We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Lovely Irish Welcome !”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballyragget, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Professor...
Central Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Lovely Irish Welcome !”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first stay in Southern Ireland and we'd never heard of Ballyragget before. However, the cottage was easy to find as Breda supplied good directions...

You won't find more charming, welcoming or friendly hosts than Breda and Liam. Despite having to run their farm, we were greeted like old friends with a roaring fire and the table already set with homemade bread, cake and jam and some fresh eggs when we arrived in the late evening after about a 90 minute leisurely drive from Dublin Port.

The cottage was originally the family home of several generations of the family who had farmed the land before Liam and Breda built their current home on the side of it. It has retained the traditional and rustic nature you would expect of a farmhouse, but has all you need in the way of home comforts. It was clean throughout, comfortable and well stocked with pots, pans, cutlery etc. Everything you needed was in a cupboard somewhere. Plenty of books and games for children as well as SKY TV, DVD player etc. The cottage also has Wi-Fi but was a little patchy in some places of the cottage.

As you would expect with it being on a farm, it is out in the countryside and is quiet and peaceful. Wake up in the morning to the sound of the cows and chickens. Liam and Breda told us to treat the surrounding gardens and land as their own and feel free to wander as we wished - in my case I got a tour of the farm and enjoyed chatting with Liam about the farm, its history and his inventions. Their friendly approach was even displayed by their three dogs too !

The small village of Ballyragget is about a five minute drive away and has a small supermarket (which seemed to stock everything), a couple of "take away" outlets, petrol station and a few other small shops. Kilkenny is the nearest large town, about 20 minutes or so away and the castle there is well worth a visit.

In summary, a very comfortable holiday accommodation, but the best asset are the owners.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of our hosts.
Liked least: There is not a lot to do locally - but cottage is ideal if you just want to sit and relax.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
partyoffi...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A memorable week in Ireland on a working farm”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our week started with a warm welcome, lit fire, fresh scones and cakes and the kettle on the boil. We felt so much at home. The children loved their time on the farm and want to go back.
We were never short of things to do in and around Kilkenny and the surrounding counties. We could have spent another week there easily.
The cottage was comfortable and had everything we needed - if there was anything else we needed, we only had to ask. I'd recommend Cherryfield to any travellers heading to Ireland looking for relaxation and Irish charm. A car is a must.

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan P
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, fantastic hosts, fantastic holiday!”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were gifted a week in this delightful cottage as an anniversary present and brought our two small children (boys aged 3 and 5) and one set of grandparents.

Our stay in this cottage has been fantastic. We were welcomed on arrival by home baked cake and scones and tea, and this pretty much set the tone for the whole week.

Breda and Liam were attentive and welcoming without being intrusive. They made sure we wanted for nothing and made sure to point out all the amenities, including how the heating worked, where the extra fuel for the stove was to be found, and where the games room was. The also pointed the way to the hen run and invited the boys to check for eggs and enjoy eating any they found.

For the children, staying on a real live farm was mind-blowing. They loved seeing the cows and calves, loved being around the dogs and looking for eggs, and especially loved the attention they got from both Breda and Liam. It has to be said though, Liam was the star of the show. He allowed the older of the two boys to help at milking time, making sure the cow was letting down milk, (I hope she's recovered at this stage!) and when both of them were allowed to sit in the tractor when Liam went to feed the calves using his specially invented feeding contraption, he made two small friends for life. They were so happy to be allowed to help on a real farm (supervised by Daddy and Grandad of course) and will remember this holiday for years to come.

The cottage itself was cosy and it was lovely to come back to it after a day of exploring or visiting whatever attraction was on the menu for that day. The older boy was sure to make it to the top of the castle in the garden every day though, just so as not to waste staying in a place with a castle in the garden.

Having a gas barbeque set up outside the back door was a nice touch, and it got used several times during the week, because the weather was unexpectedly glorious for early April.

We have had an awesome holiday, helped in no small measure by having such a comfortable base, perfect for exploring the local and not-so-local attractions. We visited the Rock of Cashel as well as Kilkenny and it's environs, and the cottage is the perfect place to start from for each of these.

The roads around this cottage are also great for that early morning run, not too busy and a good mix of hills and flat sections.

All in all, we'd heartily recommend this cottage to anyone, Breda and Liam could not be better hosts, and we've been very comfortable here. We would like to thank them for making us feel so welcome, and we'd love to visit again in the future.

Date of stay: April 2015
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella...
Marbella, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unforgettable holyday over the New Year”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed erverything there:)
We had a great time in this beautyful recently interior designer refurbished, stylish and charmy cottage.The bedrooms and bathrooms were like in a 5 star Marriot Hotel..spot on !
The Lounge with the fireplace was romantic like those from the Boutique syle Bed & Breakfast guide. The kitchen and dining room was country Living style...absolutely lovely.
We had a good time with the owner family, they were very friendly and helpful, if you need anything their there , without intruding your space. We loved the fresh organic eggs from happy chickens and the homemade irish brown bread and muffins too. It was a paradise for our son and ourselfs too; with the farm , the animals, the football playing dogs, the horses and the spacious country grounds with absolutely great vibes.Ideal location for sightseeings too, because its very central to many exhiting places to see.We will recommend it to our friends..good experience..great value.. and we look forward to come back soon .

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedroom/Bathroom and Lounge
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in the countryside.”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week over Christmas and it was immensely enjoyable. It's in the countryside, which is lovely and peaceful, and it's only a short drive to Kilkenny, which is a delightful city. Breda and Liam were very welcoming and friendly, we couldn't have asked for better hosts. The cottage has loads of room, with everything you'd need, including a cosy fireplace. We would definitely recommend Cherryfield to our friends, and we'd love to return.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a warm Irish welcome”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
5
people found this review helpful

A beautiful cottage set on a working farm with a warm Irish welcome and wonderfully tasty and freshly homemade brown bread and scones on arrival.
An ideal location for exploring South East Ireland. Not that we did much exploring, the children were more than happy to stay on the farm. There was plenty to do, with a huge shared lawn, complete with a miniature castle and a shed full of sporting equipment – hurling, tennis, golf, badminton and football, although use the old flat ball and the two friendly dogs will keep you busy, wanting you to kick the ball while they chase it and bring it back to you. Or if you prefer something indoors, there is a games room with a dart board, table top football and a pool table.
For the animal lovers there are the owner’s two dogs plus the two dogs from the farm house across the driveway, all of which are friendly and play together. There are seven hens which the children enjoyed feeding and collecting the fresh eggs (yummy), the cows being milked, calves being fed as well as the three beautiful horses that can be fed.
If all this was not enough to keep you entertained, there is sky TV with a wide range of channels, DVD player, a play station 3 and free Wi-Fi. All of this and at the end of the day curl up in front of a real fire!
The owners, well not just the owners, but their whole family were so welcoming and nothing was ever too much trouble, even to rebuilding the fire for us!!
We are all looking forward to going back next year!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.