We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Oasis”
other travellers have booked this property
Lochan View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lochan View Cottage
Bostadh Beach Lochan View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Lochan View Cottage
Bostadh Beach
Lochan View Cottage
Master Bedroom (en-suite) with views over Loch Geal
Multi Fuel Stove
Beautiful Setting
Stunning Scenery
Callanish Standing Stones
Bostadh Beach and Iron Age Fort
Dining Room with 6 seat dining table and seating area
Twin Bedroom
Fully equipped Kitchen with Dishwasher
Dun Carloway Broch - built around the 1st Century BC
Bernera Sunset
Lochan View Cottage welcomes well behaved dogs
We are sure your dog will love the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
BigjonM
Cottesmore, United Kingdom
1 review
“An Oasis”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We've just returned from a week at Lochan. Wit four adults and 1 large dog staying in the cottage we found it spacious and comfortable, with all the equipment you could ever need. This made the cottage a real Oasis it a remote but very beautiful part of the world.

We liked : New large sofa in the living room, Good heating which keep the cottage cozy and warm, showers. The closeness to the beach so you can nip out of an evening to see stunning sunsets!

Many thanks,

The Mitchell's

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timmyD49
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent and comfortable stay”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Really enjoyed our time at the cottage with our Welsh Terrier Aoife - very comfortable and spacious- well equipped
Nicely situated overlooking the lochan- lots of birdlife on the lake + visits from the local sheep- We were fairly lucky with the weather- also saw Golden Eagles!

Loved the Outer Hebrides- this was a good spot to explore Lewis- really recommend:

Callnish standing stones
Arnol Blackhouse
A drive out to Uig sands and beyond to Mealasta
Port of Ness- Café Sonas
Carloway Broch.
Hebscape Gallery and tea room (near Tarbert) on North Harris.
Lews Castle grounds
Beautiful sunsets at Bostadh beach

Easy drive into Stornoway- excellent Co-OP supermarket with excellent butchers next door.

Cameron was very helpful and timely in responses when booking- also had a small problem with TV reception (Wimbledon was on!) but he very quickly arranged for that to be sorted.

Thank you!! (and apologies has taken so long to add review!)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful property in beautiful location”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a 550 mile drive to the property and every one of those miles was worth it. What a lovely property in a great location.
The property is fully equipped for every entuallity. We lost one day due to rain and it wasn't complained about. We sat at the table drawing pictures of the huge loch that is through the dining room window.
We managed to knock something off our 'Bucket lists' too while we were there - the northern lights. Wow. What a surreal but magnificent view. We went 5 mins from the cottage door and were in the middle of nowhere with no light or noise pollution and spent hours watching them. The beach just down the road from the cottage is stunning and tranquil. We went there twice and saw a maximum of 4 other people on the beach while we were there.
I would hugely recommend this cottage to anyone and have already shown most of my colleagues sending them the link. I will definitely stay there again and we are already planning the next trip for even longer next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's tranquillity and surroundings
Liked least: Nothing. Was a great place to stay. No negatives.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posie007
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lochan View Cottage is a great place for a trip to the Islands.
It is extremely well equipped & very comfortable.
There were 5 adults on our trip & it proved to be ideal for our needs with plenty of space.
The kitchen was particularly well equipped which was great for us as we ate in every night.
The cottage also has a large selection of games/DVD's/books to keep everyone entertained.
There are BBQ facilities & bikes provided too, as well as outdoor chairs to sit on the deck admiring the view.
Cameron's directions to the cottage were excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How comfortable it was
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage was spacious and well - equipped
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Midlothian, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Non applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Motherwell
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing