We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a few nights!”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #45 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a wonderful hotel to stay at if your planning a trip for a few days. The rooms were nice and clean when we arrived. We didn't stay in the room for very long periods of time except at night, but the beds were comfortable and the television in our room worked.The staff while we were there were friendly and did everything they could to help us when we asked for directions and extra towels. They have a good breakfast bar with the usual options like eggs, waffles, cereals, toast, bagels, coffee, and sausage and biscuits. The pool was also nice, although it was slightly dirty. They also have a small fitness room available too. If your looking for a nice place to stay at a convenient location during a vacation then this is the place. It is located right off I-24 and easy to find. It is about ten minutes from Lookout Mountain and about 15 from downtown Chattanooga, depending on traffic. There is also an amazing local pizzeria across the street, as well as a Walmart and Dollar store if you forget anything.

Room Tip: They're currently updating the rooms in right wing of hotel with new fixtures and things. Some r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place was great! pool,breakfast,staff.the location was great to look out mountain and chattanooga also there is a lady that works there and her name is Rosie she was so sweet and the nicest person i delt with... the clarion inn is lucky to have her as an employee.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here in March 2014 while travelling to a funeral in GA. with my sister and father. I would rate the overall experience as average. The hotel was fairly clean and the location was easy to find, but I found the parking lot to be a bit cramped.

The room was just ok. They need to do some updating to fixtures etc. Breakfast was typical of most hotels.

I would say if you are going to stay here ask them to let you check it out, including your room, before you check in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had enough Choice Privilege points to book this hotel on our annual migration from Florida to Wisconsin. We were even able to get a suite, with a 2 person jacuzzi (a pretty silly amenity, as far as we were concerned) for the same number of points as a regular room. The location was good, just off the interstate, with gas stations and a Wendy's close by.

Check in was fast and friendly. Our room was very large with a sofa bed, small desk, flat screen TV, small fridge, microwave, and, of course, the jacuzzi. The king sized bed and second TV set were in an alcove, which could be curtained off from the sitting area. However, the curtain was very sheer and did not cover the whole opening, making it quite useless. The carpeting looked quite new and clean, but the furniture was worn and the fridge was totally iced up and dripping water. Since we were carrying food that needed refrigeration back to Wisconsin, we asked if we could have a different fridge and were told they didn't have one to give us. I do believe the hotel was almost, if not completely, full, as there was a youth soccer tournament in town. So maybe they really couldn't give us another fridge.

Despite all the kids in the hotel, we didn't hear any noise from the halls. The bed was very comfortable, easy on my bad back. The outdoor pool was closed. I believe they hadn't yet opened it for the season, even though it was May 3rd.

Breakfast was decent, though the space for it was quite small. They had scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon, in addition to the usual waffles, bagels, bread, cereal and fruit. Plates, cups and silverware were plastic. We watched one of the employees reloading the bread and bagels, wearing one plastic glove, but touching the food with both hands! Not good!

All in all, if we ended up at the Clarion again, it would be OK, but the Hampton up the hill from the Clarion was way superior!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krisreger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Having just wrapped up a three-day getaway in Savannah, needed a place on the way back to Central Kentucky.

Settled on Chattanooga, since we could do Lookout Mountain and the Tennessee Aquarium. Found an online deal for this hotel.

Having just done Lookout, the GPS took us on a winding road to get here ... only to find out it was near the interstate on the other side of thte hotel.

No real qualms with the room. Nothing spectacular, but nothing horrible.

Breakfast was available, but there are several dining options nearby, too.

Parking was interesting. It's on a fairly steep incline. Kinda hard to get in and make sure you have your brakes on pulling out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cksportsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I will admit I am much more of a Hilton or Marriott girl, but a somewhat last minute trip with 8 of us and a cheap rate on Hotwire sealed the deal. This hotel is a little dated, but overall didn't seem dingy or anything. The breakfast was as expected. One of the employees didn't appear to be customer service oriented. She was just a little awkward towards guests. My biggest negative about the hotel was despite feeling clean, my 1 year old's socks were black on the bottoms from walking around the room. I was definitely a little grossed out about that. If the rate was cheap enough, I might would consider staying again. Maybe it was just our room with gross carpets?

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank kat5581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

After having stayed 1 night each in multiple hotels on a road trip, it was a delight to stay here. Our group had 4 rooms, and the beds in each room were the best we had throughout our trip. I appreciated having more room in the breakfast area than many hotels of comparable cost, and the food offered was adequate. Staff were very friendly and helpful and also were familiar with the area (I was amazed at how many hotel desk clerks in other hotels didn't know the local area). A great value for the price. I'll certainly stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAKAMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Inn
Best Western Royal Inn
#33 of 96 in Chattanooga
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#43 of 96 in Chattanooga
41 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#36 of 96 in Chattanooga
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga I-24 West
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga Lookout Mountain West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 3641 Cummings Hwy, Chattanooga, TN 37419-2312 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#30 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: £63 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from everywhere you want to be and everything you want see in Chattanooga and Lookout Mountain. We are at the bottom of beautiful Lookout Mountain with easy access to the interstate to get to all the parks, sports fields, downtown, and North or South on I-75 if you are traveling. We are just a few miles to Ruby Falls, Incline Railway, and Rock City. Enjoy the area without the worry of spending too much. Complimentary breakfast buffet, quiet outdoor pool, and close to a variety of restaurants some in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chattanooga-w-i-24/Lookout Mountain Hotel Chattanooga
Hampton Inn Lookout Mountain
Chattanooga Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing