We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Respite in the Bad Lands”
Review of Hillcrest Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Motel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The 1st time we stayed here I made the reservation over the phone and was just praying for a clean room. What a GREAT surprise! I have never been in a cleaaner room. Small cottage type rooms, away from the highway, VERY clean. Friendly staff, neat little shop and delicious homemade continental breakfast. Have now stayed here several time and am looking foorward to the next

Room Tip: Quiet, Clean, Friendly, QQuaint
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danmichaleis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2009

We were looking for something affordable for a quick one night stay as we traveled toward Montana. We had read the reviews and knew that this would not be fancy, but it provided a good night's rest, with comfortable beds and plenty of room for the 5 of us. This is an old-fashioned motel with separate little cottages. Our cottage had 2 rooms - the queen bed was in the main room (where the table and kitchen area was), and there was a double and twin bed in the separate bedroom. The cottage was clean and well kept. The bathroom had a toilet, sink, and shower without tub. The owners were exceptionally friendly and accommodating, and served rolls and coffee in the morning at the front desk area (no separate breakfast room). For the very affordable price of our stay, this was beyond what we expected. The motel was just a couple blocks from the main street, where Wall Drug is located. We would probably book a one night stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DebbieKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

i have stayed at this motel the last four years during sturgis bike week and it was a good time each year . it is nice and quiet . i stayed at one of the big chain motels by the hiway one year and all night long you can hear the freeway noise . i will keep going back there each year that i can and i will tell all my friends about it also . its very reasonable because you dont pay for all the frills the big chains have .

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldtimebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2007

We booked on line using Travelocity, and when we arrived at the hotel they had not received our booking. As the owner said "it was lucky it wasn't a week earlier in the busy season."

The room and bathroom were both clean and comfortable. The price we got was also extremely good. On the negative side the TV had only 2 viewable channels and I never found any wireless internet signal. For us neither was a big deal, but if they are for you then be forewarned.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2007

We stayed there with our son and nephew, two twelve year old boys. They loved it as much as we did. Very nice owners, very clean rooms. We will stay there again!

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank TattiKatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2006

We rolled into Wall, SD at midnight. The rodeo was in town so we had to drive from hotel to motel looking at the "no vacancy" signs. Then, we found the Hillcrest Motel and our prayers were answered. We were given a nice two bedroom cottage with a kitchenette! All the rooms are individual cottages so there was a lot of privacy. They don't look like much from the outside, but we were very impressed when we got inside! They rooms were immaculate, the air conditioners were working great, and the bed was comfortable. This would be a great place to make your base camp as you explore the Badlands and Wall Drug. The price was great too, although I'm not sure if we got a special deal for our one night and late arrival or not.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bugrunner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvie75Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wall hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.5 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Motel

Address: 412 4th Ave, Wall, SD 57790-6128
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing