We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Popular Restaurant and a Great Meal”

Murdo's on the river
Ranked #5 of 62 Restaurants in Yankton
Cuisines: Healthy
Restaurant details
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Popular Restaurant and a Great Meal”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had seen this restaurant reviewed on "tripadvisor" as we were preparing our itinerary for our travels to visit family throughout South Dakota. It turned out to be a great choice in the Yankton area. Although the dining rooms were full and the place a bit noisy, the service was wonderful, prompt and very friendly! The food was delicious, with a nice variety of fish, shrimp and steaks on the menu. We live on the East Coast and the preparation of the fish/shrimp were on par with what we are used to. There is a full bar from which to enjoy a favorite libation. The prices are good and the food plentiful on the plate. There is also a very nice deck on which to dine overlooking the Missouri River. Our next trip to SD will definitely have Murdo's on the River on the list of places to enjoy a great meal. Sadly, they are not "open" for lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Do You Love Great Fish?”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our second visit to Murdo's - we visit family in South Dakota and when it's a special occasion we always dine at Murdo's to celebrate. The atmosphere is festive and rustic, the wait staff friendly, efficient, knowledgeable and make the visit one to remember. Their specialty (at least in my estimation) is fish but my partner had the pork chops and absolutely loved it. They have a nice drink selection and the prices for food and drink are very reasonable. The place is always packed with diners and special event attendees. They have a lovely patio that fronts the Missouri river. Next time you are in the area, dine at Murdo's, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 182jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankton, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Service”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Prime rib was great. Tasty, well seasoned and tender.
Salmon was great.
Walleye was a little tough but still good.
Onion rings and fried zucchini were best we had in a long while.
The place was very busy but we never had to wait for drink refills or for our server to check on us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rcaruana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Murdo's on the river”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Murdo's has a nice location. In summer, ask for a window overlooking the river.
Food here is pretty consistent. Good burgers and steaks. Service is adequate; sometimes slow but friendly.
It would be nice if they were open at lunchtime.
The restaurant can be a bit noisy when crowded.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a restaurant that is decent. The servers are friendly and the location is nice. The food is average. The fried walleye was the best part. But everything else was good, just not great. Overall the experience was fine and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBigQueenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murdo's on the river also viewed

 

Been to Murdo's on the river? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing