We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love GUS chicken”

Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I love GUS chicken”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

When Nashville finally got a GUS Chicken it was like the best thing ever this place is great !! Like its like heaven on earth with the chicken that they have there customer service is really good too !! So people have to try there chicken

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Balin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Franklin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“How in the world did they get on Drive-Ins, Diners and Dives?”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

There was nothing about this place that would make me go again. First when you walk in there is no one to greet you so I walked up to the counter to order. Only after I paid did the young lady tell me that this was for to go orders only.

She was sweet to me and brought me my food but I was sitting in an area served by waitress's so it was somewhat awkward.

I must say if this is Hot & Spicy chicken that my taste buds have gotten a lot tougher. There was nothing spicy about it. The chicken wing I got was devoid of meat, cool and greasy. The breast was puny and overcooked.

The waitress did refill my $2.25 drink once. I don't blame her because I was not really her customer.

Maybe the "mother ship" in Memphis is better because they have been quite successful down there. Give me Church's or KFC any day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack37069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Love Me Some Gus's!”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

So excited that Gus's has branched out to Nashville! Gus's in Memphis was always on the agenda during road trip to Nashville!
Love their cooked to order chicken! Just the right amount of spice. A must have is the fried pickles!!
I will be back next month! Can't wait!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TxNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This restaurant is new for the Brentwood/Nashville TN area, but is well known in Memphis. The food was great.....some of the best chicken we've had with just a touch of spiciness. The restaurant itself is very 'down home' and laid back, but the staff is fabulous. They were extremely attentive and welcoming. We will definitely go there on our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buckyfanWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenn
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“When it's good, it's great”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

It's anybody's guess if it will be good food and service on the day you go. If you are lucky, you will enjoy some mighty fine chicken.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janie258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing