We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just yes.”
Northern lights as seen from the decking of The Ard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Northern lights as seen from the decking of The Ard
The Ard Holiday Cottage, Bernera, Isle of Lewis Bright, comfortable living room, 32' Samsung LCD T.V. with Sky,  aga multi-fuel stove, payphone.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Northern lights as seen from the decking of The Ard
The Ard Holiday Cottage, Bernera, Isle of Lewis
Bright, comfortable living room, 32' Samsung LCD T.V. with Sky,  aga multi-fuel stove, payphone.
Open plan Kitchen and living room with spectacular view to sea
En suite double room with King size bed, fitted wardrobes, bedside tables and lamps, tv, radio alarm
Twin room with  2 single beds with Kaymed Spinal Support mattresses*, fitted wardrobe
Bathroom with Whirlpool bath (8 base jets, 5 side jets, 6 back jets, 2  foot jets and 7 colours).
Tiled En suite  with enclosed shower cubicle, wash hand basin, toilet and heated towel rail.
Patio doors leading out to decked area where you enjoy the spectacular view out to Loch Beag
View from The Ard Holiday Cottage Kitchen & Living room
Northern Lights as seen from The Ard
Bernera Bridge built in 1953, the bridge was the first pre-stressed concrete bridge in Europe.
Standing Stones above Bernera Bridge
Little Bernera lies between the sea lochs of West & East Loch Roag
Bosta Beach is made from sparkling white shell sand. This  beach is approx 3 miles from The Ard
The Old Hill, Bosta Beach Bernera
Iron Age house at Bosta Beach
Callanish Standing Stones - rows of large pieces of Lewisian Gneiss arranged in a cross shape.
Lews Castle & Wicker woman under the stars
Garenin black house village
Dun Broch
Butt of Lewis
Town of Stornoway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
formuladi...
formuladick
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just yes.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Yes. Everything a
We found was exactly as described by Norma, and just confirms all the positive notes listed by other posters.

Firstly, the house was lovely. It had all the usual requirements (bed, roof etc) but also had more mod cons that I haven't thought I would ever need, but after sampling for a week I might have to upgrade at home. The spa bath was brutally relaxing, the Sky HD ( the last holiday cottage I rented in 2009 couldn't even receive Channel 5!),

It was spotlessly clean, plenty of space (although only 2 of us there, the space would easily accommodate the 4 that is it advertised as). Very warm, and although in June you would not expect otherwise, the wind did get up a couple of times.

The location was very quiet, the most noise coming from the local sheep during the daylight hours. Only a very few cars seen at all, and even fewer actually moving.

The house was a perfect base to explore. Botsta beach is about 3 miles away, and certainly walkable.

If you want peace & quiet with stunning landscapes, scenery and beaches, but with a cosy space to relax at the end of the day - I can certainly recommend The Ard.

Many thanks Norma, and look forward to returning in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H
1 review
“A Taste of Island Life”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Excellent location on the island of Great Bernera. Handy for the touristy bits (Callanish, Carloway Broch etc) but also as quiet as it gets. Sit out on the balcony on a calm night & it's heaven listening to the cuckoos & watching the wheatear hopping around.

Bosta beach (3 miles away) on a sunny day is a small but spectacular beach, with an Iron Age House well worth a visit (your clothes will be smelling of the wonderful smoke from the peat fire for days!). The round trip walk to the beach along the coast was another highlight.

House& host very pleasant - can recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyjink...
Shavington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stylish and so comfortable, in a perfect location.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a week in May staying at Ard for the last part of our adventure on The Western Isles, and what a wonderful house it is! We were able to indulge in comfort and warmth inside, when the wind and rain outside dulled our spirits for more fresh air! We were happy with the adventures found on the book shelf after a late breakfast on a couple of days, but then, rested and enthusiastic once more, we continued our search for new experiences, leaving no stone unturned! If you like history, and walking on beautiful deserted beaches, there's lots of both, and no better place to stay than Ard. Norma is very welcoming and the house is delightful. Fresh scones on arrival were super and gave a warm, friendly welcome to this remote spot. Loved it, thank you Norma and family.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Bakewell
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great base from which to sample island life”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We received a warm welcome from Norma - we appreciated the lovely scones and she had lit the wood stove. We all enjoyed our stay in this quiet and remote small community, despite adverse weather. We found out lots about life on these islands - the local museum in the community hall is a good place to visit. Now we know about lobster ponds, Norse mills and lots more. The replica Iron Age house at Bosta beach is a must. We were also pleased we found the workshop of Sallie Tyszko, tapestry artist at nearby Tobson.
We were always comfortable and warm at 'The Ard' and enjoyed the views from the large picture windows. Sky TV and WiFi much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott97
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely house in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a wonderfully relaxing holiday at the Ard. Welcomed by home baked scones and Prosecco to an immaculately clean house in a peaceful setting with lovely views. Lots to do and see with helpful info on hand in the cottage. Norma gives personal attention to detail which makes all the difference! Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccabe...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect, perfect, perfect”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A wonderful place to stay, I can't fault it.
We have stayed at many self catering cottages in the UK and The Ard is by far the best.
Everything you could need is provided and the attention to detail is outstanding. It really felt like a home away from home.
Norma was the perfect host and a lovely lady and was there to greet us with a fire already going making it feel even more cosy.
there were warm freshly baked scones, jam and bubbly waiting for us too which was such a lovely touch.
The cottage was really clean, the bed was really comfortable and the bath was great, especially after a long day of walking.

Location wise The Ard is great, the view from the living room and kitchen is stunning and was the perfect place to watch the sunset and it was lovely to watch the birds and lambs and their mothers.Bosta beach is a must

i couldn't recommend The Ard highly enough. we really didn't want to leave and can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The landlady and the view
Liked least: Going home at the end of the holiday
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing