We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a quick stay”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #45 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The front desk people where very nice. Got our room quick and met our needs. No fridge but at the price it was fine. The beds were clean and comfortable. It's an older hotel but we would stay again. Our room was quite and I would recommend this place if your looking for a goods night rest.
Just an added note this hotel was full the night we stayed here an it was super quite. Enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor I think in room 219 or 218 with the room facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chattanooga_TNAbbyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for writing a review it helps give a good representation of different people's experiences at the hotel. I am happy you found the hotel so quiet even on a full weekend. We try to arrange guests so that everyone can experience a peaceful and relaxing stay here at the Mountain. Have a great summer and we hope you will become one of the many guests that choose to call this home while in the Chattanooga/Lookout Mtn. area year after year and sometimes more often. Thanks again for staying. Julie Ruud GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here 3 nights for a mini-vacation. Minutes from both downtown and Lookout Mountain. Across the street from Walmart, but still a nice quiet area. Slightly older property, but clean. Lots of courteous staff. Breakfast was just enough. Busy hotel with basketball teams when we went, but they were quiet enough. Will stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KJoyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for choosing us for your mini vacation. I am glad you found everything to your liking; clean, quiet and close to everything with great southern hospitality. We aim to please with breakfast hot scrambled eggs, rotating patti sausage, bacon, or smoked sausage, 2 flavors of make your own waffles, and lots of other good things to choose from. The staff thanks you for your great comments and looks forward to seeing you all again soon. Julie Ruud GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My family and I, along with a dear friend, stayed here for the July 4th holiday. Was honestly skeptical about the hotel because of the rates but the reviews were good so I went with it. And I am so glad I did!! The hotel was very clean, the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable
and the overall experience we had was wonderful. Congratulations on running a safe and honest hotel!! I highly recommend this to those who want clean yet affordable rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouisianaDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

We are so glad you found such great things to say about our hotel. The staff are working their hearts out to give great service in a clean well priced hotel in a great tourist area. Come visit again as soon as you can, we will be here waiting. Julie Ruud GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here one night on a business/pleasure trip. The staff was very friendly although front desk was understaffed. There were 8 of us in line with one clerk...and phone calls were answered in their entirety as we waited. Other than this small glitch, this was a very nice experience. We booked using Priceline's Express deals. Very good deal for us!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knifeman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for choosing the Clarion Inn Lookout Mtn. I am sorry we were understaffed the day you checked in, I try to anticipate busy days and schedule overlap or help on the desk myself but some days I just miss. We have been doing so well this year because of great comments such as yours that it has been a challenge to know which days will need an extra person. We have been a Clarion for a little over a year and are rebuilding a new clientele for this great hotel, and this summer has had great growth over last summer. Thank you all for staying with us and we look forward to everyone coming back to stay with "family". Julie Ruud GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here one evening. Staff very friendly, The breakfast had something for everyone, in fact, there was more of an offering than you usually get at other places (chunk cheese, pop tarts, hard boiled eggs). The location to Ruby Falls/Lookout mountain was super close! There was a Logan's across the street that served up great meals if you are looking for dinner. I used the fitness room and all equipment worked along with a TV. We used the pool which was well kept. Overall, a nice stay. I only gave it an average because the carpet in the room should probably be changed out, rooms were a good size, pillows/bed comfortable, nice TV...I would stay here again if in the area

Room Tip: we were in room 134
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

I am glad you found everything clean, working and good choices. Yes our carpet was having issues during the beginning of the summer, we just had every room and hallway done in the last 2 weeks, while it has helped you can tell the old owner did not kept it up as often as he should have. I am looking into options now with the new owner about possibly changing out the carpet. Thank you for your thoughts. Please stop back by and see us soon. Julie Ruud GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was a nice place to rest after driving 10 hours from Williamsburg, VA. We stopped here for a nights rest and then on to home the next day. The desk clerk was very courteous and polite, but was extremely busy. Lots for people were staying the night here. The rooms were the coldest anywhere I've ever stayed. Don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining. I LOVE a cold room on a hot summer day. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were clean. It was just a typical hotel with no fancy frills, but a nice place to rest. The breakfast the next day (Saturday) was very good. Lots to choose from, as far as a hotel meal is concerned. I definitely recommend a stay here when traveling through the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Yea, we are doing something right, you are right there is nothing better than great AC in the South, we even have had the lobby air fixed so everyone including the staff is comfortable. Thank you for your great comments I'm glad you found everything important to you to meet or exceed your expectations. We are waiting for you to come back and enjoy us again. Julie Ruud GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at another motel and it was so bad we checked out a day earlier and decided to go to Chattanooga for our last night of our vacation so we got online and found a Clarion and decided to try it. We were impressed when we first drove in. We checked into the room and it smelled so good.The room was so nice and clean and the beds were really comfortable. My only regret is that we didn't stay here the whole time. It cost more than the first one we stayed in but it was well worth it. I plan on staying here again when we go to Chattanooga.

Room Tip: When choosing a place to stay on vacation, cheaper is not always better especially if you are stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#46 of 96 in Chattanooga
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Inn
Best Western Royal Inn
#34 of 96 in Chattanooga
559 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#35 of 96 in Chattanooga
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Chattanooga - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga I-24 West
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Arbour Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 3641 Cummings Hwy, Chattanooga, TN 37419-2312 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#30 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: £65 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from everywhere you want to be and everything you want see in Chattanooga and Lookout Mountain. We are at the bottom of beautiful Lookout Mountain with easy access to the interstate to get to all the parks, sports fields, downtown, and North or South on I-75 if you are traveling. We are just a few miles to Ruby Falls, Incline Railway, and Rock City. Enjoy the area without the worry of spending too much. Complimentary breakfast buffet, quiet outdoor pool, and close to a variety of restaurants some in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chattanooga-w-i-24/Lookout Mountain Hotel Chattanooga
Hampton Inn Lookout Mountain
Chattanooga Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing