We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpisingly nice considering its age, an excellent value”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #45 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Asheville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Surpisingly nice considering its age, an excellent value”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We were a little apprehensive when we pulled up to this place. It's obviously a much older property and doesn't have nearly as much curb appeal as the newer Hampton properties, but don't let that put you off. The whole place is clean as can be and the rooms and decor are in excellent repair. The bed was comfortable and the place was very quiet during the night. Breakfast in the morning was one of the better ones we've had at a Hampton. The food was very good and the area was clean and attractive. The people working the dining room were friendly. This location is on the very western edge of the Chattanooga area. Downtown is about 10 or 15 minutes away. Lookout Mountain and all its attractions are a short distance away. We were at Lookout Point in about 10 minutes. There are a number of fast food restaurants nearby, but that's about the extent of the eating options, except for a Cracker Barrel about half a mile away. Count on driving into Chattanooga if you want more than that. There is a large shopping center across the highway that includes a super Wal-Mart. The best part of this hotel was the price. It was about $20 a night cheaper than the next best Hampton Inn price in Chattanooga. Given that it was very nice inside, the nice price is a strong incentive to consider this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OtherMountainDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    123
    65
    31
    16
See reviews for
123
106
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We pulled off I-24 to stay here for one night. Everything was clean, quiet, and breakfast was perfect.

It's very close the base of lookout mountain. The hotel is about 4 miles from downtown Chattanooga.

They've just opened a Logan's Roadhouse off this exit. There's also a subway and a few fast food options. There's a 24 hour wal mart across the street.

Front desk staff was nice, and the manager was very accomidating. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WhatDoesTheAtlasSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

People were very polite. Had a very good breakfast. Room was comfortable, but not as fancy as some of the other Hamptons I've stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chillf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Yes, it is the standard Hampton Inn, but that's what I depend on: clean, convenient, and a decent breakfast. My husband and I stayed here for just one night and he particularly like the eggs at breakfast. The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful at check-in. In the morning, the front desk staff person gave me good advice on where to go for a run. Our room faced the back so it was quiet. The only tiny odd thing about the room was that we never did figure out what the light switch by the door controlled...

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask to face the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Had stayed here in the past. Both visits very nice. Standard hampton inn quality which is why we like to stay at hamptons,you know what you are receiving with your stay.Clean room, pleasant and professional check-in. Food was typical,with hot oatmeal being served of which i was very happy to see,but hence this is where the only problem surfaced. We arrived to breakfast at 6:35 a.m. I went to serve myself oatmeal and it was nothing but water with some oatmeal in it. It looked like gruel! I asked the hostess (who was very pleasant) if there was any other oatmeal ( she was mixing another batch) as this was very very runny,she just smiled,shook her head no. There was a language barrier as she did not speak hardly any english and i do not speak spanish. 2 other people also tried asking her about the oatmeal also as they were disappointed in the quality also and ended up eating other items.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waleska, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

It was perfectly situated just past downtown Chattanooga, well-lit, and safe. The room was nicely appointed and clean as a whistle. The was bed as comfy as can be too. The staff was friendly and professional as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Clean updated rooms, good hot breakfast, moderate price. Asked for a room at the back of the motel as it's close to the street and friendly staff person complied. Easy to get to from the interstate and direct connection on interstate to downtown Chattanooga, aquarium, etc.

Room Tip: Quieter on back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles & Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Inn
Best Western Royal Inn
#38 of 97 in Chattanooga
519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Chattanooga-Lookout Mountain
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga Lookout Mountain West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Chattanooga Lookout Mountain TN
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga I-24 West
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chattanooga I-24/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 3641 Cummings Hwy, Chattanooga, TN 37419-2312 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#30 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from everywhere you want to be and everything you want see in Chattanooga and Lookout Mountain. We are at the bottom of beautiful Lookout Mountain with easy access to the interstate to get to all the parks, sports fields, downtown, and North or South on I-75 if you are traveling. We are just a few miles to Ruby Falls, Incline Railway, and Rock City. Enjoy the area without the worry of spending too much. Complimentary breakfast buffet, quiet outdoor pool, and close to a variety of restaurants some in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chattanooga-w-i-24/Lookout Mountain Hotel Chattanooga
Hampton Inn Lookout Mountain
Chattanooga Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing