We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful corp of engineers campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carthage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Defeated Creek Marina & Resort
Springfield, Tennessee
Level Contributor
822 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 662 helpful votes
“A beautiful corp of engineers campground”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This a fantastic surprise for any camper. This campground is surrounded by Cordell Hull lake and is so well groomed that it has a true resort feel. There are tennis courts, basketball courts and hiking trails. There are campsites suited to all types of camping from tents to large motorhomes. Most of the sites are over 65 feet long. All have water and electric, 30/50 amp service. Premium site along the edge of the lake also have sewer and very level gravel pads. There is a boat launch area just for those camping at the campground. There is also a separate marina with a nice café and a small store with a little bit of everything including hand dipped ice cream. Nearby is historic Granville that is worth a visit. The city of Carthage is about 20 minutes away. The best part of this beautiful campground is the price. Premium sites are only $25 a night and other sites are as low as $18. For seniors with a national park senior pass, the price is one half of this. I can't imagine a better place to camp for $12.50 a night for a full hookup site with a level gravel pad and a beautiful view of the lake. Other sites are $9 a night. I have camped for over 40 years in all 50 states and have to say this campground is as nice as any I have seen.

Room Tip: Sites 35, 55, 100 and 110 are excellent for RV's with Dish satellite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tennessee50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethpage, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We travel to this campground often because it is close to home and a great place to get away. Wonderful sites! Spacious and not crowded together. You are right next to the lake anywhere in this park and from most sites can see the lake. There are 155 sites but definitely make reservations as they are almost always full. The park is very clean, restrooms and the grounds. The marina is right outside the campground and has a small restaurant which I haven't tried. The restaurant is closed on Monday. There is also a campstore at the marina.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

My favorite campground in East or Central Tennessee. Sites are generally spacious, not a bad lake view site, and grounds are extremely well taken care of. Quite a few sites with WSE. A bit out in middle of nowhere... but that's a good thing, right???
Take your boat, hammock, bikes and kayaks. Only drawback is that to reserve a premium site, it's about as easy as winning the lottery...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Knoxcampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We just returned home from a week-long camping trip at Defeated Creek Marina and Resort. We couldn't have asked for a better, nicer experience. The campsites have plenty of room and are not crowded together at all. The grounds look almost like a golf course! And, the lake surrounds the entire campground. We sat at our campsite and enjoyed the view of the lake with our morning coffee and at sunset. We could walk to the water with our kayak and enjoyed paddling around the beautiful lake. One day, we hiked. Another day, we enjoyed playing at the beach area with our little grandson. There are playgrounds, tennis courts, and a volleyball court. So, you're never lacking for fun things to do. The bathhouse and restroom facilities were very clean. The entire experience was so positive!! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bcollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Defeated Creek Marina & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Defeated Creek Marina & Resort

Property: Defeated Creek Marina & Resort
Address: 160 Marina Ln, Carthage, TN 37030-2267
Region: United States > Tennessee > Carthage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Carthage
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Defeated Creek Marina And Resort
Defeated Creek Marina Hotel Carthage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing