We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun little cabin retreat - Cherokee National Forest/Ocoee River”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Welcome Valley Village
Certificate of Excellence
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun little cabin retreat - Cherokee National Forest/Ocoee River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I've been meaning to write this review forever, as my husband and I *loved* our stay in the Ivy Cottage at the Welcome Valley Village in Benton, TN back in April of 2013. The Cherokee National Forest is a wonderful playground for outdoor lovers, but we had no intention of camping in a tent after a long day of hiking (I'm a real big fan of indoor plumbing). The Welcome Valley Village was the perfect retreat at the end of each day, and the grounds are a beautiful, natural fit with their setting in the forest. The cabins are sparkling clean and have a lot of the little touches that make a place seem more like home than a hotel.

The Ivy Cottage has one bedroom and an attic loft that could sleep at least three, but this cabin is really suited as a honeymoon cottage. The bed was comfortable (although the springs were a little noisy...I did mention this was the honeymoon cabin, right?) but the kitchen, bathroom and living space are just too small for more than two people. If I were staying with the family, I'd rent one of the larger cabins, but the tiny space wasn't a problem for just the two of us. The cabins are all spaced for maximum privacy, and even though there were other guests staying in the village, we didn't see or hear anyone except when passing them on the roads.

The owners are friendly and eager to help you enjoy your stay in the area. At check-in, they give you a list of the local places to eat, and while we would have located the Ocoee Dam Diner since it's right on the main road, we probably wouldn't have found Lottie's on our own. It's off the beaten path, and I would have hated to miss that good country cooking.

On the topic of cooking, even though the kitchen was tiny, it was well stocked with pans/dishes/utensils. The ability to prepare our own meals was an added value, since it cut down on our meal costs. Again, the little touches (plenty of trash bags and dish soap, fabric softener on the towels, an outdoor fireplace on the deck, frilly curtains on the windows) added to the overall experience. If you like the outdoors but hate camping, this is where you want to be.

The owners have stocked the cabins with packets of information regarding the Cherokee National Forest and the Ocoee River. While we could have looked this up ourselves, it was nice to have the hiking trail information at our fingertips. There are also guest journals in the cabins, and it was fun to read through the comments and remembrances about the Ivy Cottage going back to 2006.

The Welcome Valley Village is about an hour from Chattanooga, and about 15 minutes drive into Cleveland, a decent sized city. We had every intention of visiting Chattanooga, but instead we were caught up in exploring the beauty of the local area. This place is definitely on our 'must return' list.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the cabin size. If more than 2 people are staying, you're going to want that l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j20ozes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here 10 years ago. This time we stayed over the 4th of July. We had a ball. Kevin, Jenny, and Daniel do a great job of providing an excellent "camping" vacation. Chatanooga is near by as are numerous natural wonders. It is a great trip. Weather for a long weekend or a family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Welcome Valley Village. The lodges were very clean and the entire grounds were great. The location was awesome: peaceful, relaxing and a number of engaging local activities including fishing, white water rafting and zip lining. I highly recommend Welcome Valley Village. Kevin & family runs a great place. The outdoor fire pits were a great addition. Our family enjoyed everything about this vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FL_Jax_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

My family of four - two adults and two teenagers - stayed for four days and three nights in the Ivy Cottage and have nothing but wonderful things to say about our whole experience. Our cabin was the smallest on property but more than big enough for our family to spread out. Every detail had been attended to - there truly was nothing more we could have asked for. The wrap around porch facing the creek was a great place to share meals - we cooked out on the grill provided one evening and had a late night fire in the outdoor fireplace. The property is beautiful and provides so many opportunities to enjoy the outdoors. My son and husband thoroughly enjoyed swimming at the pavilion area. My daughter and I can rave about the Jacuzzi tub!

We found lots to do in the nearby area - whitewater rafting, horseback riding, tubing, and hiking. Four days was not nearly enough to experience everything the area offered.

We will most certainly be back for a longer trip in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfamily34116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at welcome valley village. We are sure to visit again. The owners are really great. The cabin was wonderful. We stayed both times in the Cherokee Ridge cabin. It is the newest and most secluded of the five cabins. It even had a dish washer. Great front porch and fireplace and Jacuzzi. Plenty of firewood.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quietstorm4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rivers, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

My husband and I were in real need of a "get-away" from our busy lives. We were looking for some place peaceful to spend some time. We searched and found Welcome Valley Village and reserved the Ocoee House cabin for three nights. When we arrived,we found a heavenly little place back in the woods right on the Ocoee River bank. It was beautiful! We enjoyed the stone fireplace and Jacuzzi tub and slept peacefully at night in the comfy bed. We enjoyed our stay so much and the owners' attention to little things made it perfect! From the well maintained grounds to the wonderful shower soap, we loved it all! We also got a visit from their sweet little dogs which we enjoyed. I would recommend this treasure to anyone needing some peace. Thank you Kevin and Jenny!
The Dale's- KY

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed in the Ivy Cottage for a quick night/halfway point home to FL from WI, how comfortable and easy! Not to far off of the interstate, plenty around, easy to find. This cabin had room for 4 easy, though with only 3 we had lots of room to spread out even being their smallest unit. Fireplace outside was so tempting we almost fired it up on late into a rainy foggy night.
Cable TV (they leave VHS/DVDs and player, how nice!), awesome creek you can hear and see from the wraparound porch and the river is a short nice walk away.
Their dogs bark like tough guys but are actually super friendly and owners are nice and helpful. I hope we can make it hear again.

Room Tip: The views were awesome even with no leaves on the trees, must be amazing in the fall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton
12.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland
12.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland
Hampton Inn Cleveland
#1 of 23 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
12.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cleveland
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Northwest
11.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Valley Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Valley Village

Property: Welcome Valley Village
Address: 867 Welcome Valley Road, Benton, TN 37307
Region: United States > Tennessee > Benton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Benton
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Valley Village is a privately owned and operated 17 acre riverside retreat. Our 5 log cabins are nicely appointed with fireplaces, jacuzzis, and fully furnished kitchens. Guests enjoy swimming, fishing, hiking, photography, biking, basketball, horseshoes, and every cabin has its own campfire pit. Take a guided whitewater rafting trip on the Ocoee River, site of the 1996 Summer Olympics whitewater paddling events. Float trips are also available on the milder Hiwassee River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing