We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If It's Broken, Fix It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Air conditioning in lobby was broken; they couldn't give more than one room key card because they were "waiting on a shipment". I thought this was odd. A friend had to wait to check in because they didn't have a key card to give him at all. Room was very clean; nice enough; everything very close by that you'd need. Staff members were nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

PROS:
Location, location, location! Hotel is right in the middle of everything. Rooms are updated, nicely appointed and clean.

CONS:
Beds were uncomfortable and hard. Breakfast was VERY much below the Marriott standard we all expect. Lobby and breakfast area was disgusting with worn, threadbare furniture. It was so hot during breakfast. I asked for the thermostat setting and it was 97 degrees....the AC was broken in the kitchen and all the hot air was blowing into the lobby......it was like that for the 48 hours we were there. Are there no 24 hour HVAC repair business in Chattanooga? Not sure why they would allow their employees work in such conditions.....and for that matter, why would Marriott run out of such basics as OJ for the entire weekend when the hotel was packed with guests who are paying in excess of $200 a night per room. Our first choice is always Marriott properties......this hotel was a disappointment. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clearnbreezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This motel is wonderful for the location. There is parking behind the motel. You can walk to restaurants and attractions easily. The beds are not very comfy. Asked for a feather free room and also double checked upon arrival to make sure but didn't get it. They did bring some different pillows when asked. The breakfast was okay. Overall, the location makes it yan okay place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom suite for 4 nights. It was perfect for our group of 5 as the living area included a sleeper sofa. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable. Friendly staff. We enjoyed breakfast each morning. Evening reception Monday-Wednesday was an unexpected surprise. Indoor pool, hot tub, and exercise facility were a plus. The location was perfect. We walked to the aquarium, baseball game, restaurants and the river walk. The free downtown shuttle service was located across the street so we were able to ride to the Chattanooga Choo Choo and around town. We also rode the shuttle across the bridge to the North Chattanooga area for some nice shopping and then returned via the walking bridge. Hotel also has a laundry area which was helpful after our white water rafting trip. Our family will definitely return to this hotel on our next visit to Chattanooga.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbsshiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've stayed at better Residence Inn's before but this Hotel has a great location. We were there for three days and enjoyed a baseball game, river walk, the museum, and a couple of good restaurants. Car never moved until we left. The breakfast service was not up to expectations...fewer choices and variety than at most other RI's we have stayed at. Other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barleycorn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Really enjoyed staying at this property while in Chatt. Neil was great and the rooms were nice and clean! If I had one thing that was not perfect, it would be that the snacks we bought in the lobby seemed to hacve been there a while. Other then that, great place and will be using them again.

Room Tip: When busy, ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This place was awesome. We were on the road traveling north from Mississippi to Virginia. It was late and had our dog with us. They were so helpful and accommodating. The room was clean and spacious, bed was comfortable, and the hotel was easy to find. We didn't have any trouble parking either. We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k2mgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
#25 of 96 in Chattanooga
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Address: 215 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-1014
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: £140 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing