We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In serious need of TLC”
Review of Eagle Cove RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eagle Cove RV Park
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“In serious need of TLC”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Six years ago when BBC opened it was amzing....fast forward to the spring of 2013 and disappointment all around. From the minute you enter the camp ground you can see neglect. The camp sites are overgrown with weeds and ruts and make leveling your camper nearly impossible. The pool area was also over grown with weeds and the pool looked filthy. There is no longer a camp store or an onsite manager. The flower bed around the camp store used to be in award winning condition...not any more. It is a weed bed full of ant hills. The bath rooms are in horrible shape...one of the shower stalls didn't even have a shower curtain...go to the dollar store and buy one for $2! The garbage cans did not get emptied until Sunday morning when everyone was leaving. Also, if you love to use toilet paper bring your own. My wife and I actually took some lysol wipes and clean the toilet seats and counter tops before using the bathroom. The bottom line...if you can tolerate filth and neglect then your all good...But for the price...NOT WORTH IT! Oh yeah the River is still amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Black Bear Cove "Resort" is actually a trailer park ("RV Park") with a few furnished rooms in a dilapidated old social hall. I give it an average rating, and that is a little gracious. The rooms were worth...maybe $60 a night but not a penny more. Our price was $100. Glad we only got took for one night's stay. The bed slept good. The room was clean and neat. No heat and the fireplace didn't work on a chilly October night. Bathroom was fine. Gomer the Manager just didn't seem to give a flip whether you liked it or not. While the grounds were reasonably maintained, the main building where the rooms are located feels like it's been abandoned. Very odd feeling to the place. Keep in mind this is NOT a B&B. If everything else is full within a 30 mile radius, I might stay here again as a last resort. Otherwise, find a real B&B someplace else.

Room Tip: Go for the cheapest one since they are all way over-priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

It's am okay place to stay, probably won't be back. There is no form of barrier between you and your neighbor. When it seemed pretty full it was intrusive. little high price compared with some of the other campgrounds closer to the ocoee Whitewater rafting, they do have a,pool which is what sold me on staying here. The distance isn't too bad, but of course you don't want to drive a bunch while your camping, from the Whitewater rafting, about 20 min.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jsallis906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I rented the "Honeymoon Suite" for 2 days back in September. When we got there we found that the gas fireplace was out of commission and also that there are no controls for the heating/ac unit in the room. (Controlled by the main lodge for all the rooms.) When we tried to use the jacuzzi the knob fell off and started to flood the room. The walls are so thin that they even have signs telling you to be quiet and turn off the tv at night. This place is a joke. When we tried to leave the inbred manager was very rude and refused to give us a refund. He said that the owner had to do that and would not be in until Monday. I called for a solid week after leaving and the owner would not return my calls. I finally issued a dispute with Citi Financial and they did a charge after investigating this shady business. I got my money back but it took me 3 months. I will never stay at this joke of a "resort" again.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringgold, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We had a fantastic time camping. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant. The campsite was quiet and the views were beautiful. It was great to be able to walk to the river. We played volleyball in the sand court and swam in the pool. The shower and restroom facilities were very clean.

Don't pay attention to any of the negative reviews. They obviously haven't camped in some of the other local camping areas or visited some of the campsites where you would just as soon jump in the river as take a shower there.

We had a terrific time. Thank you. Blaylocks

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarose63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The place was clean is about all the good I can say. You get the feel as soon as you drive up that something is not right. No one is around. As a previous review states, we saw no staff except the guy who checked us in. The door to the office, entrance to the building was locked on our arrival, which was about 2pm. We had to phone the # to get him to open the door to check in. He was there but had the doors locked and his car parked in the entrance of the lobby the entire time we were there also. No luxury dining here as advertised, or any dining, no microwave, and no mini-fridge. The walls are thin, you hear everything. The door on the bathroom scraped on the floor when opened and closed. The hot tub dripped , the coffee pot and hair dryer didn't work. The commode which was black oval shaped had a round white seat (very tacky). The lights from out on the porch shines through the windows at night keeping part of the room lit up. The lights at the entrance along the drive are all out or just turned off. As in another review there is a large hole with a barrel in it in the parking lot. Lots of trashy junk on the porch around the side of the office before you get to the parking lot. I would in no way stay here again or recommend it . It was priced at $200 a night and have stayed in motels much nicer at $79. Be careful and know what you are getting with this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hop-sing11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My husband and I booked a two night stay in the lodge during the Memorial Day weekend. The resort is certainly situated in a lovely area and the views are wonderful. The lodge is very luxurious, but it seems strangely neglected. Upon our arrival, we could not pull into the covered arrival area because another car was parked there... no problem, another guest, we assumed. Except that the same car remained parked in the arrival area for our entire stay, Saturday afternoon through Sunday night and was only relocated on Monday morning when we left. We assume that it is owned by the rather unprofessionally dressed, but gruffly friendly gentleman that greeted us in the lobby after a 15 minute wait to check in and was the only staff member that we saw our entire stay.

We continued to run into this strange mixture of luxury accommodations and neglect. The small common room with cozy couches and chairs for the lodge guests had a 10 foot ladder in the middle and a mattress pad (dirty, clean?!?!?) wadded on one of the couches for our ENTIRE stay. We were also informed at arrival that the restaurant advertised on the web site was not available. Our room was very nice, but the bathroom was supplied with travel sized dial soap and pantene shampoo. The walls were VERY thin... not a great place for a romantic get away, we heard everything in the rooms next to us.

We also discovered, upon returning to our room the 2nd day of stay, that no housekeepers visit to make up the beds or replenish the towels and were told by the gentleman at the front desk that they only do this by request.... fine, fine, but we paid $150 per night for a LUXURY get away! No mini-fridge, no restaurant, no housekeeping! At the rear entrance to the lodge room walkway, there was a large hole in the asphalt that was apparently not recent (2-3 foot weeds growing out of it) with an empty ten gallon drum and hazard cone in the hole leaned into each other to warn guests.

Overall, our weekend was nice and our experience at the lodge was not enough to ruin our time. We were simply disappointed that a place that is advertised and priced as a luxury get away was so lacking in the small things that make a stay truly a luxury. We would recommend Black Bear Cove if it cost $60-70/night, but it is massively overpriced at $150.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank J3ESW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Eagle Cove RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Cove RV Park

Property: Eagle Cove RV Park
Address: 5842 Highway 30, Benton, TN 37307-4734 (Formerly Black Bear Cove Resort)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Benton
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Benton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Cove RV Park is located in the mountains of Southeast Tennessee in the Hiwassee and Ocoee River Basins, northeast of Chattanooga TN. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Bear Cove Hotel Benton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing