We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great experience.”
Review of Sunshine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Another great experience.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Visiting Badlands National Park in June proved to be a wonderful experience. Contributing to this conclusion was the fact that we stayed, once again, at the Sunshine Inn for three nights. It's always nice to have an innkeeper remember you from previous visits. As always the room was spotless, the beds were very comfortable, Wi-Fi signal is excellent, and the quality of sleep was unsurpassed. My wife and I always feel safe when we stay at the Sunshine Inn. The rates are very competitive and you won't find a better place to stay while visiting Wall, South Dakota.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us once again and sharing your experiences here on TripAdvisor. We've always believed that repeat customers are the best endorsement of the quality and value that travelers can expect at the Sunshine Inn, so your numerous stays here count like a real vote of confidence to us--certainly the best possible feedback that the Sunshine Inn could hope for. I especially appreciate you noting that we have a strong wi-fi signal throughout the facility as I take great pains to make sure that all of our customers get good, strong, consistent internet service in every room. It's always a pleasure having you stay with us and we certainly look forward eagerly to your next visit. Thanks again! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    122
    26
    7
    1
See reviews for
132
174
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Ulm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. Recommended to us by our family members. The hotel is in a great location, right near downtown. Very nice and clean hotel. The staff is awesome also. Very friendly and helpful for anything needed. And all the ice you need. Coffee and snacks in the morning. Would definitely return to this hotel in the future and recommend it to others. Great place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wesfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for staying with us and providing such a nice summation of what we consider to be our primary assets: "great location . . . nice and clean . . . awesome staff . . . would definitely return . . . recommend it to others." As you can imagine, we're brimming with pride over your remarks. You can be sure that we'd love to have the chance to host you here again. You can bet that you'll feel the same way you did after your most recent stay. We intend to remain a "great place." Sure hope we see you sooner rather than later! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanton, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have stayed at the Sunshine Inn 5 times since 2006. This is a great place to stay. Whenever we are passing through we make it a point to stay at the Sunshine Inn. We love talking to the guy at the front desk. We are staying at the Sunshine Inn again this October 2014. Our favorite place to stay.
Your Alabama Fans
Roll Tide.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you and thank you again for staying with us 5 times! What a special endorsement of our "northern hospitality," especially considering that I've had so many wonderful experiences in your beautiful state of Alabama. I'm the guy at the front desk, and I can tell you that my wonderful staff, who clean and maintain the Sunshine Inn, make it a joy to talk to and get friendly with all our customers. It's easy to be personable when you're confident that you're giving the best in value and service! I'm looking forward to your October visit and getting caught up on how the Crimson Tide's football season is going--Roll Tide! See you in a few months. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is the place to stay if you want an overnight in Wall, SD. The owner is such an outgoing and caring person, with the customer at his every thought. First time there, and a great location to the Wall business district, including Wall Drug. I will again be staying here when in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santadan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for staying here and summarizing the goals of our operation at the Sunshine Inn in your one headline. Location, service and price are the three elements that make us Wall's best value when it comes to lodging. I personally appreciate your remarks about our outgoing and caring approach to management--yes, I'm the owner, but I can assure you that every one of our staff members has the same personable relationship with our customers. It's easy to be nice and friendly when we're confident that our facilities and service are the best in town! Thanks so much for staying here and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We hope we'll see you again and that we again get the chance to fulfill our promise to give you the best lodging value and experience in the area. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were just passing through this area on our way to Yellowstone and wanted an inexpensive hotel for the night. The price is so low that my husband questioned whether it could possibly be okay. I had read a review on-line saying it was super clean and friendly, but was still impressed at just how friendly and clean it was. It is a very basic, no frills room, but one of the cleanest I've ever stayed in. The bedspreads and curtains looked like they had been updated recently. We did not have the morning drinks/pastries as we ate at Wall Drug, so cannot comment on that. The woman at the front desk was friendly and helpful. It is a great location for visiting the Badlands and as a stop for a longer journey.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We're so glad you found your experience at the Sunshine Inn to be "fantastic," because that's just the way we want our customers to feel. Our VERY competitive prices are possible because we focus on functionality and efficiency. Add that to the natural price advantage that comes with independence from franchise fees and you can easily see why our deals are, indeed, fantastic. Thanks also for noting out furnishings and fixtures, which are maintained and replaced in a regular rotation, making sure that every room has everything in "just so" condition. Hope you'll come back soon and try the variety of treats, coffee and orange juice at our morning "Quick Start Nook"--a simple but satisfying combo of "pick-me-uppers" that are popular with our guests and help make for the "fantastic deal" that you experience. Certainly would love to share a cup of coffee with you the next time you're in the area. You can count on a warm welcome and another fantastic deal. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was great!!! My wife is a bit uptight when it comes to hotel rooms. She wants it clean! First thing she did when we arrived was to preform a "clean check" on the room. She came out and said "wow, this place is super clean!"
The owner was great and provided us a top off of ice for our Badlands trip. This hotel is a true gem in Wall, SD!!!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for the succinct summary! We strive to be "great," so to see that word come up TWICE in your review sure makes all of us here at the Sunshine Inn feel pretty good about ourselves and our operation. Of course, it poses a challenge at the same time: we have to live up to the reputation you so graciously help us maintain by giving us such a glowing review. You can bet we'll respond to that challenge the way we always have--with plain old-fashioned hard work, dedication and attention to detail. It's our pleasure to have our guests inspect their rooms before checking in. As with you and your wife's experience, we're confident that "super clean" is the impression they'll come away with. Thanks for staying here at the Sunshine Inn. We'd love to have you back! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I made my yearly trek to Wall, SD, and stayed at the Sunshine Inn. John (the owner) was again an outstanding host. He works hard to continually update the hotel, and it is indeed very clean and well kept. I slept well, and really enjoyed the coffee in the morning, while learning new things about the town of Wall, the surrounding area, and local history.

If you are going to stay in Wall, this is the best place to stay, and you can't beat the price. I think I have stayed in most of the establishments in Wall over the years, and paid a lot more money while being a lot less satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLE-Travels-a-lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks for the return visits. We're grateful that you choose to share your Sunshine Inn "experiences" here. I especially appreciate you noticing our continuing updates, which are done in a regular, rotating program that ensures each room has modern and well-maintained furnishings and fixtures. I'm also pleased that you make note of our cheerful efforts to keep our guests informed about Wall and the surrounding region, where history and natural wonders make for an amazing experience in this part of America's Old West. That you feel the Sunshine Inn is the best value among the many local hotels--most of the nationally franchised--only confirms and reinforces our belief that the Sunshine Inn is indeed the best deal in town. It also challenges us to maintain the high standards and great value that you regularly encounter here. You can be sure that your experience will be repeated the next time you come by. Hope that'll be sooner rather than later! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Property: Sunshine Inn
Address: 608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wall
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 rooms approved by American Automobile Association, one block from Wall Drug Store, free Wi Fi, complimentary juice, rolls, and coffee in the morning. Clean and well-maintained, very competitive rates--locally and independently owned, with owner on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Wall
Sunshine Motel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing