We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor customer service”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shogun Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #111 of 144 Restaurants in Brentwood
Price range: US$20 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The food was good, and service was really poor. My wife is a vegetarian and they offered to make her dish in the back, and ended up cooking hers with the meat next to the veggies. Then they gave her the smallest portion of veggies and she ordered the veggie meal. My sister in law asked for chicks plain with no teriyaki and they still made it with teriyaki. The bills got all messes up too. Again, the food is good but the chef and waiter just gave poor service. If the service gets better we'd back, but for $25/person we expected a lot better service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjfrisbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
205 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have been visiting the steakhouse for the past few years. My family enjoys it alot and its fun to watch the fire. Over all the food and atmosphere is good. Service varies at times, one thing I don't about the place

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robc93a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unbelievably rude and racist chef!!”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Went there for my mom's birthday dinner with my parents, brother and his wife and children. Food was good but hibachi chef was unbelievably racist and made several inappropriate and unacceptable comments throughout dinner. He stated all black people look like Michael Jackson. Keep in mind I was there with 2 children who are both half black. When my father left to go the restroom he said he looked like Donald Trump. He kept pestering me to catch rice in my mouth that he was throwing at all of us. I HATE that. When I finally gave in to get it over with he said "You like it you swallow, you don't you spit it out, HAHA!!" Really??? In front of my parents and children?? Called and reported it the next day to management but don't think my complaint was taken seriously. Manager said he wopuld send a giftcard to make up for it even though I told him it was unnecessary. Of courrse it never came. I will NEVER go there again or refer it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place for big groups”
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

We went as a group of 9; lots if picky eaters and everyone found something on the menu that they liked! Miracle. And we had fun watching our food being prepared. Kids and adults alike loved it. One or two things to know...it is really loud and if you aren't with a large group you will be seated with others which could be fun (or not).

We enjoyed the sushi and tried between us just about all the things on the menu and loved it all.

Helpful?
Thank Vicki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average grill (and sushi) place”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The restaurant has a sushi side with a sushi bar and the grill side with teppanyaki grills where they will cook in front of you. I ordered their grilled shrimp for lunch. It came with salad, soup, white/fried rice, grilled vegetables, and grilled shrimp. The veggies, meat, and fried rice will be cooked in front of you. Food tasted good (average), and the service was reasonably quick. I did not try their sushi.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MountainSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shogun Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Shogun Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing