We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and adequate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plains Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable and adequate.”
Reviewed 30 July 2010

This place was generally clean and comfortable. The room was a bit cramped. There was a good internet hookup which is always important to us. The town itself is totally centered around Wall Drug which would probably be the only reason anyone would go there actually. There are several chain motels, so the attraction must be there. Motel rooms tend to be pricey for that reason. This one was fine, and we would stay there again in the unlikely event we ever stay in Wall, SD, again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbeauc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    227
    102
    32
    19
See reviews for
280
223
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Our 'NON-SMOKING" room smelt like a pool hall. It smelt like cigars and mildew. The carpet was damp/stained in several areas. We found 2 dead cock roaches next to the closet. The clerks at the front desk didn't know how to get to Wall Drug from the hotel. I believe the Best Western company president should go and spend a night there undercover. Perhaps then things will be fixed!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chattykangaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed one night after camping for a week. It was very clean and comfortable. The furniture and bathroom fixtures appeared new.
There are about 5 bistro tables in the very small breakfast area. The motel was full that night and so we had breakfast on the curb because the tables were full and no one was moving on. The food was your standard continental breakfast: toast, bagels, donuts, etc.
The pool was great but we were asked to leave at 10 am so that the pool could be maintained. Check out is at 11 and we thought that it was odd to close the pool when guests are still checked in. The pool could easily be maintained before or after pool hours.
It's clean, quiet, and comfortable - what else do you need in Wall, S.D?

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleofrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Great location, easy walk to Wall Drug, also near the Wounded Knee museum. Nice pool/spa and fitness room. Continental breakfast was better than BWs we've been in. Good doughnuts when we were there. Suggest reservations this place was full and was turning folks away. Room was clean and had a nice recliner in front of the TV which my husband loved. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We were very pleased with this motel. The town of Wall is basicly the Wall Drug Store.
The Plains is centrally located, clean. The rooms are nice sized, the beds very comfortable and I loved the 5 pillows. The included breakfast is OK. There were hard boiled eggs, pastries, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, some fruit, coffee, tea,cereal.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quilter534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
794 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

This motel is well located for visiting the Badlands. The facility was very well maintained, and our room had nicely been updated. The room was not large, but I don't expect large rooms in cold climates. The room was clean and quiet with a comfortable bed. Our King was a good choice, because we got a comfortable recliner instead of a second bed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTH DAKOTA
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Very accomodating service and room was very neat and clean. Swim area was very nice and accomodating for my needs. Excellent stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDCORKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.1 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plains Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plains Motel

Property: Best Western Plains Motel
Address: 712 Glenn St., PO Box 393, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wall
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Family Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plains Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plains Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plains Hotel Wall
Best Western Wall
Wall Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing