We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated Hotel - ok to stay here”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #40 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Updated Hotel - ok to stay here”
Reviewed 6 April 2009

This is located on I-24 at Lookout Mountain. Just a few minutes from Downtown. Updated rooms with better beds. Staff the usual friendly people and breakfast was normal Hampton Inn flair. The outside of the building is outdated, but inside they fixed it up. Rooms are usually under $90. Always stay downtown. But if you can't get the rate you need or room you need, this is a good alternative if you are on Hilton points.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    122
    61
    19
    11
See reviews for
111
92
19
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We stayed here for a weekend in Chattanooga with the kids (2 kids, 2 adults). We arrived late, they had the reservation, were very nice, etc. The hotel was clean, we stayed in a room with a king and a pullout couch. Breakfast was good for what it was, and they have tea/coffee/hot chocolate available 24/7. It was kind of hard to find - with the directions from the hotel and the directions from google - but we found it without too many wrong turns (you can see it from the highway, if you're looking for it) - just take 24 towards Lookout Mountain. It was a short drive to either downtown or the choo choo - where you can then take the bus to downtown. And a short ride to lookout mountain and the attractions there. Overall - good for what it is, an inexpensive hotel close to stuff.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlmom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We just got back from the Hampton Inn/Lookout Mtn. and had a very pleasant stay. Like the other reviewers said, this hotel is not in the best part of town, but we didn't have a security guard nor did we notice any "crack heads or homeless". The hotel is very convenient to downtown - only about 5-10 min. from the riverfront and the aquarium - and it's half the price of the downtown hotels. Also convenient to Lookout Mtn attractions.

The staff was extremely pleasant to deal with. No problems with checking in. Our room was in great shape. We had one of the 2 queen bed room with the sofabed. Very clean and comfortable. Our room was located on one of the end wings close to the interstate & I wondered about road noise, but didn't find it to be a problem. With the a/c running and the insulated windows, you really couldn't hear much of the traffic outside.

The breakfast was o.k. Nothing spectacular, but dependable, just like the other Hampton Inns we have visited.

All in all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyToplivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2009

1. Bad neighborhood. Not quite Harlem or Compton, but not safe to take family on a stroll nor for single female to go on a jog. Flashing neon "Adult Book Store" sign - need I say more?

2. Difficult to get to, due to one-way streets, especially if coming from the south / Lookout mountain. Print directions ahead of time.

3. That said, nice room and bedding with decent sized flat panel TV and feather pillows.

4. Thin walls & too noisy. Every time person from upstairs flushed water, we could hear it through the pipes.

5. Breakfast area can get very crowded, but quality of food is not bad for free breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhmlurker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Stayed here recently for work. Not a horrible place but the area it is located in is a little off the beaten path. The rooms are average. Had to change out of my room the first night due to bed bugs and small spiders in the bed. Apparently they have recently changed exterminating companies. The workout rooms is very small and the equipment is incredibly dated. You can find better for the same price.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank needtotakemoretrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

This is about what I expect from a Hampton Inn. Good variety on the television, but there was no desk in the room, other than one of those little lap desks to use while sitting in the bed.

They had an armed security guard. While I'm a gun guy myself, and typically carry a handgun with me on most trips, I haven't seen a Hampton Inn with armed security before.

It was a rough part of town, though, and the guard says that he typically has to run off "homeless and crackheads."

Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank thaJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
191 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2009

We chose this Hampton Inn as a different one that we had stayed in last year was not up to par. This property was very nice, very accommodating staff, comfortable bed and good breakfast. Wireless internet service was fine. All this at a reasonable rate. I have to agree with the other reviewers that the location could be better. It's downtown in an area where there are only a couple of other hotels, and that's all. No restaurants other than KFC within walking distance. Also, be sure to ask for a room away from traffic. Two wings of the hotel are really close to I-24, especially the end rooms.

  • Liked — Comfortable room
  • Disliked — Traffic noise was bad
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FarAndWide_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Chattanooga - Downtown
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Lookout Mountain
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#18 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stadium Inn
Stadium Inn
#55 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
8.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#34 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 2420 Williams St, Chattanooga, TN 37408-2925 (Formerly Hotel Chattanooga - Downtown / Lookout Mountain)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chattanooga - Downtown / Lookout Mountain Hotel Chattanooga
Downtown Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing