We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hands-off owners”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Eagle Cove RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eagle Cove RV Park
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“hands-off owners”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

After finding this place by looking at Google maps (their advertising is non-existent), we were unable to make a reservation online so left a voice mail for, presumably, the owner. The message said he'd call back and he did.

The owners are very hands-off. We pulled in early Friday evening, left early Sunday morning and never saw them. If there is a camp host, they are incognito. We paid by credit card over the phone and there is a list of site and names on the bathhouse building that is out-of-date; we weren't on it. It's ripe for abuse from non-paying campers without reservations.

The place obviously had a great deal of care put into it at some point in the past. The gardens are well-established and there are beautiful flowers all around the bathhouse, with outcropping of lilies throughout the park.

The pool is small, but was well-tended when we were there - possibly by fellow campers, as we learned that one fellow camper had taken it upon himself to clean the men's room. The men's room had two commodes and one urinal - the urinal is out of service and with the assistance of another camper, we were able to get the second commode working. Someone had plugged it up with a roll of toilet paper. We were told the grass was high earlier in the week, but it had been mowed when we arrived.

The bathrooms are not cleaned unless it's "self-service." The ladies' room showers are dark as all the overhead lighting is burned out - or the switch is broken or I just in hiding...we looked for it and couldn't get the lights to come on. Okay during daylight, but you wouldn't want to take a shower after sundown.

The garbage was not empty during our short stay and we heard from someone on a month's stay that it had piled up for 9-10 days before it was moved to the edge of the park and left in the woods for several more days. It's wonder there isn't a wild animal problem. As it is, there are flies and a couple stray cats.

The park consists of a small loop with woods on either side and an open field sloping down to the river at the back. It is fairly flat. There is a beautiful view across the field - you can't see the river, as the banks are wooded and there is no good access, but the mountains are beautiful. Adding boat access would make this place much more popular, but then the bathrooms would just get dirtier..

So, for a site run-down. Most of the sites have a tree at them, and as noted above, the majority back up against woods.

#1 is at the entrance so you have road around two sides.
#2 is against woods
#3 is also against the woods and has a very mature tree with nice shade - the picnic table here is the home of the two stray cats.
#4- 17 are also against the woods, with #10-12 being across from the small pull-in parking area at the fenced pool.
#18-28 are against the field with little to no shade.
#36-41 are pull-throughs running across the park toward the field end, with little to no shade.
#41 has a platform.
#29 is at the end opposite the entrance, with the field on one side and the woods on the other.
#30-32 are against the woods
#33 is next to the bathhouse across from the picnic pavilion...which appears to be a holding place for bags of garbage

We stayed in #10 and it was fun to be so close to the pool and surrounded by young, happy, friendly families. However #29 was our top pick for it's combination of shade, view and privacy.
#16 was our second-best pick for the same reasons, closely followed by #14 and #15.

We drove up to the "resort" which consists of a main one-story building and an attached row of small rooms. The resort has a dining room (apparently no longer functioning), a couple large rooms - one named "library" - and they are beautiful, with a ghost-town feeling.

I wouldn't stay in the resort, but I would stay at the campground again. The pool was great and the overall feeling of the place was friendly - sites #4-#17 all back up to the woods and you can look up and down the row of firepits and picnic tables - you could walk along the back of the sites and go visiting if you were so inclined. The three sites down from us were occupied by families who knew one another.

Just bring cleaning supplies and possibly tissue and towels for the bathrooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naniboujou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Six years ago when BBC opened it was amzing....fast forward to the spring of 2013 and disappointment all around. From the minute you enter the camp ground you can see neglect. The camp sites are overgrown with weeds and ruts and make leveling your camper nearly impossible. The pool area was also over grown with weeds and the pool looked filthy. There is no longer a camp store or an onsite manager. The flower bed around the camp store used to be in award winning condition...not any more. It is a weed bed full of ant hills. The bath rooms are in horrible shape...one of the shower stalls didn't even have a shower curtain...go to the dollar store and buy one for $2! The garbage cans did not get emptied until Sunday morning when everyone was leaving. Also, if you love to use toilet paper bring your own. My wife and I actually took some lysol wipes and clean the toilet seats and counter tops before using the bathroom. The bottom line...if you can tolerate filth and neglect then your all good...But for the price...NOT WORTH IT! Oh yeah the River is still amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Black Bear Cove "Resort" is actually a trailer park ("RV Park") with a few furnished rooms in a dilapidated old social hall. I give it an average rating, and that is a little gracious. The rooms were worth...maybe $60 a night but not a penny more. Our price was $100. Glad we only got took for one night's stay. The bed slept good. The room was clean and neat. No heat and the fireplace didn't work on a chilly October night. Bathroom was fine. Gomer the Manager just didn't seem to give a flip whether you liked it or not. While the grounds were reasonably maintained, the main building where the rooms are located feels like it's been abandoned. Very odd feeling to the place. Keep in mind this is NOT a B&B. If everything else is full within a 30 mile radius, I might stay here again as a last resort. Otherwise, find a real B&B someplace else.

Room Tip: Go for the cheapest one since they are all way over-priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

It's am okay place to stay, probably won't be back. There is no form of barrier between you and your neighbor. When it seemed pretty full it was intrusive. little high price compared with some of the other campgrounds closer to the ocoee Whitewater rafting, they do have a,pool which is what sold me on staying here. The distance isn't too bad, but of course you don't want to drive a bunch while your camping, from the Whitewater rafting, about 20 min.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jsallis906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I rented the "Honeymoon Suite" for 2 days back in September. When we got there we found that the gas fireplace was out of commission and also that there are no controls for the heating/ac unit in the room. (Controlled by the main lodge for all the rooms.) When we tried to use the jacuzzi the knob fell off and started to flood the room. The walls are so thin that they even have signs telling you to be quiet and turn off the tv at night. This place is a joke. When we tried to leave the inbred manager was very rude and refused to give us a refund. He said that the owner had to do that and would not be in until Monday. I called for a solid week after leaving and the owner would not return my calls. I finally issued a dispute with Citi Financial and they did a charge after investigating this shady business. I got my money back but it took me 3 months. I will never stay at this joke of a "resort" again.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringgold, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We had a fantastic time camping. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant. The campsite was quiet and the views were beautiful. It was great to be able to walk to the river. We played volleyball in the sand court and swam in the pool. The shower and restroom facilities were very clean.

Don't pay attention to any of the negative reviews. They obviously haven't camped in some of the other local camping areas or visited some of the campsites where you would just as soon jump in the river as take a shower there.

We had a terrific time. Thank you. Blaylocks

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarose63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

The place was clean is about all the good I can say. You get the feel as soon as you drive up that something is not right. No one is around. As a previous review states, we saw no staff except the guy who checked us in. The door to the office, entrance to the building was locked on our arrival, which was about 2pm. We had to phone the # to get him to open the door to check in. He was there but had the doors locked and his car parked in the entrance of the lobby the entire time we were there also. No luxury dining here as advertised, or any dining, no microwave, and no mini-fridge. The walls are thin, you hear everything. The door on the bathroom scraped on the floor when opened and closed. The hot tub dripped , the coffee pot and hair dryer didn't work. The commode which was black oval shaped had a round white seat (very tacky). The lights from out on the porch shines through the windows at night keeping part of the room lit up. The lights at the entrance along the drive are all out or just turned off. As in another review there is a large hole with a barrel in it in the parking lot. Lots of trashy junk on the porch around the side of the office before you get to the parking lot. I would in no way stay here again or recommend it . It was priced at $200 a night and have stayed in motels much nicer at $79. Be careful and know what you are getting with this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hop-sing11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton
7.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#1 of 2 in Etowah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
18.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Cleveland
11.5 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#1 of 1 in Ocoee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Cove RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Cove RV Park

Property: Eagle Cove RV Park
Address: 5842 Highway 30, Benton, TN 37307-4734 (Formerly Black Bear Cove Resort)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Benton
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Benton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Cove RV Park is located in the mountains of Southeast Tennessee in the Hiwassee and Ocoee River Basins, northeast of Chattanooga TN. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Bear Cove Hotel Benton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing