We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, older motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plains Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have stayed here more than once. We travel with pets so it is important for us to stay at a pet friendly hotel, and this one does allow pets. The location is alos convenient as we travel through here twice a year. The staff are very nice and helpful, breakfast is OK, but I wish they would renovate some of the rooms, as they seem older and rather tired.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank GloriaD121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplains, Owner at Best Western Plains Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

thank you for your comments. We are trying to work on some upgrades to help make our place look newer and more appealing. Hope we see you again sometime. We use all comments to help us move on to better things if possible.

Thank you
Jackie
owner/manager
June7, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Selected hotel because it was pet friendly and appeared to be the best hotel to stay in Wall, SD. Made reservations on the internet for a king bed room. When arrived at hotel, was told that pet rooms did not have king beds so had to take 2 queen beds. Was told there would be a $20 charge for our small dog. Informed them that charge quoted on internet was $15. They did change pet charge to $15. Room smelled like disinfectant. This hotel probably was the best hotel in Wall, SD, but was a disappointment to us. Stayed in several Best Westerns in California, Montana and Utah that were so much better than this one. Did not eat breakfast or use indoor pool so unable to comment on them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MaryPoppins1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplains, Manager at Best Western Plains Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

I am so sorry that we were a disappointment to you. We try very hard to keep all our customers happy and comfortable. I am glad they fixed the pet charge for you so that it matched what you found on the internet. We are working to fix that now. Hopefully the rest of your vacation went well and you give Wall another try sometime again.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
June 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The handicap room is good but as u can see from heading there is no ada lift for the 2 pools or the hot tub. Have some stuff in weight room that is wheelchair friendly. staff are friendly. This is one clean place and nice

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jasper E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplains, Manager at Best Western Plains Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are currently working on getting a pool lift. I am so sorry if it cause an issue for you. We are glad everything else was up to your expectations. Come and see us again sometime.

Jackie Heathershaw
Manager
June 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

As many of you know from my reviews, I don't stay at motels. However, we were traveling from Keystone to the Badlands and wanted to be near the Badlands in the morning for the sunrise view. We stopped at Wall given the entrance to the park was just on the other side of the interstate. The only options in the area are motels so we picked this one. We arrived just past midnight and paid $100 for the room, which is pricey for a motel but this was on Memorial Day night so it didn't seem terribly unreasonable. The room was exceptionally clean with a good shower. Breakfast was included with the room but we opted to go into town. The rooms were quiet and the towels were decent. The only negative was the morning checkout where the clerk decided that it was more important to take a phone call than to collect the key - a thirty second transaction took 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplains, Manager at Best Western Plains Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

thank you for your comments. I wil lmake sure and mention to the morning clerk of your issue that occurred. We hope you come see us again in South Dakota.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager June 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Everything worked at this motel, the price was good, the room was nice, and the breakfast was great. Just stayed here one night, had to see Wall Drugs and we were moving on to Custer, SD.

Would recommend this to anyone, and would stay here again if I'm in this area

Room Tip: All rooms are about equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank produceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplains, Manager at Best Western Plains Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your comments on your stay. We hope you can come see us again sometime.
South Dakota is a great place to vacation. Let your friends know.


Jackie Heathershaw
manager
May 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The service at this place was not very friendly and the room smelled quite strange. However, the room was comfortable, large, with excellent internet connection. I thought the price of $100 was slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goop333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplains, Manager at Best Western Plains Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

I am so sorry to hear that our service was not up to par during your stay. My staff will be spoken with about this. We hope the rest of your stay went well and that you will consider coming to see us again.
Thank you for your patronage to our area.

Jackie Heathersaw
manager
May 27, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

For the price we were very happy with our accomadations. We were upgraded to a family room which when traveling with 3 adults was perfect even tho we had one bathroom. But because iit was a split bath it worked out perfect for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Patsie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplains, Manager at Best Western Plains Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

I am so glad we could do an upgrade for you. Our family rooms are quite comfortable and add a little privacy for families. We hope to see you again in the future and let your friends with families know about our larger rooms.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
May 23. 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.1 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
179 reviews
22.2 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plains Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plains Motel

Address: 712 Glenn St., PO Box 393, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wall
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Family Hotel in Wall
Price Range: £58 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plains Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plains Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plains Hotel Wall
Best Western Wall
Wall Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing