packed up and got out of there. I stopped at the front desk to drop off the key and let them know we were leaving because the toilet was broken. The front desk clerk was on the phone. As I walked up she swung her chair around, so I waited. Finally, after at least 3 minutes, she was still on the phone and she turned around and reached up to get my key. I pulled my hand away and told her the toilet is broken, we can’t use it. She then stood up, yanked the key from my hand and said, “Thank you, have a nice day.” We ended up going over to Wall Drug so everyone could use the bathroom! I have never stayed in a place with such terrible customer service. This place may be fine to someone else, but if there is a problem, it is ignored and no solution is given. If anyone there cared, there were other rooms available that morning, they simply could have offered us the use of another room to get ready. If they had done that, I would have left satisfied, but instead they chose to ignore us! They had our money..they didn’t care. Upon returning home, I called Super 8’s customer service department and filed a formal complaint. They were wonderful and every few days, one of the customer service reps would call me to see if the hotel had contacted me to offer some sort of resolution to my complaint. I was never personally contacted by the hotel, but I was told by customer service that I was being offered half off on my next visit. I refused that because I will never stay there again, but I said I would take a 50% refund. At that point I was told it would be turned over to a customer service manager who would investigate my complaint and contact me with a fair resolution. After the investigation into my complaint was completed, I was issued a 100% refund.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTrip4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerWall_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Wall, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Our deepest apologies to you and your family about your stay with us at the Super 8 in Wall. We aim to honor all of our guests’ requests and are very sorry that you had such an experience where your requests were ignored. Sorry, too, about the allergy issue. We try to use our clean-air machines and windows to better the air quality and are sorry that your health was so negatively affected. Our guests’ comfort and needs are a top priority, and we are sorry that your room temperature was not comfortable and your ground floor request was not at first met. Maintenance has been requested in regards to the room’s plumbing, and we apologize that you had to deal with such anz issue. The customer service you had in the morning is certainly not what we expect from our employees at all. Sorry your stay with us ended on such a note. We are glad to hear that the situation worked out for you in the end and you were satisfied. We really do care about our guests and hope the rest of your trip was more enjoyable. Pleasant Journeys, Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The hostess was very friendly & helpful.We stayed here one night & our room was comfortable & good value. The breakfast area followed the same theme as all Super 8s we stayed in & was very small. The breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerWall_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Wall, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We are glad you and your family had a comfortable stay and good breakfast with us at the Super 8 in Wall. Our goal is to give our guests a Super stay at a Super value. If you are ever in the area again, we would love to have you stay with us. Pleasant Journeys, Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cutlerville, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My wife and I had one room and sister in law another. both on the 2nd floor with a long straight stair, no elevator. Fear of falling the long stair while carrying luggage. The clerks were helpful and efficient. We enjoyed a very good morning breakfast with quick checkout. the room was clean

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opa1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerWall_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Wall, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Super 8 in Wall. Our aim is to give our guests a clean and comfortable place to relax and get refreshed. It is nice to hear that you had a good night with a good breakfast and convenient check-out to start your day and make it Super! Sorry that you were not notified about the back split-level staircase, and sorry about the lack of an elevator. A friendly tip is to call and request a ground floor room since not many of the small town accommodations have elevators. We hope that you stay with us again if you are ever in the area. Pleasant Journeys, Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
46.4 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#15 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
22.3 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Wall

Property: Super 8 Wall
Address: 711 Glenn Street, I-90 Exit 110, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Wall 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Wall
Wall Super Eight
Wall Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing