We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best holiday ever!”
other travellers have booked this property
Lochan View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lochan View Cottage
Bostadh Beach Lochan View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Lochan View Cottage
Bostadh Beach
Lochan View Cottage
Master Bedroom (en-suite) with views over Loch Geal
Multi Fuel Stove
Beautiful Setting
Stunning Scenery
Callanish Standing Stones
Bostadh Beach and Iron Age Fort
Dining Room with 6 seat dining table and seating area
Twin Bedroom
Fully equipped Kitchen with Dishwasher
Dun Carloway Broch - built around the 1st Century BC
Bernera Sunset
Lochan View Cottage welcomes well behaved dogs
We are sure your dog will love the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Gemma L
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever!”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Location was only a 40 minute drive off the ferry at Stornaway, don't follow your sat nav, it will take you on some dodgy road. Follow the owners instructions.
Arrived, and we were so taken back by the stunning location. So close to the loch, and there is a post office/wee shop just two minute walk away. Bosta beach is a short drive and it's amazing. Local highland cows freely wandering around beach areas. We loved Luskentyre beach and even the drive there is amazing. Cottage had everything you could possibly need, we brought a lot of food with us, but the Tesco at Stornaway isn't too far, and open good hours. We took a boat trip with Seatrek, which was fab. Next time we will do a longer one. Highly recommend the cottage, booking was smooth and hassle free, location perfect, nice fresh towels, washing machine, dishwasher etc, and your washing will smell great when it comes off the line.... A real treat for someone like me who lives in the city and doesn't get to hand washing out, lol. Dog absolutely loving his holiday too!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brewsters...
Scrooby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquil Haven”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely cottage on the banks of the loch. Great for watching the weather, good or bad, roll in from over the hills.
Cottage was spotless and has everything you need for a relaxing holiday in one of the best locations in the country!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea J
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing holiday home.”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week here whilst touring the Outer Hebrides. Was a great base although a little off the beaten track on the island of Bernera. (The island is easily reached by a small bridge)
The cottage is extremely well equipped with everything you could need for your stay. Also dog friendly with a safe garden for the dogs to enjoy.
Lots of walks around with the beautiful beach at Bosta only about 10minutes drive away where amazing sunsets and sunrises can be captured.
And a small village shop within walking distance which is good for emergencies if open!
Cottage could do with a few of the rugs being replaced as a little tired but that's just a minor mention in an otherwise lovely cottage. Also third bedroom quite small but still adequate for a holiday stay.
Overall lovely cottage with wonderful views over water and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
The photos are of Bosta Beach, the cottage and the relaxing decked area in the garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“delightful holiday home”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed in the property for a week with my Mother and Sister. The property was in a lovely quiet village. The property was perfect for a relaxing week away. It was exceptionally quiet, very well furnished, clean and very comfortable. The owners have done a wonderful job of providing a lovely holiday home for up to six people. Definitely a place I would recommend and a place I would love to visit again. An added bonus was that during our stay, we met many locals who were very hospitable and friendly. Within easy reach of the home are a number of very nice beauty spots, some within walking distance for a fit walker. The home is ideal for people of limited mobility, as everything is on one level

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: I liked everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SetteGram...
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent Family Holidays”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent one week of our family holidays in the cottage and had a great time. The kitchen had everything we needed for self catering and the DVD and CD collection made rainy days very comfortable. Sitting on the deck in the sun and watching the birds on the loch was very relaxing. We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebass489
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Chill time”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We planned a trip to lewis as a getaway from it all with our little pug. I was looking forward to a remote cottage where we could let our dog off the lead for some great walks. Unfortunately the cottage itself is next door to a church and community centre. The beach which is said to be at the end of the road is a 6 mile round trip away by foot. ( I know because we actually walked it). The garden was overgrown and full of other peoples dog mess, and the road outside is actually rather busy for somewhere remote and unless you have a well trained dog the garden is not ideal for them. On a plus side the cottage itself is of a good size and the kitchen is well stocked with equipment. The TV doesn't work and neither do the CD players but fortunately you can play the CD's on the TV. We actually made the most of our trip but wouldn't return to this spot again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well equiped kitchen
Liked least: Not as remote as I would have liked
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
I am really sorry that you had problems at the cottage. I wish you had informed us that the TV and CD player wasn't working and we would have had them fixed straight away - as they were as soon as we found out.
The garden is fully fenced in, the grass has just been cut and the garden is regularly maintained but I am sorry about the dog mess, this obviously should have been cleaned up and was clearly missed during the change over cleaning. Similarly to the TV, if you had informed us we would have been able to get it sorted for you.
As shown on the map on our web site, the beach is 2.7 miles from the cottage, but we have never claimed otherwise!
I am sorry that you found the church and community centre to be an issue, the church is a very small village church and usually only used for services on a Wednesday and Sunday but they don't tend to make much noise! and the community centre is generally seen to be a positive as it serves lunch during the summer and houses a small museum about the island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrietbo...
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Really comfortable property with everything you could need. Conveniently close to a great walking trail and lovely beach. Bonus points for it being dog friendly. Cameron made the booking and arrival so convenient. Thanks for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing