We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #40 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2007

Sun Nite before Labor Day, 2ppl, $110 after mega taxes. Lady at the counter (Sharon) was awesome. Very friendly, very knowledgeable, incredibly helpful..a real joy to talk with. Room 128 was clean, large and very nice. Perhaps newly remodeled? Breakfast was good enough but not great. We slept well. Be prepared to drive short distances as nothing is within walking distance at a 100 degree heat index. Only minor issue was a noisy A/C compressor when it shut down...Bang!...but it didn't keep me awake. Ask about coupons for local freebies.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — A/C compressor
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wunder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    122
    59
    19
    11
See reviews for
110
91
19
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2007

This was a very basic Hampton, a property in the "old" Hampton style, from the outside. The inside was somewhat updated (granite counters, updated Hampton decor), which helped make the stay OK. The hotel is "near" downtown, but not for walking. This was OK for a 1 night business stay, but would not want to stay for extended time, or with family. However, no problems with cleanliness, or staff.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Goblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta, ga
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2007

My husband and I stayed for a Father's day get away. We requested a king, smoking room through AAA. The staff, was very friedndly upon arrival, 11:30 pm. However the room was outdated and needed repair and a good scrubbing. Although we requested a smoking room, the room was musty with a stale smell. The bathroom had two bars of soap unwrapped from a previous user. The wall border was unglued in many areas. The bathroom floor was not cleaned very well. I was told this was the last king room. We arrived during "Riverbend" and a lot of hotels were sold out. I choose Hampton Inn because of my stay in Biloxi, MS (May 2007) at a very clean, roomy and fresh smelling room with good service. However, I was disappointed with the cleanliness, smell and wear on the room in TN. This was a 3 diamond hotel according to the AAA representative. I hate to see what AAA consider as a 2 diamond hotel. I probably would not stay here again.

  • Liked — The friendly manager at check in
  • Disliked — the soap left by previous guest
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spur-away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2007

We did not have a reservation, but we saw the logo for this motel on a road sign on westbound Interstate 24. When we got off the freeway, the motel was nowhere in sight. There was also no way to get back on the freeway right where we got off. We were driving around that area trying to find a way back on the freeway, when a police car started following us, apparantly attracted by our confused driving. After a while he pulled away, to our relief. We finally headed up a side street trying to find our way back to the freeway, when we spotted the Hampton sign. However, when we got to the road that led there, it was one way the wrong way. Finally, after another ten minutes of driving around fighting dead end and one way streets, we found it on a back street, about halfway between the two main roads in the area -- Market and Broad. Williams runs south off of 20th. There is a gas station on the corner. You have to go south under Interstate 24 to get to the motel on this trashy one way side street. Probably the best thing is to call them on your cell phone for directions as soon as you get off the freeway (423-265-0077).

Anyway, it was worth the effort, because it turned out to be a nice place. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was large. The bathroom was roomy, spotlessly clean and well stocked with amenities. The cable TV had a nice selection of channels. According to the room guide, the room had plug-in high speed internet access, but there was no wireless access, which we greatly prefer. They serve coffee in the lobby all the time and there was even a plate of cookies out. in the afternoon and evening. A hot breakfast is included, which was always well stocked. It included sausage patties and egg patties cooked about the same way as the egg in a McDonald's egg sandwich. It was quite good -- neither watery nor greasy. They also had a nice selection of pastries, juice, breads and cereals. Anything that ran low was immediately replaced. The eating area looked a bit small, but we had no trouble finding a table. A lot of people took their food back to their rooms, which seemed to be freely allowed.

This Hampton Inn is located about half way between the downtown area and the road up to Lookout Mountain. If you want to see the Civil War Lookout Mountain battlefield itself, drive all the way to the top. Don't let the people at Ruby Falls wave you into their parking lot. There is a big cement sign on the side of the hill that says Lookout Mountain right where they are waving people into their parking lot. If you want to see Ruby Falls that is fine, but if you want to see the battlefield itself, it is easy to go astray at that point. When you do get to the top, the federally run gift shop for the National Battlefield has free parking behind it. Everywhere else there are parking meters along the road, which only take quarters (15 minutes for each quarter and rigorously enforced). It costs $6 a person to walk out and look over the canons at Chatanooga and the Tennessee River, but it is well worth it. With those canons pointing at the roads and river below, you can see in an instant why that place was so bitterly fought over.

The place we ate that we liked the best was the City Cafe Diner on Carter Street. The people at the desk will tell you how to find it. It's not real far from the Hampton. The food was very good and the prices were very reasonable. The only complaint we had was the portions were so large that we couldn't eat it all. We didn't have room for them, but they display deserts that knock your eyes out.

The cost of the Hampton Inn, including taxes, was $88.64. We were amazed that's all it was for such a nice place and such a nice breakfast. The guy at the desk said it was so reasonable because they had so much competition in that area. Probably no place is perfect, but this place gives a lot for a very reasonable price. We liked it and recommend it.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, the free breakfast, the price
  • Disliked — Hard to find, no wireless internet
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NoneColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2006

I have to disagree with the other reviews. This hotel is near nothing, aside from the interstate. While the room was quiet, there was nowhere to walk to for any food. While I had a "suite," it was a regular room attached to what used to be a boardroom, complete with florescent lighting. The other room smelled horrible, so I closed the door and just used my one room. While the bathroom was nice, the rest of the room was not updated to current Hampton Inn standards. If you are a HHonors member, I would at least try the Hilton Garden Inn that is actually in town. And while there was a security guard in front of the hotel, he did not exactly inspire confidence.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Look elsewhere
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javisq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2006

We stayed on the third floor (top floor). Had one King size bed, TV (lots of channels available), wireless internet available, desk, couch (pull out sleeper if needed). 2 adults & toddler under age 2 (crib needed) stayed in this room. The room was very spacious - my son had plenty of room to move around & play. Bathroom was very nice, tiled all around, even up the walls. Could tell this hotel was new. The bed was very comfortable & pillows were too. Front desk clerk was very friendly upon check in & out. Asked about places to eat in the area given map of downtown showing places to eat & listed directions to/from hotel to downtown eaterys & popular places to visit. That was a big plus, it was very helpful in determining the places to eat & helped us get around. There is a security guard that stays on the grounds at night. Parking lot is weird shaped not many places to park up front. Only one way to get in the hotel & that's through the front lobby. Although there is a side exit outside guests can't get in from this area. When I first saw the hotel I thought I didn't want to stay there since it's right off the interstate & the area around doesn't look the best. I was vey surprised at how nice the rooms were, I would have never imagened. Had no problems with outside noise. This hotel is not on the shuttle route. Hotels closer to downtown are located on the shuttle route which is nice since you have to pay for parking everywhere downtown from parking meters to $4-$8 at outside parking lots. So if you have small kids & want to use the shuttle I would recommend staying closer to downtown on the shuttle route. Downtown is very nice & you can walk everywhere. Although we had to pay for parking once we parked we just walked around since everything in the downtown area is situated close together. The second day we were there the elevator was broken for the whole day (thank god we weren't checking out that day since we were on the third floor & had lots of luggage & toys) it was fixed the follwing day. The contiental breakfast was nice. Each day there is something different from the hot bar (eggs, biscuits with sausage gravy next day was sausage patties with french toast sticks). They have variety of donuts, bagels, muffins, toast, orange juice, milk, coffee, cereal, oatmeal. I was surprised at the selection of food (free USA papers downstairs & cookies avaliable after 4 pm near the front counter until there gone). They have a staff member keeping the food stocked during breakfast & wiping down tables. Noticed there were a lot of business people staying at the hotel. I would recommend this hotel for folks who don't mind driving into downtown area about 5 mins away if that.

Vacationers from Florida

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank task648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2006

Date(s) of stay: April 2 – 4, 2006
Hotel location: off I-24 West, Exit 178; in industrial area: literally off the exit; couple blocks to Finley Stadium, Chattanooga Choo-Choo; 1 ½ mi to downtown, Riverpark, UT Chattanooga; 2 ½ - 3 mi to Engel Stadium. Hotel can be difficult to find, esp after dark: lots of one-way streets, small street signs; just follow in the direction of the hotel exterior sign. Best to have mobile phone handy to call hotel.
Pedestrian-friendly neighborhood: no, but early in the a.m. a family with two children under 12 felt comfortable enough to jog around the hotel grounds
Access to public transportation: free trolleys make their rounds in downtown; however, front desk staff said the shuttle doesn't stop at the hotel (I didn't ask how far away the nearest trolley stop was)
Room location(s): 3rd floor. Internal units.
Room rate(s): $62/night (AAA)
Overall appearance: room faces William St. Fairly quiet; occasional traffic noise but not too bad
Other guests: business people; families
Quality of room(s): met expectations for the price: clean, well-lit. Full cable services. Nice touch: bathroom sink with open shelves below (rather than vanity) – affords extra space for guests to store toiletry kit.
Other amenities: Outdoor pool open Memorial Day – Labor Day. Small gym with basic Nautilus equipment.
Internet access: high-speed in room (curiously, in my room the modem data port is located on the wall but within easy reach of desk and electrical outlet) , wireless in lobby. No business center.
Quality of service: Staff at check-in & check-out was friendly and courteous.
Meals: complimentary hot continental breakfast in lobby (cold cereal, oatmeal, sweet pastries, canned fruits, fresh apples & bananas, one hot item (French toast, eggs, sausage, pizza muffins – depends on day). Hot coffee and herbal tea available in the lobby all day. Waffle House a few blocks away. Several casual, sit-down, table-service restaurants in downtown area.
Security: A security guard in an unmarked SUV was in the parking lot when I came back from dinner the first evening; the second evening, the guard was making is rounds through the hotel when I returned. I experienced no security-related problems.
Other problems: minor problem with tv's remote control – probably weak batteries that could be easily replaced; however, I was tired from the long drive and didn't want to be disturbed.
Recommendation: yes

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Chattanooga - Downtown
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Lookout Mountain
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#19 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stadium Inn
Stadium Inn
#58 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
8.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 2420 Williams St, Chattanooga, TN 37408 (Formerly Hotel Chattanooga - Downtown / Lookout Mountain)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chattanooga - Downtown / Lookout Mountain Hotel Chattanooga
Downtown Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing