We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, nice people, nice place, great choice”
Review of Sunshine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Christiana, Delaware
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“WOW, nice people, nice place, great choice”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stopped on Sept. 2, 2013. I have travelled the road as a salesman for over 35 years and this is one of the best motel. The building and design are old, but the room is clean, the bed was firm, all the lights and TV worked, the shower will drown you in nice warm water and it is quiet at night. I never had an innkeeper stop my car in the morning and thank me for staying, until the SUNSHINE INN. We were on the road for 28 days from Delaware to Vancouver to Phoenix to Delaware. The SUNSHINE was the motel to remember. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thanks for staying and for the kind words. Calling the Sunshine Inn one of the best motels you've stayed in after 35 years on the road is a compliment that we accept with pride and commitment to maintaining the standards you so admire. Yes, this is an older property, built around 1980, but we scrupulously maintain it in tip top condition, make sure the rooms are immaculate, provide GREAT beds and keep all fixtures and equipment in perfect working order. Thank you for also noticing the excellent water pressure in our showers, which guests often comment about. As you note, we're a quiet place, several blocks away from the hub-bub of the interstate, yet just a short walk away from all of downtown Wall's great attractions, including the world famous Wall Drug Store. That I made it a point to make sure I thanked you for staying with us and insuring that all went well for you is standard procedure here. You can expect the same quality lodging as well as the "personal touch" whenever you're here. Hope to see you again sometime. Meanwhile, happy travels! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    123
    26
    7
    1
See reviews for
133
178
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mukilteo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We would have picked a chain hotel except that reviews here steered us to the Sunshine Inn. We were very happy with the price, the large comfortable room, its cleanliness, and the friendliness of the owner. A very happy find -- we'd stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thanks so much for staying at the Sunshine Inn and posting your "terrific" review here. We have always stressed value at our facility and welcome comparisons between us and the many franchised properties nearby. That you made the effort to locate us and give the Sunshine Inn a try is most appreciated. That you were impressed enough with the experience to share it on TripAdvisor is most gratifying. That you'd stay here without hesitation adds a third "most": you'd be most welcome. Thanks again for the kind words. Hope to see you again! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, South Dakota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My Mother and I have enjoyed staying at the Sunshine in each time we come to Wall. We have been coming every summer for quite a few years. It is so nice when people remember you! This is a very friendly, clean, and welcoming motel. I want to say that it is great for my Mom who is handicapped and uses a wheelchair. There is plenty of room for her to get around. Thank you for making our trip fun and we can't wait to come back next year! Sorry we missed you when we were there John.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbieh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thanks for your kind remarks. Wish I could have been there personally to greet you and your charming mother, but look forward to doing so again in the future. That you choose to return on a regular basis is the kind of endorsement that we at the Sunshine Inn most appreciate. "Friendly, clean, and welcoming" are the kinds of adjectives that make us swell with pride--and also challenge us to maintain the same high level of customer satisfaction that you receive and make note of here. Looking forward to seeing you again! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lottsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I (plus 2 dogs) travel between Virginia and Montana twice a year every year. South Dakota is a regular stop, but we have avoided Wall because it is . . . well, all about Wall Drugs. But circumstances sent us to Wall on this trip, and we were delighted with this little motel. Yes, it's small, the furnishings are dated, and there is not a flat screen TV in sight. But it is scrupulously clean and well maintained. The owner (John) was a delight. And, the beds were excellent. Most of the places we stay are eminently forgettable. But we will make a point of staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Having you stay at the Sunshine Inn was a happy circumstance indeed. Thank you so much for the kind words and for stressing our most important asset--"Value"--in your heading. That we're "scrupulously clean" and "well maintained" are attributes that come with a fair amount of hard work and a commitment to offering our customers the great night's rest that they seek. Our "excellent beds" (regularly replaced on a rotating schedule) are a most important component of that commitment. Thanks for mentioning them. I appreciate the kind personal remarks and must add that visiting with you was a special pleasure for me, too. Thanks for considering the Sunshine Inn to be eminently "rememberable" and making a point of returning. We'd be delighted to see you here again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Once again, I'm so glad we checked with tripadvisor when looking for a room in Wall, SD. The reviews were right... the Sunshine Inn is a great place to spend the evening. We arrived late, having ridden the Badlands loop with the full moon. (On a side note, all motorcycle enthusiasts should put that on their bucket list.) The location is perfect, the rooms were clean, the beds and linens were great and like most of the reviewers commented... John was a great host.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for staying at the Sunshine Inn and commenting here about your experience. In addition to the kind remarks about our lodging facility, your recommendation to other motorcyclists about the wonders of our region, particularly the Badlands, are most appreciated. I've experienced the same nighttime adventure in the park and agree that it is an amazing experience. Day or night, Badlands National Park stands out as one of Mother Nature's masterpieces. Thanks also for stressing the cleanliness of our rooms, the comfort of our beds and bedding linens and the friendly reception you got in our office. I couldn't have been more pleased to host you and your companions and certainly hope we get to see you here at the Sunshine Inn again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

While the property itself is nothing special--an older motor hotel--the attention paid to each guest by the owner and his wife make the stay here more than worthwhile. The owner helped us get our motorcycle trailer and car parked after our late arrival, and remembered us by name the next morning. The internet repeater system was not working the night we stayed, which was about my only complaint. The hotel is close to Wall Drug, the National Grasslands headquarters, and the Native American museum.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtmguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for staying at the Sunshine Inn and sharing your remarks here. We most certainly appreciate you pointing out the fact that personal attention is an important component of our service. Helping customers get situated in our parking lot when they have a special situation like a trailer is a common practice here, and we're glad you considered the stay "more than worthwhile" as a result. I'm somewhat chagrined by your comment about our wi-fi service, as I recall that you said nothing about it until the following morning, when of course it's too late for me to respond. Yes, our repeater at your end of the building became disabled during the night of your stay, a condition that was corrected first thing the following morning. Our excellent and powerful wi-fi signal has since been fully restored with no interruptions since that incident. A breakdown like this is extremely rare, the last one having occurred 4 years ago, per my maintenance log. We apologize, but would like to remind readers of your review that we could have easily accommodated your need for internet service. We have space in our office area for customers to bring their devices and either wirelessly connect or hook up to our router by landline, and we'd keep the office open until the customer is finished. Again, my apologies for any inconvenience--along with my assurance that good, strong (and free!) internet access is part of our service. Thanks again for the overall kind remarks. We most certainly hope that you'll give us another try sometime down the road. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Plains, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The Sunshine Inn is a family owned and run establishment located in Wall, South Dakota only a block away from the famous Wall Drug. It is a very clean, simple motel that has a very friendly staff who are anxious to please. They even remembered our names! The rooms, although small are freshly refurbished with basic amenities....and did I mention clean? Although not advertised, there is a continental, take-away breakfast. This was one of the nicest hotels in the inexpensive price range in which we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for staying and sharing your kind remarks here. We take pride in the "family touch" that we give to our property, where, as you note, were are "clean, simple and friendly." Also thank you for noting that our rooms are "freshly refurbished," as we have a regular replacement schedule for all of our furnishings and fixtures, making sure all is in tip-top shape. On the rare occasion when we have a mechanical malfunction, we can replace the unit in question within minutes. That you make a point of mentioning that we're "clean," not once, but twice makes all of us proud and committed to maintaining our strict housekeeping standards at all times. We also appreciate you mentioning our "quick start nook" in the office every morning, where we provide coffee, fresh orange juice and a variety of donuts and sweet rolls for guests to have on the premises or take along when they get on the road. We're delighted that you had such a good stay and would certainly love to see you again! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
162 reviews
22.4 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Property: Sunshine Inn
Address: 608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wall
#1 Family Hotel in Wall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 rooms approved by American Automobile Association, one block from Wall Drug Store, free Wi Fi, complimentary juice, rolls, and coffee in the morning. Clean and well-maintained, very competitive rates--locally and independently owned, with owner on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Wall
Sunshine Motel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing