We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Watertown
Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just stayed one night at this hotel to visit my husband who is working in the Watertown area for a few weeks and had a fantastic time! My older daughters (8&7) loved the waterslide and pool and the area for the younger kids was perfect for my 3 year old. My husband and I were able to relax in the pool area for hours while the kids played. The pool area was also very clean and well taken care of.

The rooms were nice and clean with new carpet, bedding and TVs. Everything in our room was spotless. No fridge or microwave in our room (2 queen) but we didn't end up really needing it so that wasn't a big deal.

The breakfast area is very nice and they had one of the best selections for continental breakfast that we have had in awhile. The pancake machine was a huge hit with the kids!

Overall a very nice, clean hotel and if your kids are younger and love the water like mine, probably the best choice in hotels for the Watertown area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay_K_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    31
    16
    4
    9
See reviews for
42
11
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stopped here as a half-way point on a trip specifically for the indoor waterpark. My toddler twins are too short for the big waterslide but the kiddie section was perfect for them. And the water was heated which was a plus for Mom and Dad. The only complaint was that I noticed the teenage lifeguard seemed more interested in her iPhone than watching kids on the waterslide.

The hotel was full, but we did not hear noise from above or out in the hall all night, room was spacious, beds were great, bathroom was clean, and the continental breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

I was expecting too much...we had called ahead to find out if they had a waterslide and yes they did. Well we would only get there a little before ten - would it still pay. She said the pool was open till 11:00. We get there around ten and get ready for the slide only to find it shut off at 10:00 and so we asked about it and she said it would only go back on at 5:00 pm the next day. So we were hooped. This was the only reason we came here. It is a hotel that has been rebranded to a Holiday Inn Express. I am surprised that it qualified. It is has a vinyl siding look and is short on floor and wall insulation (can hear traffic above you and in the hallways), typical of the cheaper hotels. The hostess apologized for the waterslide not going for us but didn't do anything about it. The shower in the morning was cut short because the water was only lukewarm. If your at all fussy about pillows, bring your own if you are staying here, ours were lumpy and worn out. Breakfast was good - biscuits and gravy was something over and beyond what we were used to from other places. General impression of this place would be to make as much profit as possible without much regard for customers. Amenities page in the binder stated "refrigerators in the rooms" which was not in the room we had. You will be happy with this place if you don't expect much.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StakeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear StakeLover,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am glad that the breakfast served during your stay lived up to your expectations. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience the pool closure caused you and your family. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Watertown hotels

Midwest
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Watertown, South Dakota Holiday Inn Express! We found the hotel to be very clean and well appointed and considering the number of guests it was very quiet! Furniture was dated but clean and in good shape.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rushmidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobridge, South Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Was in a good location. The price was right. Room was clean and comfortable. The kiddie area at the pool was nice but the actual pool was freezing cold and the hot tub was scalding hot. The waterslide was a blast though. The front desk was courteous and helpful. They served a really good breakfast also.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakgypsies02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear dakgypsies02,

We appreciate you leaving a review on your recent stays with us. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. I am deeply sorry for any issues you have encountered.

We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. I will pass over you comments made to our Maintenance Manager in order to investigate further.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Regards,
Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I found the hotel to be very clean and staff freindly. The maids in the morning smile and say hello when you walk down the hallway. Maintenance guy was always saying to have a nice day. The only problem I had was with the free breakfast. The decaf coffee was luke warm each morning so I would mix in the full leaded stuff to increase its temperature. I have a wheat, gluten and dairy allergy. The scrambled eggs are awful. The mini muffins are stale (suppose they were left overs from earlier in the week, i know they had gluten - I was hungry and desperate). There was nothing on the food buffet that I could eat because it contained gluten and dairy. There was no fruit available either day. I mentioned this to the front desk and was told there should have been - would have been nice if they would have apologized at least. I did not use any of the facilities while staying there so I am unable to comment on them. I just rented the room to have a place to sleep at night while I was in town for a funeral. do not book thru expedia as they are more expensive. I just researched this. I was in a rush (had less than 5 minutes to book) and googled the hotel as someone had recommended Holiday Inn Express. I thought I was booking directly with the hotel and when I checked in found out it was thru Expedia. They are more expensive than hotels.com and other travel websites.

Room Tip: I asked for a room that would not face the highway as I am a light sleeper. The put me at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Roni L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Very poor experience. Hotel took advantage of the bad weather and overcharged us. The room was very minimalist, no refrigerator, microwave, or much of anything really. The "water park" is a complete joke. There is a water slide, however, it isn't open. There is no actual pool. There is a small kiddie play area and there is a wading pool and an small splash down puddle at the bottom of the slide. The wading pool was ice cold and looked brown. The hot tub was extremely hot and worked. Otherwise, the so called "water park" was terrible. At best the room was a $25 value, and I doubt it was worth that.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tryin2findhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear tryin2findhome,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room accommodations, and water park were not in line with your expectations. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Watertown
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown
4.5 mi away
Ramkota Hotel & Watertown Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 11 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Watertown
Days Inn Watertown
#3 of 11 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Watertown
Super 8 Watertown
#11 of 11 in Watertown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Watertown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Watertown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Address: 3901 9th Ave SE, Watertown, SD 57201-9104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Watertown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Watertown is home of the Terry Redlin Art Center, Mellette House, and the Bramble Park Zoo.Conveniently located near shopping.Gaming just minutes north of I-29.Watertown municipal golf course just west on hwy 212. Features include 140 ft. water slide with splash pool, sports pool, children's enchanted pool, large whirlpool and arcade. Winter Hours:September 1st thru May 31st Sunday 8 am to 11 am, Monday through Thursday closed, Friday 5 pm to 10 pm, Saturday 8 am to 10 pm. Summer Hours: June 1st thru August 30th Sunday 8 am to 11 am and 5 pm to 10 pm, Monday through Friday 5 pm to 10 pm, Saturday 8 am to 10 pm. Free deluxe breakfast, free local & 800 calls, free high-speed wireless and hardwired Internet access. Well equipped exercise room, meeting room, guest laundry, and business center. Located at exit 177 on I-29. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers 66 rooms with 24 suites and an elevator. Visit Watertown, SD and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Watertown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Watertown Hotel Watertown
Holiday Inn Watertown
Watertown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing