We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tacky motel in an awful place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Plains Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tacky motel in an awful place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were given a downstairs room when we asked for an upstairs one; we checked in at 4 p.m. which was not late. There must have been a couple of 800 lb. gorillas staying above us. We could hear them even through earplugs. There were flies everywhere including in the room. The bed was lumpy, there wasn't a refrigerator or microwave in the room. The room was clean which was very much appreciated. The best part about the breakfast was that they had a big bowl of yogurt. I would have preferred plain, unsweetened yogurt but I am probably in the minority.
I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplains, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are a small town with small town flavor. We hope the rest of your vacation went well.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
August 5, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    203
    91
    31
    18
See reviews for
246
199
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nothing special but it beat sleeping in a tent in the Badlands with tons of Mosquitos and 90 degree heat which was my other option. Staff were friendly. Place shows its age - dark, slow Internet, old mattresses. But it was clean, which scores well for me. I would stay here again if I needed a place while passing through. Subway across the street. Wall Drug, which did not impress, within walking distance. Don't expect a bargin, but nothing in the area is and it's definitely cheaper than Rapid City. I found it odd they were checking license plate numbers in the parking lot even before check out time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank dlpcyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplains, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Glad you got a chance to visit Wall. we appreciate your comments and will try to use them to help improve service to our customers. We hope we get to see you again sometime.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
July 28,l 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The room was very nicely decorated very and clean. Due to there wells, the water doesn't get cold, but plenty of ice. I could not stand the soapy taste of water, so bring your own to drink. The check in was good, the staff was very friendly & helpful. Small bathrooms, and beds not very comfy. Breakfast was so so, nothing special. Would stay again when in the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jayco4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplains, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate them all and try to improve things whenever we can. We hope to see you again in your travels.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
July 28, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is one of many hotels located in Wall SD for travelers on their way to Mount Rushmore. The check in was pretty quick and they do have a limited WiFi. The parking lot is not very big and they were filled with families and group travelers. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. They do have an indoor and outdoor pools which the kids loved. The breakfast is located in the pool area and had hot and cold food items. The lady on duty keep everything filled and clean. I think it's a little pricy but so is everything in this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplains, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
thank you for your comments. We like to hear what everyone has to stay. We hope you get a chance to come see us again.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
July 27, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRINCETON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I would recommend this hotel, as the rooms are spacious and clean. We enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool very much. Our stay was brief, as we were on our way to the Black Hills. Reasonably priced and includes a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplains, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
It is great to hear comments from our guest. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Wall is a fun place to stop by and we hope you tell your friends about us.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
July 24, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jacinto, CA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in Hotels until this Motel, but it was a very nice place. We thought it would be noisy, but it was not. It was close to Wall Drug, where we wanted to visit. It was spacious and clean and had the best breakfast by far.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplains, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Wall and with us at the Best Western. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again sometime.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
July 24, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very reasonable priced hotel with a great pool play area for the kids. Has in indoor pool along with an outdoor pool. Checkin experience was exceptional. Friendly Guest Service personal helped us switch to a room that suited us much better than the one we reserved on the Internet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank conniec758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplains, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Glad we could change things up for you and make it better. We hope to see you again sometime and tell your friends to come to Wall.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
July 24, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#16 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
22.2 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plains Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plains Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
Address: 712 Glenn St., PO Box 393, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wall
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Family Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plains Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plains Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plains Hotel Wall
Best Western Wall
Wall Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing