We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service and a Great Location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
1 review
“Excellent Customer Service and a Great Location!!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My family stayed in their two bedroom suite this week. When traveling with kids it is nice to have plenty of room. Both bedrooms were large and comfortable. The living/kitchen area was large and clean. It was nice to have a full-sized refrigerator during our stay. The bathrooms were large and clean. The price was reasonable for the size of the suite.

First, the customer service at this hotel is extraordinary. Tony at the front desk (not the manager, but the other guy) went out of his way to ensure that our stay in Chattanooga was wonderful. We arrived at the hotel around 9am with no expectation of being checked in. I stopped in to ask if we could park in their lot while we explored the city. Tony informed me that my room was ready and that he could check us in. He also offered to let us feed our kids a snack from the breakfast bar before we got started. He really made us feel welcome. From that point on, every time we saw Tony, he addressed us by name and inquired to make sure our stay was comfortable. The service exceeded the quality of a five star hotel.

Second, the location of the hotel was very convenient. We walked to the Creative Discovery Museum (1 block), the ballpark (1 block), the aquarium (maybe two blocks), and several local restaurants. We left our car in the lot behind the hotel during our entire stay. The parking lot is gated and fenced in. We never need our vehicle or were concerned about the safety of it.

Twice during our stay we used the indoor pool. The kids loved it. The pool seemed very clean and while we never used the hot tub, it appeared to be in good working order.

Finally our room was clean and the halls were quiet. In some hotels I have trouble sleeping because I can hear people in the hallway all night. This was not the case at the Residence Inn. I never heard anyone in the halls. My kids took a nap during the day and were completely undisturbed. There was some road noise when trucks passed, but nothing too bad.

The only miss the hotel had during our stay was the breakfast on our second morning. A lot of thing were not available and the breakfast bar seemed barren and incomplete. I heard the guy running the bar tell another guest that he had been off for a few days and couldn't find anything. That seemed like a week excuse to me. I did notice that they had recently received a delivery and a lot of things that were missing from the breakfast bar were still in boxes. The breakfast on the morning before seemed well stocked. I think this may have been a temporary problem.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street. Overall the rooms were quiet, but we did notice some road no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    70
    37
    14
    12
See reviews for
141
45
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We, husband ,wife,daughter and toddler grandson wanted to get away for a few days and went to the residence in downtown Chattanooga TN because of the great location to everything we wanted to do and the free shuttle. The hotel was good but when we came down for breakfast on a Thursday there was nothing left because apparently they had a festival that week before and they said they cleaned them out. And the chairs were all cloth and too nasty to touch much less sit on. Friday morning was a totally different story with everything present we were expecting because we know a lot of Marriott hotels. In case we go again we still would stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor Florida, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights half way through a two week long road trip. A very exciting and unexpected bonus was the Riverbend music festival happening two short blocks from the hotel.

The property is well kept and clean, even under a full house of revelers. The real stars here are the front desk staff who went above and beyond to help with restaurants, laundry etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaycee767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, General Manager at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to provide feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hear from many travelers that we have the best location in the city. We hope to see you on a return trip!

Tony Conte
General Manager
Tony.Conte@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with our 8 month old after a weekend of epic fails in the hotel department. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and clean. The hotel was in a great location! It was right around the corner from the aquarium and down the street from the river. Restaurants in walking distance. We had a small dog with us and they were very accommodating to him. We drove from Tennessee to the beach and then back and stayed at three different hotels along the way and this one by far was the best.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrcasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, General Manager at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are one of the few hotels that are pet friendly in the city. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Tony Conte
General Manager
Tony.Conte@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first time staying at a Residence Inn. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel and rooms were very nice, very clean, and very peaceful. Staff was extremely helpful with recommendations and making sure you have what you need. I didn't give 5 stars for three reasons: 1) Housekeeping didn't come to our room and we stayed for 3 days & 2 nights. 2) The breakfast was just okay. They had a great selection, but the hot food just didn't taste as fresh as we would have liked. 3) Even though we didn't want to get in the hot tub, we definitely wouldn't have. The water definitely needed cleaning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Candid_Reviewer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attalla
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is in a excellent location. It is juxtaposed to the iMAx theaters, less than two blocks from the aquarium and river front and within easy walking distance to any location within the downtown area. The free city transit bus stop is located across the street. You can drive to his hotel, park your car and forget it until it is time to leave.

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times in the last 15 years. The only complaint I have is that common-area maintenance is sometimes slow in occurring.

Room Tip: We prefer ground floor, street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We took our 5 year old granddaughter for a 3 day visit in Chattanooga and walked to many of the places we visited. Location is perfect. The room was lovely. The staff was what we were so impressed with!! Every single person we talked to from the the desk, the breakfast and dinner people, housekeepers, and maintenance workers were helpful with a smile. And went out of there way numerous times to help. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
#31 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 215 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-1014
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing