We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip!”
Review of Ruby Falls

Ruby Falls
Ranked #8 of 148 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this thundering 145-foot underground waterfall, a natural wonder located on the scenic Lookout Mountain.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
277 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This cave is worth the trip to see the many formations in the long walk to the actual falls which is deep underground in Lookout Mountain. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Be sure to wear good not slippery walking shoes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,267
    1,498
    678
    204
    142
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is one of the most wonderful things i have ever seen.
The tour last about 1 hour and is so worth it our tour guide was so funny all the way and told you all about the history of the falls. You go down by a lift and then walk though the cave seeing all the rocks etc.
And then you come to RUBY FALLS which is truly magical and a must is to get photos. unless you visit again you wont see this again.


Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lulubones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ruby Falls”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was part of our triple adventure in one day. Inclined Railway, Rock City and Ruby Falls.
The Falls are underground at a depth of about 1600ft at the end of a long tunnel making about 1 mile in length for the return journey. The tunnel has interesting features - stalac and stalagmites, etc. It starts from the bottom of a lift shaft. The Falls are high and are lit with rotating colours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dhlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Van Buren, Arkansas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Still interesting”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Interesting history of the cave and development. Tour narrative was cheesy, but our group was small and we were able to take our time and get good pics. I would not want to do this on a busy day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lew72956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We bought a package ticket for Ruby Falls, the railway and Rock City.
Definitely worth making the effort to visit the falls; we were there mid week when it was quiet which probably made it much better.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank heathway53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruby Falls also viewed

 

Been to Ruby Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing