We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property
The house, the loch and the sea beyond from the hill opposite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house, the loch and the sea beyond from the hill opposite
The open plan living area The living room in winter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The house, the loch and the sea beyond from the hill opposite
The open plan living area
The living room in winter
The dining room
Kitchen
Front door
Secure store
Downstairs bedroom 1
upstairs bedroom 2
Upstairs bedroom 3
Upstairs shower room
Downstairs bathroom
House from across the loch
Little Bernera
Bosta Beach
Bosta Beach
Iron age house at Bosta
Stornoway looking quaint
Northern lights from Bosta beach October 14
Bernera standing stones with Bernera bridge behind
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
petensue2...
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Brilliant”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for somewhere in a remotish location, with good views, but that was comfortable, with everything working, to come back to after long days exploring. We hit the bullseye! Loch View is a perfect home away from home. The house itself is very comfortable and modern with every detail carefully considered. It has a sophisticated heating system that meant it was always pleasantly warm inside, no matter the conditions outside. The kitchen is well-equipped and has everything you could possibly need, and the bedrooms very spacious with plenty of wardrobe space and views over the loch – a great start to the day! The location is fantastic. The house is nestled into the beautiful, Hebridean landscape with views over the loch, where geese paraded their new goslings, and it was also a comfortable walk to the exquisite Bosta Beach. We will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Ashwort...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern luxury amongst ancient beauty”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Loch View as a family during the Easter holidays and enjoyed a truly wonderful holiday.
The house is situated in a remote part of Lewis and offers a peace and tranquility that you won't find in many other places, the silence only broken by the sounds of nature.
Loch View is not your average British holiday home. It is carefully designed to offer light, space, warmth and comfort, and is set sensitively in the rugged Lewis landscape.
When we first entered the house we wouldn't have been surprised if Kevin McCloud had popped his head around the corner and offered to show us around this 'grand design', with its double height seating area and huge windows overlooking the loch, perfect for watching the sun set with a glass of wine in the evenings.
The owners have thought very carefully about the comfort of their guests and provide one of the best equipped kitchens I have ever used, a real home from home. The beds were very comfortable and we slept soundly every night. The locally produced extras - the hand soap and tweed accessories, also made Loch View that little bit more special.
The Hebrides is known for its changeable weather, and on the two rainy days we had it was lovely to spend quality time together with no hint of cabin fever setting in.
The owner, Sally, couldn't have been more helpful from the first enquiry until the end of our stay, and offered us helpful tips on making the most of the area she knows and loves so deeply.
We highly recommend Loch View!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen C
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We throughly enjoyed our stay. The house is stunning. Fabulously designed, great kitchen space with everything you could possibly need, all the bedrooms are a good size, beds are very comfortable. The view is beautiful and a joy to watch as the weather changes. A very peaceful location. I didn't want to leave.
Sally was very responsive to any messages prior to our trip and even telephoned the house to make sure all was ok for us during our stay.
I would highly recommend this beautiful home and if I come to the island again I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzF83
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful, tranquil holiday had by all.”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed with our two children over the October half term break. The owners were very accommodating, they stay in England but called to greet us and make sure everything was OK. They also arranged someone to wait for our Tesco food delivery.
The house was wonderful and had absolutely everything you would need for a self catering holiday. The peace and quiet was great, however, if you're a city dweller it takes a couple of days to get used to.
We all had a great time in Lewis exploring the lovely beaches, Our only complaint was ony staying for one week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beds, fire, soap
Liked least: only staying for a week
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AACK7
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Faultless house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The house is beautifully designed, built to a high standard and furnished in a modern, contemporary style. It's obvious that a great deal of consideration has been given to how it is appointed so you want for nothing. The views are gorgeous and the location is perfect if you want true isolation; it's also really well located to access all areas of Lewis and Harris. I'd have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrantIMac...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house in a stunning location”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a great week staying at Loch View on Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis.

The house was fantastic - modern, spotlessly clean, very well appointed and in a really great location - just 45 min from Stornoway. Everything was there for a lovely stay and we loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful house and location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan P
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A magnificent house in a remote Hebridean location.”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Loch View is a fabulous house on a remote Hebridean island. Every detail in the property has been considered and we had a perfect stay. If you are after peace the house and surrounding area are where you can find it.. The owners were extremely helpful during the booking process and throughout the stay. This was a very special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and it's setting.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing