We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hebridean heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage on the Croft in rural village - stunning views. Central heating  No oil or electric charg
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage on the Croft in rural village - stunning views. Central heating  No oil or electric charg
Living room with wood burner, leather sofas and loads of island based books. Bedroom with king size four poster bed.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Cottage on the Croft in rural village - stunning views. Central heating  No oil or electric charg
Living room with wood burner, leather sofas and loads of island based books.
Bedroom with king size four poster bed.
One of the two bedrooms with 2 single beds, all bedding and towels provided. Country cottage feel
Kitchen, dishwasher,home laundry, microwave, fridgefreezer - with your welcome pack on the table .
We have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor
We send you our tourist/vistor map and info pack to help you organise your holiday before you come
Sun set at Bosta Beach - golden sands - pure delight you will go far to find a more romantic spot.
Bosta daytime - site of Neolithic round houses 'Beaker Period' settlement
Iron age reconstructed earth house built on site of real iron age village site - still visible
The Bosta tidal bell - rings as tide come in and out very spooky esp at night.
Bosta beach bell close up
Two local cows think about going in for a dip!
This is the sea shore at the bottom of the croft great rock fishing. There is a rod in cottage.
The Bridge at Valasay walk over the Toab Loch an ideal location for seeing seals. Great rock fishing
The bridge to Bernera with its standing stones - There is also a Viking Mill and Fort on Bernera
Standing Stones of Bernera reflect the major stone circle  site at  Callanish ( 30 min drive)
Edge of the village looking back to Lewis
This is the view over to Little Bernera with its  deserted beach and old church yard. Boat trip.
Yet another Bernera fresh water loch. Fishing for trout on Bernera is great fun.
Bosta beach view over to Old Hill - golden sands ideal picnic spot. Iron age house opned in summer.
The Lewis Chessmen - Uig Beach - this is where the carved Viking chess set was discovered.
Cheer Up -Cheeky chops !!!!! this is the king - other wood carvings seen  at ferry and airport
Traffic congestion - Lewis style - no need to be in a hurry.
Statue to the herring girls of Stornoway who made Stornoway famous.
Lewis Castle  refurbishment in process -  hope to open next year.
Sunrise at cottage Feb 2015
Looking back to Lewis
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James A
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hebridean heaven”
Reviewed 5 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

What a fantastic place to stay,everything you need supplied, great location peaceful,quiet, welcoming pack from owner Callum on arrival typical Lewis hospitality, great neighbour with duck eggs on hand to welcome you as well,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2018
Cheers James thank you for coming to us
Moran taing
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janethoms...
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Thank you to Callum for a fantastic stay. A big thank you to neighbor Claire for the duck eggs and her welcome. The cottage had everything we needed & welcome pack was a lovely touch. We loved Bosta beach, our dogs Brèagha & Robbie also loved it there. We met some lovely local people ( lady at No2) & the lady at the Iron Age house was fantastic.
We would love to return again. Thank you Jane & Neil.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2018
thanks for lovely comments glad you enjoyed the holiday

Moran taing

Calum
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, peaceful, beautiful holiday cottage”
Reviewed 5 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This was our first visit to Great Bernera and it didn't disappoint! The cottage is located in the most stunning setting with great views to sea and lochs. It was a really well-equipped cottage with lots of unique charm and character. We loved the four-poster bed and it was soooo comfortable! Slept really well. You will relaxed and in Hebridean time mode during your stay. You definitely need your car and watch out for the sheep and all the rabbits! Calum and Ann are the most welcoming hosts - very thoughtful and attention to detail in cottage is superb. Due to storm Hector we had to cancel boat trip to Little Bernera with Malcy MacDonald. We will return though and look forward to boat trip next time! Cannot recommend this wee gem of a cottage enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D
2 reviews
“Quiet and peaceful, just what we wanted.”
Reviewed 31 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Very friendly and welcoming host, very well equipped cottage. We didn't really expect to see eagles on Lewis but were rewarded with some excellent sightings. Topped off the week with an otter on the Friday, stood watching it swimming in and out of the seaweed for ages. We were fortunate to have good weather but the cottage is well stocked for indoor use in any case.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Apr 2018
thanks for that you were great guests
Moran taing
Calum and Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rosemary...
1 review
“Excellent holiday cottage”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

One of the best, if not the best, holiday cottage I have ever stayed in. It was warm, clean and comfortable with every need catered for including a generous welcome basket of goodies, toiletries in the bathroom and even a pair of binoculars to view the wildlife. The scenery was lovely with 360 degree views and it was so peaceful. We were very lucky with the weather and enjoyed spectacular night skies and one amazing sunset. A very memorable holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisElli...
york
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We were very happy with our stay and always looked forward to getting back to the cottage. It was very roomy and had excellent equipment which ensured we cold cook and wash. Spotless bathroom and lovely towels. Great wood/peat burner kept us warm. Post arrived next day from york. Wonderful bird watching. Red and black throated divers, Golden eagles and merlins locally. Great base to see the standing stones at Callanais and the Iron Age house at Bosta. Bosta beach had turquoise sea to die for But the sea was not very warm.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
thank you chris it was very nice to meet you.
Moran Taing

calum
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing