We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel”
Review of Sunshine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

First, the Sunshine Inn is a budget hotel, no frills. It was clean and comfort but very basic. The front desk person was really nice and helpful. The price did include a continental breakfast which was coffee and packaged snack cakes, so plan to go out for breakfast. The Wall Drug Cafe has a good breakfast buffet. The Inn is within walking distance to Wall so this is a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks so much for staying at the Sunshine Inn and sharing your experiences here. As your title notes, we're just the right place for "budget-oriented" (and who isn't, these days?) travelers. As I've noted in earlier replies, our customers can expect to save as much as $50 to $60 a night (based on AAA Tourbook rate comparisons) as compared to the franchised properties in town. We think our rooms ("clean and comfortable" as you note) are a great buy, which makes us confident that we're the "value leader" in the area. "Nice and helpful" certainly defines our demeanor at the front desk. Throw in our "walking distance" (one block) location to Wall Drug Store and all the other Main Street shops, restaurants and attractions and we're sure that all our customers will feel they got a great value at our little "budget hotel." Thanks again for staying ! Hope we see you again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Made reservations based on reviews, was not disappointed. Very clean room and John is so helpful and friendly. He keeps a freezer full of ice to fill your ice chest up. Great location to walk to Wall drug. Would stay here again. Very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for staying at the Sunshine Inn and giving us such a nice summation. We're all about value here, including making sure our customers get a good night's rest and plenty of assistance with their planning and specific needs--including all the ice they'd like, both for their rooms and ice chests. Friendliness comes at no extra charge! Thanks again for sharing your experience here. Sure hope we get a chance to host you again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed 4 days the 1st part of July. This was the first time my daughters and I stayed here. We each had our on room. All the rooms were very, very clean, beds were comfortable. The rooms were cleaned each morning but we actually asked them to forget us one day as we were in and out all day. Both the lady registering us and John during the rest of our stay were friendly and nice. John always had a smile on his face and called us by name whenever he saw us. Did not have coffee at the office as we had to walk to the Drug Store for a homemade pecan roll(words cannot express how good they are). When I return to Wall I will definitely be staying at the Sunshine again.

Room Tip: There are cabins which looked nice and had no room above. We had a groundfloor room and the nice re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Luann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thanks for making us your headquarters during your extended stay in Wall. "Clean and comfortable" are two of the most important words in the Sunshine Inn vocabulary, so you can imagine how proud we are that you took notice and mentioned it here. And thanks also for noting our friendly disposition. It comes naturally to us, especially when we know that we're delivering the best lodging value in the area. Hope to see you again--and next time, stop by the office and have a cup of our freshly brewed coffee! It's guaranteed to please, especially as I make it myself from a blend that I've developed over the years. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a motel, so no frills, but it is very clean, has comfortable beds and is $65 a night. John the owner is extremely nice and knows you by name practically when you walk in the door. We wanted to see the Bad Lands before going to the cabin we rented in Rapid City. This was a perfect option for a quick pit stop. If your expectations are correct, then you will enjoy your stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Irish2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for staying at the Sunshine Inn and giving such a frank assessment here at TripAdvisor. As you note, it's all about "expectations" here at the Sunshine Inn, and getting the "solid value" that you describe is something all of our customers can expect. As with you, we do everything possible to make sure those expectations are fulfilled. You can bet that you'll get the same results the next time you stay with us. Hope it won't be long before you do! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed in June. Had the 2 Room over the Office. Not fancy, Good and Clean! John was as nice and personable as reported by other reviewers. Convenient to Wall Drug! Although my wife did not go into the office to check in, when she went in to pick up a breakfast roll and juice he called her by Mrs. Wxxxxxxxxxx. Likewise with the wife of our traveling companions who did not go into the office during check in! You don't find that very often regardless of how much you pay per night!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thanks for staying here and for sharing your experience at the Sunshine Inn with TripAdvisor. Your forthright assessment is both welcome and encouraging. True, we aren't "fancy"--heck, we couldn't do "fancy" if we tried--but we work at being "good, clean and personable," as you note. Getting to know our customers by name and engaging them in some friendly conversation is what makes our business such a pleasure for us. That our customers show their appreciation--sometimes their amazement!--is really gratifying. We're so glad you took the time to note our friendliness here. You can be sure you'll get the same treatment every time you stop by--which we hope will be sooner rather than later. Good traveling to you! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We pulled in at 9pm, got a room no problem. Staff was courteous and friendly. Room was clean and well kept, beds were comfortable and clean. Quiet place to stay and very close to the attractions. They offer coffee and juice in the am and ice for your coolers, no breakfast though.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank phishrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Your review has all of our favorite words in it: "Courteous . . . friendly . . . clean . . . well kept . . . quiet . . . very close to attractions." Thanks so much for using them here. In addition to coffee and fresh orange juice at our morning "Quick Start Nook," we offer a variety of breakfast rolls, packaged treats and granola bars--all in keeping with our ultra-competitive rates. Our customers depart with a good night's rest in the kind of quality rooms you describe--and get off to a good start with our morning array of hot and cold beverage and variety sweet rolls and treats. Put it all together and you can see why we believe we're the best lodging value in town. Thanks so much for staying here at the Sunshine Inn and sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. Certainly hope we get a chance to see you again! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Simple, clean, effective. Rate was $30 less than a comparable room in Rapid City. Staff very friendly and courteous. Nice smooth parking lot. Very nice sheets on the bed. Rooms aren't huge, but hey, what do you need a huge room for when you're sleeping? You want ice? You got ice. You want a cup of coffee in the morning? You got coffee. You want something to eat in the morning? Grab a snack from the tray. Hell, grab two. No, you're not going to get a Belgian waffle, or a bottomless cup of concentrated orange juice, or cappuccino from the machine. You can get that crap somewhere else. Just relax, and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

And what's not to like about the summation of your experiences here at the Sunshine Inn? Your note that we are "simple, clean, effective" only reinforces our belief that we do "basic" well. Our customers save substantial money and get the kind of quality room you describe. As you ask, "what's not to like?" Thanks for such a positive review and for sharing it here on TripAdvisor. We sure hope you'll come back and stay with us again. We promise to be just as "simple, clean and effective" as you found us the first time! Travel well. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
180 reviews
22.4 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Address: 608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wall
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range: £56 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 rooms approved by American Automobile Association, one block from Wall Drug Store, free Wi Fi, complimentary juice, rolls, and coffee in the morning. Clean and well-maintained, very competitive rates--locally and independently owned, with owner on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Wall
Sunshine Motel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing