We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dream Come True for Nature and Dog Lovers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iron Mountain Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Butler
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iron Mountain Inn B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Butler B&B and Inns
Johnson City, TN
1 review
“Dream Come True for Nature and Dog Lovers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

My husband and I really needed a week-end getaway with our dog Maggie. Our schedules have recently been so hectic and it wasn't until about a week before we planned our trip that it became apparent we would have the time to go. I originally had my heart set on a rental cabin in the NC Smoky Mountains. It seemed perfect until the fine print came along about their Pet Policy. The pet deposit was $300 and only refundable if no evidence of the pet actually being there was found. We decided that many places which claim to be "pet friendly” are actually just "pet tolerant" and tack on huge added expenses. I spent about 5 hours online researching for another cabin to rent that was truly pet friendly, available and that we could afford. I was determined and had all but given up when I stumbled across Creekside Chalet. It was like a dream come true!!! The location is perfect. It's totally secluded yet not far away from town. Everything that you need is right there in the chalet so you can lounge around there the entire stay or get out and about to see the surrounding areas, which are GORGEOUS! If you are looking for a quiet retreat far removed from the buzz of daily life then this is the place to go. Best of all, Vikki is truly a pet friendly property owner. Our high-energy Blue Heeler, Maggie, probably had just as much - if not more - fun than we did :-) It was a blast watching her excitedly explore the new surroundings. If you arrive and have any concerns/issues about your stay then Vikki is friendly, easy to talk with and more than willing to accommodate you. Just ask. My husband and I will be returning to the chalet as soon as we can and we hope to bring our family up to the lake house rental with us next summer for a retreat on the most beautiful Watauga Lake. I can’t wait!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    13
    6
    0
    5
See reviews for
12
108
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
aiken sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

dealing with vicki was like dealing with someone who has no professional skills. when we got to butler we went to the bed and breakfast place to get our keys. well she had left to go out of town and her assistant could not be reached by phone either. so for two hrs after driving 5 hrs we did not know how we were going to get into the lake house.then we we addressed the issue with vicki there was no compensation for our stress. then she gave us a room that had a stand up shower. she locked the two rooms that had better more romantic bath rooms and bedrooms. nice! she knew it was our 30th wedding anniversary and she did not do anything to make it special. i would not stay at the lake house if you are looking for something romantic. then to top it off your dealing with a scatter brained owner who has no clue what she is doing. no way i would i ever go back because of her being disorganized .one good thing i can say is it was clean and a nice house. thats it!if your going with your kids it would be ok . just a romantic getaway with your spouse not the place to go!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cindyhelmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

Our extended family (7 adults, 3 kids) found this lake house to be plenty spacious, clean with all the comforts of home. The large deck overlooking the lake was very relaxing. The pictures on the website do no do this place justice.
Thank you Vikki for making us feel at home immediately and taking care of our sleeping arrangements to accommodate all guests.

The location of the home is very central for lots of activities: rent a pontoon boat (10 min), Virginia Creeper Bike trail (40 min), nearest town (20 min), Butler museum (5 min). If you don't have a boat, highly recommend going over to the nearby marina and renting a pontoon boat to explore the lake ($150/day + gas). Plenty of beautiful coves to anchor in, swim and fish.

This house and lake were a very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRC24017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

We had a wonderful time. The lake house was wonderfully decorated, welcoming and cozy. The owner was so nice. She called upon our arrival and the night before our departure checking to make sure we arrived safely and making sure we enjoyed our stay. I highly recommend this cottage for your next getaway. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rslFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

Our stay at Iron Mountain Inn lodge was more than we imagined. The room was very comfortable and included a balcony. We sat on the balcony overlooking the mountains and read our books. Vikki recommends several hikes during our stay to 2 beautiful water falls. Her dinner recommendations in Butler were outstanding, The Tributary and Mel's. Vikki is a the perfect B&B host, attentive to our requests, yet out of sight when we looked for relaxation. The location is the best and anticipate our return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

Traveling to Tennessee for the first time we didn't know where to stay. We wanted to be in the Great Smokey Mountains, yet close enough to make day trips to the surrounding cities. You're never quite sure if the place you choose is going to be all that it appears to be online. Without a doubt, the Iron Mountain Inn B & B is represented accurately and honestly on the Internet. The large bedrooms and bathrooms are meticulously kept, the breakfasts are delicious and Vikki (the owner) makes you feel right at home. Sitting on the deck, we felt as though we could reach out and touch the Great Smokey Mountains. It was an experience we'll never forget. We would definitley stay there again and are already spreading the word to our family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiloh_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

We enjoyed our stay in the Family Memories room. It was definitely a great way to start our trip down the Smokies in Tennessee.

While we had some complications with special circumstances with the reservation, Vikki made every effort to resolve things and make our stay very enjoyable.

She also gave us several ideas of things to do and places to see.

I would not hesitate to stay at the Inn again if we every get back to that area.

We enjoyed our stay a lot.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank like92115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Butler
21.7 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
18.2 mi away
Taylor House Inn
Taylor House Inn
#2 of 7 in Valle Crucis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
11.6 mi away
Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Archer's Mountain Inn
Archer's Mountain Inn
#7 of 9 in Banner Elk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
17.4 mi away
Banner Haven B&B and Cabin Rentals
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Mountain Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Mountain Inn B&B

Property: Iron Mountain Inn B&B
Address: 268 Moreland Drive, Butler, TN 37640
Region: United States > Tennessee > Butler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Butler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High atop the mountain this log home is THE place to get away from it all, Only bird song and wind song are heard as you enjoy the comfortable tables and chairs on the open decks and covered porches. In cooler months, enjoy a hot toddie in front of the wood burning fireplace. Read, play card and board games or just solve the problems of the world when you share your experiences with the other guests. Full filling breakfast each morning at a time of your choosing.....just before 10:00 a.m. please. Bottomless cookie jar filled with the famous Iron Mountain Inn chocolate chip cookies. Afternoon refreshments. On arrival light supper available, i.e. soup, sandwich, dessert, coffee and a complimentary glass of wine. "Pampering Perfected" service where guests are friends we haven't met. We have hiking trails right on the property and waterfalls abound to explore. Each room has a private en suite tiled bath with jetted tub and two of them also have steam showers. "Feet up comfort" is the mantra at the Inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing