We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise found.”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
The Bright and Sunny Kitchen View from the Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
The Bright and Sunny Kitchen
View from the Kitchen
The Kitchen has 3 windows making it very sunny
The Twin Room Converts to Superking
Master Bedroom with Solid Oak King Size Bed
The Spacious Family Bathroom
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
the jewel
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Paradise found.”
Reviewed 22 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

I had visited Lewis and Great Bernera on day visits during two holidays on Harris 7 and 8 years ago and I decided then that on my next trip I wanted to stay on Great Bernera and at Atlantic View.
The dream came true last week when my husband and I did just that, we enjoyed the most relaxing week in this beautiful cottage which feels so like a home away from home. Everything you need is thought of and it was a lovely place to return to at the end of each day. There was always something interesting happening out of the window or at the bottom of the garden where twice a day the incoming tide brought birds and fish and also otters which we were not lucky enough to see on this occasion. The kitchen windows are a lovely place to stand and admire the ever changing light and view. We travelled widely over both Lewis and Harris and it was lovely to return over the bridge onto Great Bernera in the evening to our own bit of paradise as we named it. I would recommend the cottage to anyone looking for a peaceful, relaxing break in a beautiful location - within easy reach of everywhere but with a very special feeling of being away from it all.
The photographs show the cottage, the view from the kitchen window and a lovely sunset from the cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonjRicha...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful holiday destination”
Reviewed 26 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Atlantic View Cottage is the most wonderful holiday destination. Beautifully furnished throughout, clean, warm it has all that you need - even some things you didn’t think you’d need - Anne and Chris are great hosts who think of everything!

After travelling for 1.5 days, we turned the final corner of our journey to be greeted by Atlantic View, bathed in sunshine and perched on top of a sea Loch with amazing views.

We received the warmest of welcomes from Anne, with a tour of the property and tips on what to see around the islands, as well as a lovely tea tray laid out with cake! In fact, Anne was super helpful from the point of booking to leaving the island.

Our primary visit was to see the wildlife and shake off the winter blues with some fresh air and walks. However, there’s so much more than that to see and do.

We were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights and a rare Astro phenomenon (Steve) from the cottage- as well as having many encounters and spots of local wildlife: deer, otter, seal and golden eagle.

If you don’t want to travel too far, there are great walks, sea birds and eagle to be seen from the cottage.

If you do fancy hopping in the car and driving around, the landscape is amazing and there is lots to see and do. The things we loved were: the Callanish stones, Uig, Aline Community Wood, Luskentyre beach, the Arnol Black Houses and RSPB reserve, Ness ( the lighthouse and Butt of Lewis), Loch Erisort, Uig Chessmen at Lews Castle,
Tarbet and the North Harris Eagle Observatory - a great short walk, with incredible views and not complete without a visit to the Harris Distillery for a jolly welcome and a drop of gin.

Everyone we met was kind, friendly, jovial and rightly proud of their beautiful isles.

We’d been to the Inner Hebrides a few times, but our experience on the Isleof Lewis and Harris has seen us already planning our next trip to explore more of these wonderful isles - whilst awaiting the ferry home in fact!

Worth the journey- the weather is mad (in a good way) and returning to Atlantic View after a day exploring was the icing on the cake!

Thanks so much Anne and Chris!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
781theo
2 reviews
“Very comfortable and cosy cottage on a stunning location, with friendly and helpful owners.”
Reviewed 14 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I spent 6 nights in the cottage in February, with winterly and sometimes challenging weather conditions. The cottage was really comfortable and I felt very much at home. The location is stunning, with many beautiful beaches in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul S
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcome to the edge of the world!”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The drive to the house sets you up perfectly for what's in store - dramatic, remote, enchanting, fascinating. Everything you need is in the house and it is SO well appointed and comfortable (and weather proof!). You an tell that the owners have a great eye for detail and quality. We travelled the length and breadth of Lewis and Harris during our stay and it was always a joy to return to Atlantic Cottage at the end of each day. Not many people can say they've driven over the Atlantic Ocean! Our only 'complaint' is that our host didn't arrange the Northern Lights until the day AFTER we left ;-) What a great place - thoroughly recommended.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N
1 review
“A Peaceful Cottage for that getaway break”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Atlantic View cottage was the ideal base .... quiet and peaceful yet within easy reach of the main roads for sightseeing The Isles of Lewis and Harris. The owners were very knowledgable and provided suggestions on where we might visit once we had explained our interests!! For those wanting to get away from it all.... this could be the cottage for you!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage in a Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This cottage is located on Great Bernera which is a small island off Lewis, connected by a Bridge, it has stunning views and is centrally positioned for all the main attractions of these stunning islands. We stayed in this cottage in 2013 for a week, and loved it, like (home from home), extremely clean, spacious, and well equipped for a self catering holiday, after which we decided to return to the islands for Two Weeks so we could once again enjoy the fantastic history, Walks and wildlife these islands are renowned for.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing