We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Sleep Advantage”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #45 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Flowood, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No Sleep Advantage”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We are Choice Hotel Gold Members and have been for so e time. Through the years we have stayed primarily at Comfort Suites and decided to try the Clarion and see the difference. All I can say is if all Clarions are like this one then God help anyone who stays that needs sleep.
We drove 400 miles the day we arrived at the hotel and checked in arouvd 9:45 pm. The first room we were given was on the second floor and when we walked into the room it was filthy. The room had not been cleaned from the previous night before. Went back down stairs and was given a room on the first floor, but after about 30 minutes it was obvious that we should have cleaned the room on the second floor. At 11:30 went to front desk to complain about the noise on the second floor.
It sounded as if someone was having a football game and it must have been in the first quarter because the noise still kept going until around 1:15 am. They must have taken a 5 hour half time break because around 6 the game started again.
The air in our room must not have been working properly because we had to turn it down to 60 to get it to even cool the room. The beds were ok but kind of soft and helped you stay close to your loved one as you both would roll to the center.
Now do let me add that the front desk clerk was very helpful and very courtious. Yeh rooms need to have all the carpet either cleaned or updated. The hotel owner would do good if the would spend a little money on have the grout cleaned the bathroom.
Not sure about breakfast as we have not made it that far yet. Yes thats right I am writting the review even before we have left.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksoutherland46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    123
    65
    31
    16
See reviews for
123
106
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barefoot Bay, FL
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Good room, nice folks. Great sleep here! Close to freeway, but no noise. A variety of restaurants nearby. This was out first night of a 16 day treip and the room was a great start. Clean, quiet, great staff, great room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lobo012847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for being our guest while in Chattanooga. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I booked this hotel online partly because of the good reviews that were given here. We were not at all disappointed. After "move-in day" at UTC, we were exhausted, and this hotel was a great place to clean up, relax, and unwind. The man at the registration desk could have been at a 5 star luxury resort and not been any more professional - he made us feel like we were the only guest within 100 miles. The rooms are very clean, breakfast very adequate, and coffee was good---all we needed. This is close to road and we were worried about the noise but stayed on bottom floor and could not hear any traffic. There is a Wal-Mart directly across the street, gas station next door, and Wendy's and Logan's restuarants across the street. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Movinonup42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback about our hotel. We appreciate your valued feedback very much. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, the staff, and most of all the hotel met up to the high standards we demand for our guest to have a nice clean room waiting on them. We look forward to serving you on future visits to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

we used this as our half way point from IL to St. Augustine, FL. It was comfortable and clean. Very nice staff. clean pool. Nice sized room, but ours did not have a microwave or mini fridge. That would have been an improment, but still not bad. Shower had great water pressure. Felt very clean! Only drawback was the toilet was unusually loud. but that wasn't a big deal for us. Overall good place to stay, especially if clean is important to you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janandrowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We appreciate the evaluation of our hotel. I am sorry you had a problem with the toilet being loud. We will make sure it gets a new housing unit, which is what makes them loud when they start getting old. I hope we have the pleasure to serve you on future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel was in an amazing location! The view was incredible service was great and lots of options for the free breakfast! Our room was very clean! Beds were comfortable also! I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkidusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate your high markings and were happy to give you a nice clean place to stay in while in Chattanooga. We look forward to serving you on future trips to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton, KY
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stopped here on the way home from vacation. The gentleman at the counter was fantastic. The building was clean and fresh looking inside and out. The room had been updated fairly recently and didn't look like most that seem to just have a cover up done to them. This looked like someone meant to remodel it, and did it well. Morning staff was just as friendly and the breakfast was adequate. Before we even left the lot we were talking about spending a weekend back in the area and staying there. Very, Very impressed. This moderate hotel looked like and treated us a well or better than any 4 or 5 star hotel ever has. Did I say I recommend it yet. Well I do.

Room Tip: I believe the even number rooms are all on the front side of the building facing the parking lot. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We appreciate your praise and evaluation of our hotel.

We appreciate your business. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you on future trips to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Nothing special. But not bad. Room size was good. Air conditioner couldn't seem to get regulated properly no matter how we tried---too cold. Breakfast was a little too ordinary even in hotels that include breakfast. Good help from the staff on places to see. Good suggestions for restaurants. Good parking area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneaResearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Inn
Best Western Royal Inn
#38 of 97 in Chattanooga
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Chattanooga-Lookout Mountain
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga Lookout Mountain West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga I-24 West
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Lookout Mountain
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chattanooga I-24/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 3641 Cummings Hwy, Chattanooga, TN 37419-2312 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#30 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from everywhere you want to be and everything you want see in Chattanooga and Lookout Mountain. We are at the bottom of beautiful Lookout Mountain with easy access to the interstate to get to all the parks, sports fields, downtown, and North or South on I-75 if you are traveling. We are just a few miles to Ruby Falls, Incline Railway, and Rock City. Enjoy the area without the worry of spending too much. Complimentary breakfast buffet, quiet outdoor pool, and close to a variety of restaurants some in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chattanooga-w-i-24/Lookout Mountain Hotel Chattanooga
Hampton Inn Lookout Mountain
Chattanooga Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing