We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage in a lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
The Bright and Sunny Kitchen View from the Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
The Bright and Sunny Kitchen
View from the Kitchen
The Kitchen has 3 windows making it very sunny
The Twin Room Converts to Superking
Master Bedroom with Solid Oak King Size Bed
The Spacious Family Bathroom
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
21JMF54
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Atlantic View Cottage was a most comfortable home from home in a lovely location. From the tea and cake awaiting us on our arrival, Anne was a very welcoming host and provided helpful advice on what to see and do on the island. The cottage is very well appointed with the most comfortable beds and all our needs were provided for. The weather could have been better but this did not prevent us having a lovely week on this stunning island. Lots to see and do with much bird life in evidence. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, facilities, cleanliness, comfy beds
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Cottage in Exceptional Location for Coast & Wildlife”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

For those visiting Lewis to do coastal walking, wildlife watching or sea pursuits such as kayaking, Atlantic Cottage is absolutely ideal. Great Bernera is an island connected by bridge to the Lewis mainland and is one of the most beautiful and dramatic parts of the Lewis coastline (the skerries & islands off Bernera are really spectacular). Atlantic Cottage is right on the walking route round the island. The view from the cottage over West Loch Roag (pic.7) to islands such as Pabay Mor is equally stunning (listen on youtube to Doug Maclean & Julie Fowlis sing the song 'Pabay Mor' for a sense of the cultural significance of what you see). Lots of places to visit - Callanish stones, Dun Carloway - are very close too. And the cottage itself is modern, pristine and with excellent facilities, the owners are really knowledgable about the area as well as being very helpful. However, the greatest attraction of this place is the almost unbelievable widlife. Right in front of the cottage is a small sea loch. Lots of wildlife such as red breasted mergansers, herons and tufted ducks hang out there all day, but when the tide goes out, the bridge by the cottage (where water flows out of the sea loch, taking fish with it) attracts loads of birds and animals. If you're there 3-4 hours after high tide there are likely to be otters around as well as lots of different birds (several great northern divers while we were there). I've attached some pictures - these were definitely the friendliest otters we've ever encountered. In short, this place is far more than a cottage - it's a spectacular coastal and wildlife themepark that comes very, very highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseMcC...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

So hard to describe the property and location in words but amazing is a starter I guess. Pictures of cottage online doesn't do it justice and was very impressed with the cleanliness. The cottage had everything that was needed and a dishwasher was a great added bonus! Anne was great with providing lots of local knowledge for things to do. If you are looking for a place to get away from it all then I can't recommend Atlantic View highly enough. The beaches nearby were fantastic and there was plenty to keep us entertained the whole week. Overall top notch location and cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binger05
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to capture the feeling of Lewis and Harris”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed for a week, two couples including two small kids. The place has everything you need, well-equipped kitchen and a great living room plus the two bedrooms, one with ensuite. Great Bernera is a great place on the island, with its own little beaches and we found it a good starting point for our day trips. The owner Anne was extremely accommodating and helpful when it came to sourcing local food (scallops, lobster etc) and for any recommendations really. Would love to go back anytime to enjoy Lewis and Harris!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheenaWK
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautifully furnished, immaculate and exceptionally comfortable cottage in an idyllic location, perfect for a complete 'get away from it all' holiday.
My friend and I were there for a week of relaxation and didn't tour around much, but despite the short daylight hours, we did enjoy one spectacular day trip driving down through Harris to Leverburgh - and were surprised, at this time of year, to find so many shopping opportunities at various stops along the way!
I will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnonPanda
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the cottage. It was warm, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The fire was an added bonus in the dark autumn evenings. Although a lot of the island galleries and some visitor attractions had closed for the season when we visited, there was still plenty to do. Beautiful beaches nearby, which were all but deserted, and we saw lots of wildlife and birds. The location is idyllic. Very peaceful and it feels very remote, although the local shop is only a comparatively short distance away. The views of the sea and the surrounding landscape are worth a visit in themselves. Definitely a very special place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Fra...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived in the dark after the late ferry to Stornaway. The directions got us there even though this is quite a remote house. Anne had even left us a torch by the gate and had put in solar lights on the path that afternoon, knowing we would be arriving after dark.
Supper had been loving left in the warm house for us and Anne turned up within minutes to show us around.
We awoke the next morning to see ladders and paint scattered around the outside of the house, but also an incredible view.
Then the work men turned up and it was a quick rush to get dressed as they climbed ladders and began a days painting. Our relaxing day changed into a sight seeing day instead.
They turned up again the next morning, but to our relief, to just collect their scattered ladders and things and went off to do another job. Boy were we relieved!
Finally after 2 weeks of traveling we could now rest, take a late breakfast and head out on our morning walk in our own time.
Wifi didnt work at all. Anne mentioned it was slow but not one email loaded during the 4 days we were there. Could have just been the work men on the roof...but.
Also this house is on the road. Not a busy road i might add but had i of know, i would have booked the other house.
The house is warm, spacious and well appointed. Comfy bed. Beautiful furniture. Great fire.
A great deal of effort has been put into this property, but like all human beings, we are still learning. I had to clean the bath before i used it, but boy was it nice to soak in!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and warmth
Liked least: Workmen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing