We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You think what the other reviewers say here is bad get this.............”
Review of Ruby Falls

Ruby Falls
Ranked #8 of 149 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this thundering 145-foot underground waterfall, a natural wonder located on the scenic Lookout Mountain.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“You think what the other reviewers say here is bad get this.............”
Reviewed 28 May 2005

The reviewers here are exactly right but get this. As a local I know a little secret. One that most locals here know but never tell tourists because tourism = moeny and the mindset in chattanooga is get em here make em spand all their money.

Here is the secret. after a ride in the elevator (which breaks down at least twice a month and leaves tourists stranded, somtime for 12 plus hours crowded like sardines. and after a trip through a DEAD cave that no longer produces formations and has been destroyed by the huge crowdes taken down the tour. you get to the wonderfull majestic waterfall. Well the waterfall stopped flowing years and years ago. The cave was closed for some time to fix the problem. They ended up faking the waterfall. Thats right folks the waterfall isnt even coming from a natural source anymore. Its pumped in and recycled. Dont beleave me? Just ask the tour guides and watch them get nervous. Also 90 percent of the formations that have not been destroyed are constructed and placed there. They actually hire a guy to fix formations and set them up. This place is crooked and the only reason I am ssaying this now is because I too like to travel and would want to know if I am wasting my money on nothing more than theme park style themeing passed off as natural rock formations and a fake waterfall passed of as one of the 7 wonders of the world.

DONT GO.

Rock city is great. Point park is good, The aquarium is nice, Lake winnie is a fun little amusement park, the ducks are fun and alot in chattanooga is nature based and well worth the time and money. RUBY FALLS IS NOT!!!!

Helpful?
40 Thank chasm4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, President and owner at Ruby Falls, responded to this review, 27 June 2005
As the owner/operator of Ruby Falls I feel that I must respond to the lies that were printed by someone on May 28, 2005.

First, we have a brand new $500,000 elevator that does not "breakdown" whatsoever. If it were to "breakdown" we have an alternate exit from the cave that allows us to enter and leave the cave when we a doing maintenance on the elevator. No person has ever been "stranded" in the cave.

Second, areas of our cave are "dead", but other areas continue to produce formations. If this person knew anything about caves they would know that all caves have live and dead areas.

Third, some of the formations have been damaged by vandals in the cave but these are few and far between. If we do and restoration work it is to restore formations where people have purposely damaged them. We have done very little in restoration work over the past 20 years because the main formations are still present and undamaged.

Fourth, how can you fake a water falls. The room that the waterfall is in will take your breath away when you think about the millions of years it took to form this room with water being the only tool. It is amazing. The waterfall is real and the source is unknown. Just this year a professor from Eastern Kentucky University got a grant to study the underground water system in Lookout Mountain. We allowed them to set up collection points in the cave for dyes that they used in tracking the water flow. So if the water was fake, why would someone go to all of that trouble. Also, when it rains hard the water flow picks up dramatically, sometimes to the point of flooding the cave.

I understand that some people have a grudge against people and businesses, but to put such falsehoods and lies on the internet for all to see should be a crime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,216
    1,473
    664
    198
    140
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 28 October 2004

Ruby Falls is a HUGE waste of time especially if you are not into science and rocks. I found it confined, uncomfortable and the guides were terrible. I will never return.

Helpful?
12 Thank vol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 799 helpful votes
“Too Expensive For Too Little”
Reviewed 24 October 2004

Groups are way too large, 35 people, and the tour guides keep guests moving too quickly to appreciate anything. The cave is heavily damaged from years of human traffic, not at all worth the 13 dollars per person. Tour guides scream brief descriptions, but their voice reaches only a few people in front of the single file. You continually hug the wall in order to let other large groups pass by. Only about three minutes is allowed to view the falls, while they play loud tacky music. You are then hustled out in a rush to make room for the next group. Near the end, large signs inform you that it is OK to tip your tour guide! That takes some nerve, after rushing you through the cave. Our guide felt she had to continually scream when she talked to you, even if the person she was talking to was a foot away. Oh yes, it seems they do have time to slow you down long enough for thier photographer to take pictures of each person, which they later offer to you at absurd prices.
My advice, don't waste your money. The place is all hype and little to show for the large amount of money you pay.

Helpful?
10 Thank Cruiser100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointing”
Reviewed 16 August 2004

We visited Ruby Falls with our 4 kids (ages 5 to 18) on August 6, 2004. We arrived at the Falls around 3:30 in the afternoon, and the parking lot was so crowded, there were several attendants helping people to find a parking place. We managed to get lucky and found a place up close, and then proceeded to the entrance. Upon purchasing a ticket, we waited in a long line to ride a small elevator down to the bottom of the cave. Upon arriving at the bottom, we were put in a LARGE group of people (around 35), with ONE tour guide. We were towards the back of the group, and whatever information the guide was giving us was lost to the people in the back of the line, as we could never hear her. I was very disappointed with this aspect of the experience. They really need to make these groups smaller so that everyone gets the same experience.
The whole tour consists of riding the elevator down, walking on a flat path for about a quarter of a mile (and having to hug the wall several times to allow other tour groups to go past us), and then, when arriving at the falls, they keep you in darkness and then turn the lights on so you can see the Falls. I'll admit, the falls themselves are beautiful, but the lights and music they play are a little cheesy. There's not much time allotted to take pictures, and before you know it, you're hiking back the same path you came in, and riding up the elevator...and it's all over. Quite a bit of money for such a little experience. If it were me, I'd skip this cave, and go to Cumberland Caverns, which is nearby, and get 5 times the amount of tour, beauty and experience.

Helpful?
15 Thank CocoaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“A different cave”
Reviewed 2 February 2004

My wife and I enjoyed this cave experience. We've walked in several cave tour but the waterfall and lights were the best we've seen. Tour was worth it.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruby Falls also viewed

 

Been to Ruby Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing