We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sobering Story”

Wounded Knee: The Museum
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Wall
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Wounded Knee: The Museum Located at 207 10th Avenue, Wall, South Dakota. Open mid-May through mid-September, seasonal hours, call for current hours
Reviewed 20 September 2017

I visited in mid-September 2017 and the museum was open at the location right next to Interstate 90. The exhibits - mostly placards - tell the heartbreaking and sobering story of the massacre of native Americans at Wounded Knee. Not a shining moment in the history of the United States... If you aren't familiar with the story, this museum tells a thorough story and should be required learning for European Americans who don't know the story. Also good that the admissions go to native Americans.

4  Thank oakleafm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"native americans"
in 15 reviews
"american history"
in 10 reviews
"story boards"
in 4 reviews
"heart wrenching"
in 2 reviews
"downtown wall"
in 4 reviews
"pine ridge"
in 4 reviews
"main street"
in 3 reviews
"massacre site"
in 2 reviews
"a small gift shop"
in 2 reviews
"history lesson"
in 2 reviews
"south dakota"
in 7 reviews
"admission fee"
in 2 reviews
"information"
in 25 reviews
"exhibits"
in 21 reviews
"sobering"
in 9 reviews
"tragedy"
in 6 reviews
"bury"
in 5 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

We visited this small museum in Wall, South Dakota this past September. It is now open after a fire and ready for visitors.
An admission is required, but it goes toward the renovation of the museum and Native American causes.
The story of this dark spot on our history is told with storyboards, pictures, and illustrations. It is a tragedy that needs to be shared with all people so that we never do it again.
The exhibitions are appropriate for all ages, and there is an excellent gift shop.

5  Thank IdaIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

This museum recently reopened after a fire earlier this year. It moved to temporary headquarters on 600 Main Street but is now back to its original building off the south side of main street abutting the interstate. My wife and I had mixed impressions, because there were no relics or collectibles, but it offered a very complete account of the events leading up to the massacre and an important stopover if you are going to the Wounded Knee monument, which is about 2 hours south in the Pine Ridge Reservation. I would recommend going simply because the admission fee supports the Native American resurrection effort and the memorization of the Wounded Knee tragedy

2  Thank Matthew Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Wonderful experience of the memorabilia of the Wounded Knee Massacre. Not sure if it has been rebuilt given the fire a couple of years ago however, and would be a great loss of artifacts

Thank Ena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We stopped by the Wounded Knee Museum, but despite when they predicted it would be open, it still was being remodeled, or constructed, or whatever. It was closed when we visited in June, 2017. It is right off of I-90, and I would have loved to have gone inside, but instead we drove to the Pine Ridge Reservation and visited a visitor center there, that was an excellent visit due to an amazing woman who spent well over an hour chatting with us, and teaching us.

Thank mrliterature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woundedkneemuseum, Public Relations Manager at Wounded Knee: The Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Wounded Knee Museum at Wall,SD will open August 22, 2017, our hours will be
Tuesday thru Sunday 10:00 AM MST - 5:00 PM MST
Closed Monday
Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wounded Knee: The Museum also viewed

 

Been to Wounded Knee: The Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing